Home · UAE · Dubai
← Back to home

GEMS FirstPoint School - The Villa

ОАЭ Dubai, UAE · Private
Illustration · Dubai
73.0#42 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

GEMS FirstPoint School - The Villa stands in Dubailand on Al Ain Road and runs the English national curriculum from a nursery group at two years old up to Year 13. The school is genuinely international in make-up: more than a hundred nationalities with no dominant one, and British pupils at around eighteen per cent. The nursery stage joins the British EYFS to the Reggio Emilia philosophy, each class has its own teacher and up to three assistants, and parents choose the timetable - three or five half days, three or five full days. Swimming in the nursery year starts in the second term, in a separate learners' pool, with two instructors in the water and two lifeguards on the poolside. The senior stage offers two routes and a mixture of them: A Levels and the International BTEC in applied science, ICT, sport and enterprise. The campus is richly equipped: a 25-metre pool and a learners' pool, a multi-purpose sports hall, climbing walls, cricket nets and an all-weather field, netball and tennis courts, a fitness suite, biology, chemistry and physics laboratories, an electronics and robotics laboratory, STEAM labs, a food technology catering suite and a textiles studio, a graphics studio and art and design studios, two libraries, a 500-seat auditorium, a specialist drama space and a black box theatre, a recording studio and an ensemble room, a dance studio, a Post-16 hub with a café, a desert school and a bamboo garden.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $10 198–20 628 a year
37 453–75 757 AED
Programmes
Cambridge · A-Level · BTEC
Admits from
2 years
Languages
English
Registration fee
≈ $143
525 AED
About the fees The annual fee on the KHDA approved 2025-2026 scale: the nursery group from 37,453 dirhams up to 44,943 depending on the timetable chosen, FS1 and FS2 at 44,288 each, Years 1-3 at 52,447, Years 4-5 at 58,274, Years 8-9 at 64,102, Years 10-11 at 69,929, and Years 12 and 13 at 75,757 and 75,756. It is paid in three parts, the first larger than the other two. The application fee is 525 dirhams; the registration deposit is ten per cent of the annual fee for a new pupil and five per cent on re-enrolment, both deducted from the fee but non-refundable if notice is given less than sixty days before the year starts. The fee covers class materials, the teacher-led co-curricular programme and breakfast provisions; it does not cover uniform, lunches, the bus, trips or activities from external providers. Discounts exist for a fourth and fifth child in the family, but they do not apply to nursery places.
Admissions The year group is set by age against the KHDA approved cut-off dates, and the school keeps a separate table of admission ages on its site, noting that the new rules apply to children enrolling from 2026-2027 while those already enrolled keep the former ones. After admission the child is tested for English language proficiency, and if the testing shows that specialist support is needed it is provided separately and charged on top of the tuition. The application fee is paid when the online application is submitted and is refunded if the school does not offer a place.
Stages and year groups Grades nursery group from age 2 - Year 13, up to age 18. The stages run straight through: nursery group 2 to 3, Early Years 3 to 5, primary 5 to 11, secondary 11 to 16, and Post-16 - Years 12 and 13 - 16 to 18. Pupils sit GCSEs at the end of the secondary school and A Levels, the International BTEC or a mixture of the two in the senior years. The nursery group has half days from 7:10, full days, and Friday finishing at 12:00.
Address The Villa, Al Ain Road, Dubailand

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · A-Level · authorised programmeBSO · accreditationBSME · part of the associationGEMS · school is part of the network
Beyond its Cambridge registration the school names seven further ties on its accreditations page: membership of HMC, membership of the Association of British Schools Overseas, membership of COBIS, approval to offer the Duke of Edinburgh's International Award at all three levels, AQA centre status, Pearson Edexcel centre status covering the BTEC, Edexcel and LCCI lines, and a quality mark for work with special educational needs. It also states that it holds an Outstanding judgement from a 2022 British Schools Overseas inspection. None of these ties is entered in the card: we have not checked the COBIS, BSO or HMC registries for the UAE, and BSME is not yet in our directory of organisations.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: A-Level (ages 16-18). A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
BSOBritish government inspection of schools overseas

A scheme of the UK Department for Education: a school abroad is inspected against the standards for independent schools in England, including safeguarding and the standards for boarding. The inspections are done by independent inspectorates approved by the department, and the inspectorates themselves are monitored annually by Ofsted. The reports are published in full on the government website.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
BSMEAssociation of British schools in the Middle East

One hundred and eighty schools in ten countries - Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the UAE; more than half of the membership is in the UAE. It runs no inspections of its own at all. Instead it requires somebody else's accreditation, and the requirement is strict: a school not already accredited on joining must gain accreditation within two years and then maintain it. The inspectorates are EDT or ISI, which means the accreditation in question is the British government's BSO scheme. The organisation has withdrawn its former lighter routes in - one route remains.

What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to the association, and the association requires its members to hold a real accreditation: for Gulf schools that is almost always BSO. What to look at is that accreditation rather than this badge. Nor is the badge empty - there is no inspection of its own behind it, but a school is not admitted to the association without somebody else's accreditation. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
BTEC

A British vocational qualification from Pearson: not an academic course with an exam at the end, but a programme of practical assignments in a particular trade, from engineering and business to art and sport.

What this means for this school. Teaching and assessment work differently from A-level: instead of written exams there is a run of practical assignments marked by the school, while Pearson checks the school itself and samples the work. British universities do accept BTEC, but not all of them and not for every course: level 3 carries the same UCAS points as A-level, and that is what a family aiming at a particular university should look at. For a child who needs the classic academic route, BTEC is not a replacement for A-level but a different path.

GEMSschool network

GEMS Education is a private school group that describes itself on its own site as one of the oldest and largest K-12 (to Grade 12 / Year 13) private education providers in the world. The site dates its start to 1959 («Our story began in 1959«, «65+ Years of Legacy«), while another page on the same site says «over 60 Years of Legacy«. School counts on the site disagree: the homepage says both «52 schools across the UAE, Qatar and Egypt« and «Choose from our list of over 47 schools«, while the Our Company page says GEMS has schools «in the Middle East, North Africa, Asia, Europe and North America«. Students: «200,000 students from over 176 countries« (Our Company) and «over 200,000« (homepage). On ownership the site is explicit: «GEMS Education own, operate and manage schools globally« — it both owns and manages, but does not say which schools fall into which category.

What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Facilities from the school's official website

✓Swimming pool
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio
Campus:

Teaching staff

The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
82
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
90
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
95
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%)
60
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

The International School of Choueifat - Ras Al KhaimahRas Al Khaimah · 73Amity International School Abu DhabiAbu Dhabi · 73.1GEMS Cambridge International School - DubaiDubai · 73.1Bloom World AcademyDubai · 73.1