← Back to homeSUGS Gimnazija Josip Broz Tito

Skopje, North Macedonia · est. 1944 · State
Illustration · Skopje
A state gymnasium of the City of Skopje (SUGS Gimnazija Josip Broz Tito) in the city centre, Centar municipality. It was founded by a decision of 1 December 1944 as the First Skopje Gymnasium and opened on 1 February 1945; in 1975 it was decorated by the Yugoslav president Josip Broz Tito. The school has run the IB Diploma, in Macedonian Megjunarodna matura, since 1996: it is a two-year programme in the third and fourth years of the gymnasium, and at the end of the fourth year students sit external examinations in all subjects. The intake is 20 students into the third year. The programme brochure lists the subjects: Macedonian A and English B at higher level, Mathematics: analysis and approaches at higher level, chemistry, geography and visual arts at standard level. The school teaches in three languages: the main classes in Macedonian, the Turkish classes since 1992 in Turkish, and the Megjunarodna matura classes in English. In the 2022-2023 school year the gymnasium had 1540 students in 51 classes: 1309 in 41 Macedonian classes, 192 in 8 Turkish classes and 39 in 2 Megjunarodna matura classes. Since 2003 there has been a German class, where German is the first foreign language for 6 hours a week and students take the DSD I and DSD II language diplomas. English, French, German, Russian and Italian are taught as foreign languages.
Key facts
Languages of instruction
Macedonian, Turkish, English
Languages taught
German, French, Russian, Italian
Admissions The Megjunarodna matura programme admits students into the third year of gymnasium who have completed the first and second years of gymnasium and have a good command of English. The entrance tests are an essay in English, a short essay in Macedonian, a test in mathematics and chemistry in Macedonian and an interview in English and Macedonian. Of 100 points, 50 come from grades in the first two years and 50 from the entrance tests, with 2.5 points added for each competition award diploma; the minimum is 75 points and the top 20 on the ranking are enrolled. Admission is announced under the competition of the Ministry of Education and Science. The German class also admits by entrance examination.
Stages and year groups Grades Years I-IV of gymnasium. A four-year gymnasium, Years I-IV; the Megjunarodna matura programme (IB Diploma) runs in Years III and IV, for students aged 16-17 on entry. There are Macedonian and Turkish classes and a German class.
Address ul. Dimitrija Čupovski 27, 1000 Skopje
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · DP · authorised programmeschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio
Campus: A 7246 m² school building and a 5600 m² schoolyard, of which 2850 m² is green space and 2750 m² sports grounds. Inside are 28 classrooms, 9 subject rooms, an art studio, a library, a snack bar, an assembly hall and a sports hall.
Clubs and activities: Choir · Band · Drama · Ecology · Red Cross · Innovation and entrepreneurship · Urban culture · Computing · Art · Music · Sport
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
According to the 2022-2023 annual report the gymnasium has 111 staff, and lessons are taught by 91 teachers with relevant higher education. There is an educational counsellor, a psychologist and a librarian.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
✓Security staff
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The gymnasium is guarded by a physical security team of four. The staff include a psychologist and an educational counsellor.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)82 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data70 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data75 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 Value for money (6%) scored at the median70 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country