← Back to homeGymnázium a SOŠ Rokycany

Rokycany, Czech Republic · est. 1873 · State
Illustration · Rokycany
Gymnázium a SOŠ Rokycany is a state grammar school and secondary vocational school in Rokycany, founded in 1873 as the first Czech private gymnázium in West Bohemia. The school calls itself "the only public school in the Czech Republic accredited to offer the IB Diploma Programme". The gymnázium runs eight-year and four-year programmes plus a four-year programme with English: in years 1-2 some subjects are taught in English, and from year three teaching is entirely in English in the IB Diploma Programme. Other classes are taught in Czech. IB students may take the Czech Maturita, the IB exams or a combination. The SOŠ offers Information Technology, Economic Lyceum and Pre-school and Leisure Education. Capacity is 480 students in the gymnázium and 360 in the SOŠ.
Key facts
Programmes
IB · DP · National programme
Languages of instruction
Czech, English
Languages taught
German, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Russian
About the fees Tuition is free: the school says "The programme at our school is tuition-free. Only official IB exam registration fees apply."
Admissions Students enter the IB DP after the second year of the four-year programme. Requirements: English at B2 (CEFR) or higher with a certificate, at least a grade "2" in Higher Level subjects, and for external applicants a teacher reference, school reports from two years and an interview; those who fall short may sit the school's Individual Subject Admission Tests (ISAT). As the school community is Czech-speaking, students are expected to have at least A2 Czech. The school says it "also enrols individual students with other linguistic backgrounds, such as English or French", and provides language support.
Stages and year groups Eight-year gymnázium (8 classes), four-year gymnázium, four-year gymnázium with English (years 1-2 partly in English, years 3-4 the IB Diploma Programme entirely in English), SOŠ: Information Technology, Economic Lyceum, Pre-school and Leisure Education, all ending with the Maturita. The IB DP is integrated into only one of the four-year programmes; IB subjects: Czech A Literature, English B, History, Geography, Psychology, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics AA and AI, plus TOK, EE and CAS; IB students also take IT, Czech, another foreign language and PE. The IB Diploma and the Czech Maturita can be combined.
Address Mládežníků 1115, 337 01 Rokycany
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · DP · authorised programmeThe IB register lists the Diploma Programme at the grammar school. It is a Czech state gymnázium with no tuition fees: the IB Diploma is taught entirely in English in years 3-4 of one four-year programme.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Art studio
Campus: A spacious gymnázium building from 1995 with specialised classrooms and laboratories for chemistry, biology and physics, music and art rooms, a ceramics workshop, a modern library (8 computers, linked to University of West Bohemia resources) and a snack bar. Six sports spaces: a large sports hall for ball games, a gymnastics hall with a climbing wall, a table tennis room, a weight room and two more gyms in the SOŠ building. A canteen with a choice of two meals every day.
Clubs and activities: Pěvecký sbor Unique (choir) · JA Firma (student company) · Středoškolská odborná činnost (student research projects) · Parlament (student parliament)
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
✓Teacher qualifications
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
What the listings show: the school stresses the high qualifications of its staff
A stable teaching staff; many teachers have worked at the school for a long time and are its former students; the school stresses the staff's high qualifications and ongoing further training. There is an IB DP coordinator and two ICT coordinators.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
✓CCTV
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The gymnázium building has a recorded CCTV system covering entrances, lobbies, corridors and fire exits, governed by an internal directive. An extended counselling centre includes a specialist in prevention of socially pathological behaviour, an educational counsellor and a career counsellor. There is an inclusion policy and the building is barrier-free.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)82 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data70 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data80 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data70 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country