Ranking · Romania · Bucharest
← Back to the ranking

Avenor College

Romania Bucharest, Romania · est. 2003 · Private
Illustration · Bucharest
80.8#4 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Avenor College is a private, fee-paying bilingual British-Romanian day school in northern Bucharest, in the Greenfield district by Băneasa forest, for children from 1 year 9 months to 18 years. Its history starts in 2003 with the Wonderland kindergarten; the Little London primary school opened in 2007, the middle school in 2010, and since September 2013 the institutions have operated as Avenor College. The school is run by the non-profit Fundația Avenor, founded by Florin and Diana Segărceanu. The school calls itself bilingual: the Nursery follows the British Early Years Foundation Stage in English; Primary and Middle School cover the full Romanian national curriculum with British elements and 5-7 hours of English a week, with some subjects taught in English; in High School English becomes the main language of study, and students take Cambridge IGCSE in Grades 9-10 and AS and A Level in Grades 11-12 while continuing Romanian language and literature. On 1 September 2026 the school had 800 students and more than 190 staff. In 2026 the eighth class graduated. The Nursery, Primary and Middle School are accredited by the Romanian agency ARACIP, and the school has met British Schools Overseas standards since 2018-2019; the 2023 inspection rated it outstanding in each standard, and the 2026 inspection confirmed high quality. Avenor is a COBIS Accredited Member, holds the Career Mark International Award and is a founding partner of the Common Ground Collaborative.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $11 523–21 239 a year
10 200–18 800 EUR
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · National programme
Admits from
21 months · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
Romanian, English
Languages taught
French, German, Spanish
School website
Students
800
Class size
18-20 students per class in Grades 0-12 pupils
Registration fee
≈ $452
400 EUR
About the fees Annual fees for 2026-2027 (10 months, September to June): Nursery short day 8900 euro, long day with nap 10200 euro; Reception and Year One 11025 euro short day and 11655 euro long day with clubs; an adaptation programme for children under 4 costs 750 euro per month, for up to two months. Preparatory class short day 13850 euro; preparatory class to Grade 4 14850 euro; Grades 5-8 16500 euro; Grades 9-12 18800 euro. Discounts: 5% for the second child, 10% for the third and fourth, 5% for paying the full year in advance. Educational resources (400 to 1050 euro a year), meals (210 euro a month up to Grade 4, 255 euro in Grades 5-12), transport (800 to 4400 euro a year depending on route), uniform and paid clubs after 16:00 are extra. The foundation funds scholarships covering 25% to 100% of fees.
Admissions Admission is selective and applications are accepted all year; when places are limited, siblings and earlier applicants who have paid the application fee and passed the tests have priority. Nursery accepts children from 1 year 9 months: the child spends 30 minutes in class with the teachers, then the family signs the contract and submits documents (application, parents' IDs, the child's birth certificate, medical documents). The preparatory class (clasa pregătitoare) has no formal tests, only observation, following Romanian age rules. Grades 1-4 require at least Good in Mathematics, English and Romanian tests, Grades 5-8 an average of at least 8.5 in the same tests, plus interviews with the psychologist and the section coordinator and exemplary conduct. Grade 9 requires Mathematics and English tests, an interview with a member of the leadership team, references and records from previous schools, an Evaluarea Națională average of at least 8.9 or a HIGH result in Cambridge Checkpoint, and at least grade B in the FCE exam; for Grades 10-12 admission is individual. The site does not specifically mention international students; an English support programme is offered to children with limited English.
Stages and year groups Grades Nursery, Reception, Year One, clasa pregătitoare, 1-12. Nursery (from 1 year 9 months to 6 years): the British Early Years Foundation Stage and elements of the Year 1 framework, Nursery, Reception and Year One groups. Primary (clasa pregătitoare to Grade 4): the full Romanian national curriculum complemented by the British curriculum, 5-7 hours of English a week. Middle School (Grades 5-8): the Romanian national curriculum with British Key Stage 3 elements; History, Geography, projects, Art and Music are taught in English, and from Grade 6 Mathematics and Science too; students prepare for Cambridge English exams (KET, PET, FCE) and sit Evaluarea Națională. High School (Grades 9-12): Cambridge IGCSE in Grades 9-10, AS and A Level in Grades 11-12, examined by Cambridge International; Romanian language and literature are compulsory for all four years. The site does not mention the Romanian bacalaureat. There is no IB.
Address Strada Drumul Pădurea Pustnicu 125A, sector 1 (cartier Greenfield, Băneasa), București

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programmeBSO · accreditationCOBIS · membership
The Cambridge register names the school as its centre. It is inspected under the British Schools Overseas scheme and is a member of COBIS. Up to grade 8 the Romanian national programme is taught in two languages; from grade 9 students follow Cambridge IGCSE and A Level.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
BSOBritish government inspection of schools overseas

A scheme of the UK Department for Education: a school abroad is inspected against the standards for independent schools in England, including safeguarding and the standards for boarding. The inspections are done by independent inspectorates approved by the department, and the inspectorates themselves are monitored annually by Ofsted. The reports are published in full on the government website.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
COBISCouncil of British International Schools

An association of British schools abroad with a quality inspection of its own. It has nine membership categories, and the word "accredited" appears in seven of them, although COBIS does its own inspection in one: in the rest it recognises an accreditation granted by somebody else.

What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to this organisation but has not been through its accreditation. The difference matters: membership is usually paid for and has no external inspection behind it. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Exam results The Class of 2026, 40 students, achieved the best Cambridge A Level results in the school's history: eight graduates achieved straight A and A* grades. All graduates who chose the UK were admitted to Russell Group or other leading UK universities; the class continues its studies in eight countries. At IGCSE in 2026 the best Grade 10 result was 7 A* and 2 A grades; four Grade 9 students achieved the maximum 100 marks in English as a Second Language. The school does not publish overall grade percentages.
Where leavers go: University of Bristol · King's College London · Queen Mary University of London · University of St Andrews · Eindhoven University of Technology · Bocconi University · IE University · Esade Business School · KU Leuven · Politecnico di Milano · Karlsruhe Institute of Technology · Charles University and others, 17 universities in the school's list in all

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Art studio
Clubs and activities: Robotics · Mathletics · Chess · Tech Savvy · S.T.E.M. · Gardening · Nature Detectives · Piano Club · Ballet · Drama & Theatre · Woodwork · Kyokushin Karate · Zumba · TEDxYouth@Avenor College · Avenor Christmas Charity Fair
Source: avenor.ro

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
✓Number of teachers120
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
The school has 120 teachers and more than 190 staff. Nursery classes are led by Romanian teachers with advanced English, with weekly sessions with native English speakers; at every stage students have regular contact with native English speakers. Staff include school counsellors, a psychologist, teachers of Romanian, English, French, German and Spanish, lab technicians, a paediatrician and nurses.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
✓Security staff
✓Access control
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
The campus is fully fenced; students and staff enter with personal QR-code access cards, and parents and visitors receive badges on coloured lanyards at the entrance. Qualified nurses are on campus every day, and a paediatrician is on staff; each section has a designated safeguarding lead, and there are school counsellors and a psychologist. The school publishes child protection, anti-bullying, missing child, critical incident, visitors, first aid and health and safety policies.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
85
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
90
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
90
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
70
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
80
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
61
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

American International School of BucharestVoluntari · 80.5British International School of TimișoaraTimisoara · 81.5Genesis CollegeBucharest · 80Cambridge School of ConstanțaConstanta · 81.6