← Back to homeInternational School Maximilian

Skopje, North Macedonia · est. 2009 · Private
Illustration · Skopje
A private school in central Skopje, founded in 2009 and licensed by the Ministry of Education and Science of North Macedonia. The school takes children from kindergarten to graduation: the kindergarten follows Montessori pedagogy within the PYP framework, the primary school for Grades 1 to 5 follows the IB PYP, the secondary stage for Grades 6 to 9 follows the Oxford International Curriculum, and the high school for Grades 10 to 12 offers two pathways: the full Macedonian national curriculum with preparation for the state matura, or an international programme with IB Diploma elements (extended essay, theory of knowledge, CAS) and Oxford International. For the IB Diploma the school describes itself as a candidate school, not yet authorised. It has more than 100 students from more than 20 countries, with an average class of about 10. Teaching is bilingual: the head calls the curriculum English-taught, play-based learning in the kindergarten is in English and Macedonian, first graders learn to read and write daily in two alphabets, Latin and Cyrillic, and the national high school track is built around Macedonian language and literature. French and German are taught as foreign languages and are introduced in the kindergarten through songs and games; there is mother-language support. The school is led by Sofija F. Jordanovska, who holds a Master of Science in Psychology with a background in neuropsychology. Mobile phones are put away for the school day and uniform is compulsory.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $4 066–4 879 a year
3 500–4 200 EUR
Admits from
3 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
English, Macedonian
Languages taught
French, German
About the fees Fees for the 2026-2027 school year: 4200 euros a year in the primary school (Grades 1-5) and the secondary stage (Grades 6-9), 3500 euros a year in the high school (Grades 10-12). Kindergarten fees are available on request.
Admissions The school admits children aged 3 to 19 to all stages and accepts applications all year round, subject to availability. The first grade includes children from North Macedonia, Bulgaria, Turkey, Romania, Albania, the USA, China, Japan, Qatar and other countries, more than 20 nationalities in all. Admission has four steps: an enquiry through the form or by email, a campus visit, an application with school reports and documents, then an offer letter. The school names no entrance tests.
Stages and year groups Grades kindergarten, Grades 1-5, Grades 6-9, Grades 10-12. Kindergarten for children up to 5 with Montessori pedagogy and the PYP framework; primary school Grades 1-5, ages 6-12, on the IB PYP; secondary stage Grades 6-9, ages 12-14, on the Oxford International Curriculum; high school Grades 10-12, ages 14-18, with a choice of the national programme with the state matura or an international programme with the IB Diploma, for which the school is still a candidate.
Address Blvd. 8mi Septemvri 14, 1000 Skopje
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · PYP · authorised programmeschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: PYP (ages 3-12). PYP is the primary stage, ages 3 to 12. It is not a set of subjects but a frame for the whole school: learning is built around lines of inquiry, and there are no exams at the end.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Art studio · Playground
Campus: The campus is purpose-built: bright classrooms with large windows, an indoor glazed play terrace, nap rooms for the youngest, dedicated spaces for music, art and chess, a school garden and an outdoor playground. Meals and snacks are prepared on site every day, and door-to-door transport is available.
Clubs and activities: English · German · French · Football · Basketball · Volleyball · Table tennis · Badminton · Rhythmics and dance · Fitness and yoga · Chess · Programming · Robotics · Violin · Cello
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
The average class is about 10 students; in the primary school English, Macedonian, French and German are taught by specialist teachers. The school does not publish the number or qualifications of its teachers.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country