← Back to homeExperimental Senior High School of the University of Macedonia

Neapoli, Greece · est. 2000 · State
Illustration · Neapoli
Experimental Senior High School of the University of Macedonia (Greek: Πειραματικό Γενικό Λύκειο Πανεπιστημίου Μακεδονίας) is a state experimental Lyceum in Neapoli, Thessaloniki, under the scientific and pedagogical supervision of the University of Macedonia. The school was founded in 2000 and has operated since the 2001-2002 school year; it started with six classes. In 2011, in the Ministry's evaluation of experimental schools, it ranked first in Thessaloniki and second nationwide and became a model experimental school; since 2015 it is again an experimental school. The Lyceum cooperates with the Department of Educational and Social Policy of the University of Macedonia and with departments of the Aristotle University, whose students do their teaching practice here. It is one of 13 state schools where, by Ministry decision, an IB Diploma Programme class opened from the 2026-2027 school year alongside the regular Greek Lyceum programme. Lessons in the Greek programme are taught in Greek: all school pages for students and parents are in Greek; in the IB class lessons are in English, except the Greek language and literature course. The school's own website pplpamak.eu no longer works, and the school does not write about the IB class on its current pages.
Key facts
Programmes
IB · DP · National programme
Languages of instruction
Greek, English
Students
about 150 students (page Το σχολείο μας)
About the fees The school is a state school. It does not state any tuition fee on its pages, neither for the Greek programme nor for the IB class.
Admissions The school writes: "Στο σχολείο μας εισάγονται οι μαθητές/τριες που αποφοιτούν από το Πειραματικό Γυμνάσιο του Πανεπιστημίου Μακεδονίας, ενώ γίνεται κλήρωση για τις κενές θέσεις εφόσον προκύψουν". The school does not describe an entrance exam for the Lyceum itself. How the IB class is filled, how many places it has and whether students from other schools and foreigners are admitted, the school does not say on its current pages.
Stages and year groups The school is a three-year Lyceum: first, second and third year of Lyceum (Grades 10-12); graduates receive the Greek Lyceum certificate (Apolytirio) and sit the Panhellenic exams. From the 2026-2027 school year an IB Diploma Programme class runs in the second and third year (Grades 11-12), established by Ministry decision ΥΑ 26887/Δ6. According to the Institute of Educational Policy (IEP) of the Ministry of Education, from the 2026-2027 school year state schools offer their students the IB Diploma Programme, which "will be taught in English"; it is a two-year programme in the second and third year of Lyceum (Grades 11-12), and the IB Diploma "is equivalent to the Greek Lyceum leaving certificate".
Address former Strempenioti military camp, 56701 Neapoli, Thessaloniki
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · DP · authorised programmeThe IB register lists the Diploma Programme at the school. It is a state school: the IB Diploma class is taught in English in the last two years of the lyceum alongside the Greek curriculum; the ministry treats the IB Diploma as equivalent to the Greek school-leaving certificate.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school's former website pplpamak.eu no longer works: the domain is for sale. The school's current pages are the school magazine PaMagazino on schoolpress.sch.gr.. We have asked the school for the data directly.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: Six classrooms, a library, computer and physics-chemistry labs with videoconferencing, an amphitheatre; the indoor gym is shared with the other schools of the complex.
Clubs and activities: PaMagazino · Computing club
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
✓Number of teachers16
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The school writes that "σε αυτό φοιτούν 150 περίπου μαθητές και υπηρετούν 16 εκπαιδευτικοί". The school's Scientific and Pedagogical Council is chaired by a University of Macedonia professor; teachers run induction training for new teachers. The school does not publish class sizes.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
The school's former website pplpamak.eu no longer works: the domain is for sale. The school's current pages are the school magazine PaMagazino on schoolpress.sch.gr.. We have asked the school for the data directly.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)82 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data80 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data64 Value for money (6%) scored at the median73 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country