Home · UAE · Dubai
← Back to home

GEMS Founders School - Dubai South

ОАЭ Dubai, UAE · Private
Illustration · Dubai
62.9#329 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

GEMS Founders School - Dubai South is the fourth and newest school under the Founders name, the inexpensive British line of GEMS. It stands in Dubai South, the emirate's largest single urban project, built around aviation, logistics and property, next to Expo Road and Expo City Dubai, and the school makes that neighbourhood the basis of its curriculum: it puts the emphasis on logistics, operations and enterprise and promises to turn out pupils who are "industry ready". Its second feature is green: the school calls itself a step towards a more sustainable future in education and keeps environmental initiatives going. The campus is planned for 250 thousand square feet and for children from 3 to 18, but it grows one year at a time: the 2026-27 fee table ends at Year 10. The curriculum is British with the programme of the UAE ministry of education built into it. The achievement the school gives a page of its own to: in its very first year of work the British BSO inspection - which follows the framework of the UK department for education and is checked by Ofsted - found outstanding features in four areas: spiritual, moral, social and cultural development; the welfare, health and safety of pupils; premises and accommodation; and information for parents and the school's link with home. The inspection recorded that the school had developed quickly since it opened, that it has firm foundations, an inclusive culture and a close community, and that the children like the school, attend well and make good progress.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $9 912–13 724 a year
36 400–50 400 AED
Programmes
being checked
Admits from
3 years
Languages
English
About the fees The 2026-27 annual fee is given in the school's table in two forms: the KHDA approved fee and the same fee with a ten per cent discount. The approved amounts: 36,400 dirhams for FS1, 39,900 for FS2, 43,400 for Years 1-3, 44,800 for Years 4-6, 47,600 for Years 7-9 and 50,400 for Year 10. With the discount: 32,760, 35,910, 39,060, 40,320, 42,840 and 45,360 respectively. It is paid in three parts, with the first about a third larger than the others, and a KHDA approved fee factsheet is published for every year group. There are no senior year groups in the table: it ends with Year 10, although the campus is designed for ages up to 18.
Stages and year groups Grades FS1 from age 3 - Year 10. The campus is designed for students aged 3 to 18, but the school opens year groups one at a time and the 2026-27 fee table ends with Year 10. The curriculum is British with the UAE Ministry of Education programme built in, and it places a particular emphasis on logistics, operations and enterprise.
Address Dubai South

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

BSO · accreditationBSME · part of the associationGEMS · school is part of the network
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

BSOBritish government inspection of schools overseas

A scheme of the UK Department for Education: a school abroad is inspected against the standards for independent schools in England, including safeguarding and the standards for boarding. The inspections are done by independent inspectorates approved by the department, and the inspectorates themselves are monitored annually by Ofsted. The reports are published in full on the government website.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
BSMEAssociation of British schools in the Middle East

One hundred and eighty schools in ten countries - Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the UAE; more than half of the membership is in the UAE. It runs no inspections of its own at all. Instead it requires somebody else's accreditation, and the requirement is strict: a school not already accredited on joining must gain accreditation within two years and then maintain it. The inspectorates are EDT or ISI, which means the accreditation in question is the British government's BSO scheme. The organisation has withdrawn its former lighter routes in - one route remains.

What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to the association, and the association requires its members to hold a real accreditation: for Gulf schools that is almost always BSO. What to look at is that accreditation rather than this badge. Nor is the badge empty - there is no inspection of its own behind it, but a school is not admitted to the association without somebody else's accreditation. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
GEMSschool network

GEMS Education is a private school group that describes itself on its own site as one of the oldest and largest K-12 (to Grade 12 / Year 13) private education providers in the world. The site dates its start to 1959 («Our story began in 1959«, «65+ Years of Legacy«), while another page on the same site says «over 60 Years of Legacy«. School counts on the site disagree: the homepage says both «52 schools across the UAE, Qatar and Egypt« and «Choose from our list of over 47 schools«, while the Our Company page says GEMS has schools «in the Middle East, North Africa, Asia, Europe and North America«. Students: «200,000 students from over 176 countries« (Our Company) and «over 200,000« (homepage). On ownership the site is explicit: «GEMS Education own, operate and manage schools globally« — it both owns and manages, but does not say which schools fall into which category.

What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

✓Swimming pool
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio · Playground
Campus: A new campus of 250 thousand square feet in Dubai South, designed for the ages from 3 to 18. Spacious classrooms with modern equipment, art and music rooms, a swimming pool, an innovation centre, language and Islamic studies classrooms, a football pitch and a sports hall, computer laboratories, a covered play area and green spaces.

Teaching staff

There is no data for this section yet.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

There is no data for this section yet.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
60
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
75
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%)
69
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Dubai Schools Al KhawaneejDubai · 62.9Dubai Schools Al BarshaDubai · 62.9Sharjah American International Private School, Umm Al Quwain CampusUmm al Quwain · 62.9Noya British SchoolAbu Dhabi · 62.9