← Back to the rankingDeutsche Schule Rom - Scuola Germanica Roma

Rome, Italy · est. 1851 · Private
Illustration · Rome
Deutsche Schule Rom (Scuola Germanica Roma) is one of the oldest German schools abroad: it traces its history to 1851 and celebrates its 175th anniversary in 2026. Germany, Austria and Italy recognise it as an encounter school (Begegnungsschule). Since 1985 it has occupied a large building amid greenery on Via Aurelia Antica near Villa Pamphili. The path from nursery to diploma is continuous: a bilingual nursery from 28 months, kindergarten, a four-year primary school and an eight-year Gymnasium from grade 5 to grade 12. Graduates receive two diplomas at once - the Deutsches Internationales Abitur and the Italian Diploma di Maturità, equivalent to the liceo scientifico. Teaching is bilingual, German and Italian: in the Gymnasium, besides Italian language, one more subject is taught in Italian every year. There are 805 students and 99 teachers; alongside Italian, German, Austrian and Swiss children, students come from more than 25 other countries.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $6 751 a year
5 976 EUR
Programmes
German programme · National programme
Admits from
2.33 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
German, Italian
Languages taught
English, French, Latin
Students per teacher
about 8 students per teacher (805 students and 99 teachers according to the school)
Registration fee
≈ $847
750 EUR
About the fees Fees for the 2026-2027 school year (price list of 17.02.2026): morning programme (lessons until 13:30 in kindergarten and primary, until 13:50 in the Gymnasium) 5976 EUR per year for the first child, 5796 for the second, 5616 for the third. Full day until 16:00 (Komplettangebot) 8388 EUR for the first child, 8208 for the second, 8028 for the third. Afternoon care can also be booked for single days: from 744 EUR per year for one day a week to 2412 EUR for five days. Fees are paid in two instalments, in September and January.
Admissions The school is open to children of all nationalities; admission is possible from 28 months. For the nursery and kindergarten neither the child nor the family needs German. Steps: an online pre-registration form, documents (family status certificate, birth certificate, Italian residence certificate, Italian tax code, parents' and child's ID or passports, vaccination certificate from the Italian ASL, reports for the last two years), then a meeting with the school. The final decision is made by the head of the section after a personal interview; after confirmation the admission fee is paid. Children transferring from other schools, including those who already speak German, are invited to an interview with the stage coordinators (possible online) to determine their language level; a trial day is possible. Guest stays are possible from one month.
Stages and year groups Grades nursery (from 28 months), kindergarten, grades 1-4, grades 5-12. Bilingual nursery (Krippe) from 28 months; kindergarten (nine groups); a four-year primary school (Grundschule, grades 1-4), with English starting in primary; an eight-year Gymnasium (G8) from grade 5 to grade 12, with French and/or Latin from grade 6 and the upper stage in grades 10-12. Final exams: the Deutsches Internationales Abitur (DIA) and an oral Italian exam before an external Italian commission; together with marks in Italian, history and philosophy over the last three years this gives the Italian maturità, equivalent to the liceo scientifico. Language certificates: DSD I in grade 7, Cambridge C1 (CAE), DELF, CERTIT. The school runs no IB programmes or Cambridge International courses: Cambridge preparation is for the language exam only.
Address Via Aurelia Antica 397-403, 00165 Roma
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
PASCH · takes part in the programmeZfA · accreditationWDA · part of the allianceThe school is part of the PASCH network. ZfA lists the school among German schools abroad (Deutsche Auslandsschule). The school is a member of WDA.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
PASCHSchools: Partners for the Future, an initiative of the German foreign ministry
More than two thousand schools in about 120 countries. A school cannot apply for itself: participants are chosen by German agencies in agreement with the embassy. Very different schools sit under one mark - full German schools abroad, and ordinary national schools that simply teach German well.
What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to a German support programme. By itself the mark means neither a German curriculum nor the right to award a German certificate: of the two thousand PASCH schools, about seventeen hundred hold no such right. Look for a ZfA status next to it - that is the one that is about this. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →ZfACentral Agency for German Schools Abroad
A German federal agency. It recognises a school as a German school abroad, funds it and grants the right to award the German leaving certificate. Quality is examined by a state inspection about once every six years, and schools that pass receive the mark of an excellent German school abroad.
What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →WDAWorld Association of German Schools Abroad
An association of the owners of German schools abroad: in essence an industry lobby and a service organisation. It runs no inspections. The condition of admission is a recognised German certificate, but that recognition is granted by the German state, not by WDA.
What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to an association of school owners. There is no inspection of its own behind it: the badge rests on a decision of the German state and adds nothing to it. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →German programme
The German school programme. Recognised German schools abroad award the Deutsches Internationales Abitur, the German leaving certificate used for entry to universities in Germany. Behind the recognition stands the federal agency ZfA.
What this means for this school. ZfA recognition comes at levels: a school that takes pupils through to the German leaving certificate is one thing, a school with the DSD language diploma, where German is taught as a subject, is another. Which level this school holds is not stated here.
National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
✓Swimming pool
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio · Playground
Clubs and activities: Theater-AG (theatre club) · Circus Club · Chor-AG (choir club) · Pop Band · Junior Orchestra · Orchestra · Board Games Workshop · Art Studio Workshop · Journalism Workshop · Triathlon Club · Volleyball-AG (volleyball club) · Computer Science Workshop · Maths Olympiad Workshop · Science Workshop · Jugend forscht Club (research projects) · Cambridge Exam Club · DELF Club · Germanica Sport (swimming, judo, athletics, football)
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
✓Number of teachers99
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
The school states it has 99 teachers; the staff list on the website names about 130 teachers and educators with their subjects. Primary has German and Italian teachers; the kindergarten is led by an educator with German and Italian roots, with a team of 16 educators and up to 70 interns a year. Staff include a social pedagogue and a pedagogue.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school social work service is available Monday to Friday from 8:00 to 16:30: it confidentially advises students, teachers and parents on any difficulties, including quarrels and conflicts, and runs themed class sessions. There is a sick room. New students in grades 5-9 have a Buddy mentoring model and a class council. The school publishes a compliance model and a whistleblowing channel.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data70 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data90 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country