Home · Czech Republic · Prague
← Back to home

The English College in Prague - Anglické gymnázium

Czech Republic Prague, Czech Republic · est. 1994 · Private
Illustration · Prague
76.7#6 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

The English College in Prague - Anglické gymnázium is "a selective six-year English grammar school, which is also part of the Czech school system" (o.p.s.). It opened in September 1994, founded by the English College Foundation under the patronage of Václav Havel and today's King Charles III as successor to the pre-war Prague English Grammar School. In 1995 it became the first school in the Czech Republic to offer the International Baccalaureate; all students take the full IB Diploma, and those who wish also earn the Czech Maturita. Lessons are in English, teachers are mostly British and native speakers, and Czech language and literature are taught by six native Czech speakers. The mission speaks of educating young people "primarily of Czech origin".

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $19 118–24 937 a year
414 000–540 000 CZK
Programmes
IB · DP · Cambridge · IGCSE · Pearson Edexcel · National programme
Admits from
12 years
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Czech, German, French, Spanish, Russian
School website
Deposit
≈ $2 309
50 000 CZK
About the fees Fees for 2026-2027: Year 1-2 - 414000 CZK, Year 3-4 - 438000 CZK, Year 5-6 IB and Maturita - 468000 CZK, Year 5-6 IB only - 540000 CZK. Fees include start-of-year and end-of-year trips and IB and IGCSE exams. Social bursaries cover up to half the fees and named scholarships up to the full fees.
Admissions Selective entry into Years 1-4 (from Czech grade 8), Year 5 only in exceptional circumstances. All candidates sit entrance exams in English, Mathematics and non-verbal skills, plus Czech if they speak it, and have a 20-minute interview in English with the Headmaster. Year 1 applicants from Czech basic schools also sit the CERMAT state exams. The school admits foreigners: its Year 1 results list a separate group of "Candidates from abroad or from international schools who didn't sit state entrance exams".
Stages and year groups Grades Year 1 - Year 6. Six years of study; Year 1 equals grade 8 of a Czech basic school. Years 1-4: a curriculum meeting Czech Ministry requirements with British content and the school's own pre-IB programme, external exams in Mathematics, English and modern languages. Years 5-6: the IB Diploma for all; a choice of IB and Maturita or IB only. The Maturita is awarded to students who pass the IB Diploma, the CERMAT Czech Language and Literature exam and a modern language at B1. Teaching is in English.
Address Sokolovská 320, 190 00 Praha 9 - Vysočany

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

IB · DP · authorised programmeCambridge · IGCSE · authorised programmePearson · authorised programmeBSO · accreditationCOBIS · accreditationHMC · part of the alliance
The IB register lists the Diploma Programme at the school, and the Cambridge and Pearson registers name it as an exam centre. It holds a British Schools Overseas (BSO) inspection, the latest in October 2023, is an accredited member of COBIS and a member of HMC. It is a six-year grammar school: students take both the IB Diploma and the Czech maturita.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
PearsonPearson Edexcel, a British exam board

It gives a school approved centre status: that means Pearson exams can be sat in the school itself. What is checked is the premises, the equipment, the secure storage of papers and the presence of trained invigilators.

What the badge means for this school. The school can run Pearson exams on its own premises. The status says nothing about teaching, about results or about the school itself: any school able to run an exam securely holds it. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Which Pearson qualifications this school is approved for is not stated here.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
BSOBritish government inspection of schools overseas

A scheme of the UK Department for Education: a school abroad is inspected against the standards for independent schools in England, including safeguarding and the standards for boarding. The inspections are done by independent inspectorates approved by the department, and the inspectorates themselves are monitored annually by Ofsted. The reports are published in full on the government website.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
COBISCouncil of British International Schools

An association of British schools abroad with a quality inspection of its own. It has nine membership categories, and the word "accredited" appears in seven of them, although COBIS does its own inspection in one: in the rest it recognises an accreditation granted by somebody else.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
HMCConference of heads of British independent schools

It is a head who becomes a member of this conference, not a school: membership is offered to the head, and in some categories the logo is marked as personal. A badge on a school's website means its head belongs to the conference. For full international membership there is a check - two people, two days - but no live external inspection is required.

What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to this network. That is not a quality inspection: a network is something a school joins, while an accreditation is something a school goes through. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Average IB score
36.1 (world average 30.88)
Passed IB
100%
Exam results Class of 2026: IB average 36.1, the school's second best ever, with no failures; for the fourth year running at least one student scored the maximum 45 points. The five-year average is 36 against a world average of 31, and 99% of students pass the Diploma.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: A building on Sokolovská in Prague 9. The Lord Holme Library, rebuilt in 2020: over 10000 books, a reading room, 10 computers and 10 laptops for students. Refurbished laboratories and a dedicated computer lab for Computer Science. School productions are staged at theatres across Prague.
Clubs and activities: DofE (The Duke of Edinburgh's Award) · Caritas programme · Debates · Literary Festival · Festival of the Arts · Cultural Olympiad · Gay Straight Alliance · Student Council · Lecture and Talk Programme

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
✓Teacher qualifications
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
What the listings show: Teachers are trained to deliver the IB Diploma.
Teachers are mostly from a British background and all subjects taught in English are led by native speakers; Czech language and literature are taught by six native Czech speakers. The school is a placement school for UK teacher training programmes.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
✓Staff training
✓Anti-bullying policy
The school publishes a Safeguarding and Child Protection Policy, an Anti-Bullying Policy and a Safety and Crisis Plan. Safeguarding leads sit on the senior team, there is a school psychologist and counselling, and staff are trained to recognise concerns. Every student has a personal Tutor.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
84
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
75
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
100
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
70
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
61
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Perrott Hill British School PraguePrague · 76.7Townshend International SchoolHluboká nad Vltavou · 77.2Open GateBabice · 77.4Park Lane International SchoolPrague · 75.6