← Back to homeColegio San Fernando

Avilés, Spain · Private
Illustration · Avilés
Colegio San Fernando is a school in Avilés in Asturias which describes itself in four words at once: "Colegio del Mundo del Bachillerato Internacional, Privado, Concertado y Bilingüe". Of the IB programmes it holds all three and gives each a page of its own: the Primary Years Programme, the Middle Years Programme and the Diploma. For a parent something else matters more: some of the school's stages are not state-funded, and it says which ones plainly - the infant years from 0 to 2 and the baccalaureate; the rest are covered by the state agreement. Teaching is bilingual, with a separate bilingualism section and a STEAM approach. Among its services it names a guidance department, a digital environment, a school canteen, transport and uniforms; there is a sports strand, a music school and blogs for secondary and The Music Room. The school invites families to book an admissions meeting on 985: 565: 745. It does not state a fee on the site. Lessons are in Spanish and English: on its bilingualism page the school writes that the bilingual programme has been introduced in every year of primary school and ESO, and that the youngest children already have some lessons in English, including in core subjects; the Cambridge method is used in all those years, and the school itself holds Cambridge examinations as an official examination centre. It does not give the split of hours between the languages. There is also an international department: exchanges with Baylor School in the United States, Herschel School in Cape Town, Silicon Valley International School and the Dietrich-Bonhoeffer-Schule in Weinheim.
Key facts
Programmes
IB · PYP, MYP, DP · National programme
Languages of instruction
Spanish, English
About the fees There is no fee on the site: the school has no tuition page at all. On money it says one useful thing: "Niveles no concertados: Educación Infantil 0 a 2 años y Bachillerato" - that is, the nursery and the upper stage are paid for by the family, while the other stages are covered by the state agreement. The school publishes no amounts for either. The canteen, transport and uniforms are described without tariffs.
Admissions The school runs admission through a personal interview and invites families to book on 985: 565: 745 or through a form. It separates two cases - admission during the school year and admission for the following year - and in both advises coming to a meeting first, where places available and every aspect of the matter will be explained. It separately notes that the infant years from 0 to 2 and the baccalaureate are not state-funded, so admission to those does not run through the state procedure. It names neither an entrance test nor any language requirement. The school does take foreign pupils: its international department runs a language and cultural immersion programme for young people aged 12-18 from other countries who want to study at the school for a term, a semester or a whole school year; they live with host families, attend lessons and sports activities alongside everyone else and have two Spanish lessons a day.
Stages and year groups Grades infant from age 0 - baccalaureate. The school lists its stages in the "Docencia" section: Educación Infantil, Educación Primaria, E.S.O., Bachillerato, with the IB programmes as a separate section of three pages. The lower bound is zero: the school itself names "Educación Infantil 0 a 2 años" among the non-state-funded stages. The daily timetable and calendar sit on /vida-escolar/informacion-y-servicios/horarios-calendario, which was not read.
Address Avenida San Agustín s/n, 33400 Avilés
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · PYP, MYP, DP · authorised programmeschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: PYP (ages 3-12), MYP (ages 11-16), DP (ages 16-19). PYP is the primary stage, ages 3 to 12. It is not a set of subjects but a frame for the whole school: learning is built around lines of inquiry, and there are no exams at the end. MYP is the middle stage, ages 11 to 16. There are no exams here either; at the end an optional electronic assessment of pupils' work is possible. DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: The school stands on Av. San Agustín in Avilés. Of its facilities and services it names the school canteen, transport, the digital environment and uniforms - each with its own page in the "Vida escolar - Información y servicios" section. It publishes no itemised list of sports facilities, library or laboratories on the pages read; it has a sports section and a music school.
Clubs and activities (3): Sport · Music school · The Music Room
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school has a Departamento de Orientación - a separate page in the "Vida escolar" section. It names no separate child protection policy, security staff, CCTV, medical room or psychologist on the pages read.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)95 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data67 Value for money (6%) scored at the median74 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country