← Back to homeEscola Internacional de Torres Vedras

Torres Vedras, Portugal · Private
Illustration · Torres Vedras
The school stands in Torres Vedras on a campus of more than 45000 square metres and takes children from 4 months to Year 12. One school, three pathways: the Portuguese national curriculum, the Cambridge curriculum and the Dual Diploma. The school calls the national pathway entirely Portuguese-taught, while the Cambridge one runs in English - hence the two languages of instruction. As subjects it offers language certifications in English, French and Spanish. The school calls itself multicultural: its pupils and their parents come from more than 20 nationalities, it has more than 1000 families, and it has been working for almost 20 years. The day runs from 8:30 to 16:30, the morning reception from 7:30 to 9:00 is free, and from 16:30 to 20:00 the discovery clubs and a study room are open. Phones are banned indoors, as are games consoles, smoking and chewing gum; uniform is required. A psychology and school guidance office works at the school. Fees are paid monthly, in 11 or 12 instalments, and the school publishes them as tables by stage and pathway.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $4 101–16 101 a year
353–1 386 EUR a month
The year is counted as ten payments: the school does not say how many payments it takes.
Programmes
Cambridge · Primary, Lower Secondary, IGCSE, A-Level · National programme
Admits from
4 months · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
Portuguese, English
Languages taught
French, Spanish
About the fees Fees for 2026-2027 are paid monthly, in 11 or 12 instalments. On the national pathway: nursery and pre-school from 4 months to 5 years - 385 euros over 11 instalments or 353 euros over 12; 1º-4º ano - 460 or 421 euros; 5º-6º ano - 536 or 492 euros; 7º-12º ano - 603 or 554 euros. On the Cambridge pathway: Year 1-2 - 783 or 718 euros; Year 3-4 - 915 or 839 euros; Year 5-6 - 1049 or 962 euros; Year 7-9 - 1182 or 1084 euros; Year 10-11 - 1299 or 1191 euros; Year 12-13 - 1386 or 1271 euros.
Admissions The school calls itself multicultural and says its pupils and their parents come from more than 20 nationalities. An applicant may be asked to an interview, and the parents are interviewed separately so the school can understand the child's academic background and psychological situation; if the mismatch with what the school can offer is large, it may advise another educational path. Enrolment runs in the periods set for the year, becomes valid once the school confirms it and the school insurance is paid, and missing documents must be brought within 5 working days. Renewal of enrolment for the following year is kept open until 31 March, after which remaining places go to new applicants. The admission conditions set no requirement as to nationality, residence or knowledge of Portuguese.
Stages and year groups Grades on the national pathway - nursery, pre-school, 1º-4º ano, 5º-6º ano, 7º-12º ano; on the Cambridge pathway - Year 1-2, Year 3-4, Year 5-6, Year 7-9, Year 10-11, Year 12-13. The nursery takes children from 4 months, and the top stage reaches Year 12 on the national pathway and Year 13 on the Cambridge one. The Dual Diploma runs as a separate pathway.
Address Alameda das Linhas da Portela, 2560-596 Torres Vedras
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · Primary, Lower Secondary, IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programmeschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: Primary (ages 5-11), Lower Secondary (ages 11-14), IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). Primary is the primary stage, ages 5 to 11: English, mathematics and science to Cambridge syllabuses. At the end of the stage a school may run the optional Checkpoint test, which is marked in Cambridge. Lower Secondary is the middle stage, ages 11 to 14, with the same optional Checkpoint test at the end. IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
·Librarynot stated on the website
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Playground
Campus: A campus of more than 45000 square metres: classrooms with interactive boards, two laboratories - physics-chemistry and biology-geology, a gymnasium with a covered court, an auditorium and amphitheatres, playgrounds, a pedagogical garden and an orchard, a canteen and a bar, study rooms. There is school transport by route.
Clubs and activities: Football academy · Music academy · Dance · Karate · Theatre
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
A psychology and school guidance office works at the school, detecting difficulties with adaptation and learning. Phones are banned indoors, as are games consoles, smoking, alcohol and chewing gum; uniform is required, and on field trips the older pupils wear it too. Pupils are covered by the school insurance policy. After an illness the school asks for a certificate, and after a communicable disease for a document clearing return; vaccination records are asked for on request.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)95 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data60 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data85 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data73 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country