Ranking · Romania · Bucharest
← Back to the ranking

Genesis College

Romania Bucharest, Romania · Private
Illustration · Bucharest
80.0#6 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Genesis College is a private, fee-paying bilingual school with a kindergarten in Băneasa, Sector 1, in northern Bucharest, for children aged 2 to 18. The school calls itself the first accredited private school in Bucharest and says it has operated for more than 25 years; it is accredited by ARACIP for every level from kindergarten to high school and has been part of the International Baccalaureate community since 2018. All students follow the Romanian national curriculum with IB programmes integrated: the PYP in kindergarten and primary, the MYP in middle school and Grades 9-10, and in Grades 11-12 students choose between the national bacalaureat and the IB Diploma Programme. Teaching is bilingual, in Romanian and English, from the first years of kindergarten; the Diploma Programme is taught only in English. The school says it currently has about 500 students. Since 2009 the school and its Genesis for Life foundation have raised funds for the premature baby intensive care unit of the Marie Curie hospital.

Key facts

Tuition
Price on request
Programmes
IB · PYP, MYP, DP · National programme
Admits from
2 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
Romanian, English
School website
Students
about 500
Class size
18 to 22 students per class
Registration fee
≈ $452
400 EUR
About the fees The fees page does not state a year; the only date is the early payment discount deadline, 31 March 2027. Fees are monthly, for 10 months from September to June: kindergarten (ages 2-6) 640 euro per month, primary 1150 euro, middle school 1220 euro, high school 1290 euro, Diploma Programme 1490 euro per month. From primary upward a resources fee of 130 euro per month is added. Discounts: 1% per year for loyalty, 5% for a second child, 5% for advance payment.
Admissions Admission starts with a campus visit, which can be booked at any time of year. The school then discusses with the family whether its values and expectations match, and assesses the child: in kindergarten by how the child settles into the group, in primary basic readiness, social skills and autonomy, in middle school academic skills and readiness for interdisciplinary work, in high school and the Diploma Programme through subject tests and an individual interview. Students move to high school after Grade 8 and the Evaluarea Națională exam; for 2026-2027 the school offers tuition reductions by admission average: from 9.85 to 10.00 100% plus a monthly scholarship of 800 lei, from 9.50 100%, from 9.00 50%, from 8.50 25%. External Diploma Programme applicants are assessed individually: there are no formal entry requirements, but strong English is essential (a summer English course may be required) and there is a mathematics test. The school says its bilingual model suits both Romanian families and international families living long-term in Romania.
Stages and year groups Grades Grădiniță, clasa pregătitoare, I-XII. Grădiniță (ages 2-6) with the IB PYP. Primary (clasa pregătitoare to Grade IV) on the national curriculum with the IB PYP and an intensive English programme aligned with CEFR and preparing for Cambridge exams. Middle school (V-VIII) on the national curriculum with the IB MYP, ending with Evaluarea Națională after Grade 8. High school (IX-XII): the MYP alongside the national curriculum in Grades 9-10; from Grade 11 students choose the IB Diploma Programme (taught only in English) or the national track with the bacalaureat exam. National profiles: Matematică-Informatică with intensive computer science and Științe sociale with a bilingual English programme. The school is accredited by ARACIP for every level.

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

IB · PYP, MYP, DP · authorised programme
The IB register lists the school as an IB World School; according to its website it teaches all three programmes - Primary Years, Middle Years and Diploma - alongside the Romanian national programme.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: PYP (ages 3-12), MYP (ages 11-16), DP (ages 16-19). PYP is the primary stage, ages 3 to 12. It is not a set of subjects but a frame for the whole school: learning is built around lines of inquiry, and there are no exams at the end. MYP is the middle stage, ages 11 to 16. There are no exams here either; at the end an optional electronic assessment of pupils' work is possible. DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Average IB score
36.5 (world average 30.88)
Passed IB
100%
Exam results The school reports an IB Diploma average of 36.5 against a global average of 30.88, with every student scoring 34 points or more and a 100% pass rate; the exam session year is not given. The school says 100% of students also pass the national bacalaureat and Evaluarea Națională exams, and all graduates receive a bilingual diploma.
Where leavers go: University of Bucharest · Politehnica University of Bucharest · Technical University of Civil Engineering of Bucharest (UTCB) · University of Cambridge · Minerva Art Academy · Esade Business School

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio · Playground
Clubs and activities: Coding Hub · Aikido · Dans (dance) · Club de știință (science club) · Teatru (theatre) · Baschet (basketball) · Fotbal (football) · Matematică (mathematics) · Caracterio (character and emotional intelligence) · Teatru Allegria (Allegria theatre) · Acro Gym · Arduino HUB · Public speaking · Club de handbal (handball) · Digital art · Club de volei (volleyball) · Clubul de teatru și film (theatre and film) · Clubul de Debate (debating)
Source: genesis.ro

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
✓Teacher qualifications
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
What the listings show: internationally trained teachers trained in IB practice; English is taught partly by native speakers
The school says 60% of its teachers have more than 10 years of experience, teachers are trained in IB programmes, and in kindergarten English Language Coordinators and native speakers work alongside homeroom teachers and assistants. School psychologists run anti-bullying sessions in every class, and each level has a school counsellor.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

✓CCTV
✓Security staff
✓Access control
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
The Genesis Tower campus is fully fenced, with 3 permanently controlled gates, separate access for each level by timetable, round-the-clock video monitoring and panic buttons in the corridors; a fire brigade is on round-the-clock duty at the neighbouring Petrom campus, and the school mentions round-the-clock security. Each campus has its own medical cabinet staffed by medical personnel, and the kindergarten runs a daily morning health check. Each level has school counsellors, and psychologists run an anti-bullying programme.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
95
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
90
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
75
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%) scored at the median
64
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Liceul Teoretic Școala MeaBucharest · 79.8British School of BucharestVoluntari · 79.5American International School of BucharestVoluntari · 80.5Avenor CollegeBucharest · 80.8