Home · UAE · Sharjah
← Back to home

Emirates American School

ОАЭ Sharjah, UAE · Private
Illustration · Sharjah
74.2#24 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Emirates American School, or EAS, is an American curriculum school in the Al Qarrayen district of Sharjah, in Al Falah-6 next to the national park, running from Pre-KG to Grade 12, and it belongs to the Singaporean Global Schools Group network. The school describes itself as a joining of American education with Arab culture: in the kindergarten the programme is built on the American Common Core standards, alongside them run the compulsory UAE subjects - Arabic and Islamic studies - and beyond those Quran and tajweed classes, an Arabic language week and the celebrations of National Day and Flag Day. There are four stages: the kindergarten of Pre-KG, KG1 and KG2 for children from three to five, the elementary school from Grade 1 to Grade 5, the middle school from Grade 6 to Grade 8 and the high school from Grade 9 to Grade 12. The high school offers Advanced Placement courses and electives, the school tracks attainment through external SAT, MAP and Emirati Ta'la assessments, and a university admissions service works there too. The school has gathered its extracurricular programme into a frame of eight strands and called it 'Nojoom', from the stars: academic excellence, the sustainable development goals, sport, innovation and entrepreneurship, creativity, diversity and global outlook, Arab virtues and community engagement; the Spark programme runs alongside. The clubs are named: STEM, art, music, drama, coding, entrepreneurship, ecology, Islamic values and community service, while sport fields teams in basketball, football, volleyball, swimming, badminton and athletics; separately the school has arranged with Sharjah Women's Sports for girls to train on the emirate's programmes with qualified coaches. The campus the school describes as a modern building joining Islamic architecture to contemporary design: science laboratories and computer rooms, libraries with print and digital collections, a football pitch, basketball courts and a pool, art studios, music rooms and extensive playgrounds; on the security side there is CCTV, fingerprint-operated doors, guarded entrances and exits, regular fire drills and a medical room with a resident doctor and nurses. The main thing a parent needs to know: the fee is low for an American curriculum - from 17,740 dirhams in Pre-KG to 30,830 in Grade 12 - but the school does not name its founding year at all, and there are no pupil or staff numbers on the site.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $4 830–8 395 a year
17 740–30 830 AED
Programmes
AP · American programme
Admits from
3 years
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Arabic
Registration fee
≈ $136
500 AED
About the fees The 2026-2027 annual fee, approved by the Sharjah Private Education Authority and split over three semesters, rises from 17,740 dirhams in Pre-KG to 30,830 in Grade 12: 18,780 in the two kindergarten groups, 21,635 to 21,660 in the elementary grades, 22,755 to 24,510 in the middle grades and 26,755 to 30,830 in the high school. Textbooks are included in the fee. On top of it: a registration fee of 500 dirhams, uniform at 720 dirhams up to Grade 6 and 805 from Grade 7, an examination and resource charge with VAT of 341 dirhams in the kindergarten and 656 from Grade 1, and a separate book charge of 1,040 to 2,310 dirhams.
Admissions The application goes through the website, and a campus tour can be booked. Fees fall due before the start of the academic year and are payable at the beginning of each term, with the invoice issued on admission; if circumstances change the school asks families to get in touch before the deadline. The kindergarten takes children from three to five. The school names no entrance tests and no grade requirements on the pages we read.
Stages and year groups Grades Pre-KG - grade 12. The stages run straight through from Pre-KG through kindergarten, elementary, middle and high school to grade 12. The school describes each stage on a page of its own.
Address Al Falah-6, Al Qarrayen, Near Sharjah National Park, P.O. Box 45683

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

MSA · accreditationCognia · accreditationCollege Board · authorised programmeGlobal Schools Group · school is part of the network
The school names its Cognia accreditation itself and puts the claim on its home page ('Highly Rated Cognia Accreditation'), and it is borne out by the Cognia register for the UAE, so the entry stands at level A. Separately the school calls itself a member of the Global Schools Group, a Singaporean network of sixty campuses in eleven countries; a network gives no threshold in the rating.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

MSAMiddle States Association of Colleges and Schools

One of the oldest American accreditations, working since 1887 in more than a hundred countries and linked to the Office of Overseas Schools of the US State Department. It judges the school as an institution across twelve areas, including finances, governance, premises and student support.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
CogniaCognia, formerly AdvancED

The widest-reaching American accreditation: some forty thousand schools in over a hundred countries. It accredits both individual schools and whole school systems. It also sells a paid membership with no inspection behind it, and that membership is often passed off as accreditation.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
College BoardCollege Board, the AP programme

An American organisation that allows a school to put the letters AP on a pupil's transcript. The permission is granted course by course and tied to a particular teacher, it has to be renewed every year, and College Board reads the course syllabus before granting it.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run advanced AP courses - not the school as a whole, but one by one: by subject and by teacher. Governance, safeguarding and the primary years are not part of that check. Which subjects are actually approved is visible in the ledger. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Authorisation here runs a year at a time: the register lists the school for the 2025-2026 school year.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
AP

Advanced Placement: American advanced courses for the senior years. The exam for a course is set and marked by the College Board, not by the school. A good result is counted by American universities as a first-year course already passed, which saves a student time and money.

What this means for this school. A school does not get to call a course AP automatically: the College Board reads the course syllabus and approves it separately for every subject and every teacher, and the permission has to be renewed each year. Every approved school in the world is listed in the open AP Course Ledger, and this school's entry there stands as a line in the accreditation block above. How many courses a school is approved for, and in which subjects, the ledger does not show in its general listing. AP has no leaving certificate of its own: it sits on top of the school's main programme rather than being a separate system.

American programme

The American school programme, with the High School Diploma at the end. It usually comes together with AP courses, which the College Board stands behind, and with an American accreditation - MSA, NEASC or Cognia.

What this means for this school. The diploma is written out by the school itself: the American programme has no common leaving exam, and the content of the senior years is set by the school. Outside checking therefore rests on two things here - the accreditation of the school, and the AP exams if the school runs them.

Global Schools Groupschool network

Global Schools Group (GSG) is a Singapore school group; its own site globalschools.com says «a leading international education organisation with 64 campuses across 11 countries» (Locations page) and «64 International campuses» on the homepage, dates itself from 2002 («From our beginnings in 2002»), and its homepage counters render «0» and «0 k», so the student figures there are not filled in. On the site of its Indian brand GIIS (globalindianschool.org) the same group prints «64 Campuses», «11 Countries», «45k Students», «5k+ Faculty» and the wording of belonging - «We are a proud member of the Global Schools Group (GSG)». Country counts disagree inside the network: the page of the Dubai GIIS campus (globalindianschool.org/dubai/about) says «seven countries throughout Asia» and dates the group with the same phrase, «Since its inception in 2002». The roster disagrees too: the campus list on globalschools.com/locations names only two schools in the UAE - Emirates American School and Glendale International School - while the Dubai GIIS campus, which has its own pages on a site of the same group, is not in that list. Neither ownership nor management is stated anywhere: the schools' relation to the group is described by the word «member».

What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

✓Swimming pool
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio · Playground
Campus: The school describes its campus as a modern building that blends Islamic architectural motifs with contemporary design. The classrooms are spacious, with interactive whiteboards, projectors and high-speed internet, and the seating is rearranged for group work. There are science laboratories with modern apparatus and safety equipment, computer labs, libraries with print and digital collections, reading areas and computer stations, extensive playgrounds and sports facilities - a football field, basketball courts and a swimming pool - art studios, music rooms and dedicated spaces for clubs. The school has school transport of its own.
Clubs and activities: STEM club · Art · Music · Theatre · Programming · Entrepreneurship · Ecology · Community service · Basketball · Football · Volleyball · Swimming · Badminton · Athletics

Teaching staff

The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

✓CCTV
✓Security staff
✓Access control
✓Nurse or medical room
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school names CCTV surveillance, fingerprint-enabled doors, manned entry and exit gates and regular fire drills and safety workshops. The clinic is well equipped and staffed by a full-time doctor and nurses; the school also reports regular medical check-ups. It names neither a child protection policy nor a psychologist.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
75
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
95
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
80
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
82
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Dove Green Private SchoolDubai · 74.2GEMS Al Barsha National SchoolDubai · 74.1American Gulf SchoolSharjah · 74.5Jumeira Baccalaureate SchoolDubai · 74.5