← Back to homeSunny Canadian International School

Jesenice, Czech Republic · est. 2002 · Private
Illustration · Jesenice
Sunny Canadian International School is a private bilingual Czech-English school in Jesenice just south of Prague, founded in 2002 by its owner Alice Štunda. Under one roof it has a kindergarten, a nine-year základní škola and a four-year gymnázium ending with the Czech maturita; according to the school about 660 students attend. Teaching runs in parallel in Czech and English, with both languages equally represented, and from Grade 1 to graduation subject lessons are also taught in English, by Czech teachers and native English speakers. The school follows Czech national programmes (ŠVP), not a Canadian one: its Canadian side is the patronage of the Canadian Chamber of Commerce, of which it is a member, cooperation with the Canadian embassy since 2008, attention to Canadian culture and trips to Canada; the kindergarten combines the Czech framework programme with approaches from the Canadian province of Alberta. Since 2014 the school has been part of the Cambridge (CIE) network, and since the 2021-2022 school year gymnázium students prepare for Advanced Placement exams and can earn the AP International Diploma or AP Capstone; in 2024-2025 students sat 125 AP exams in 13 subjects. In Grades 6-9 there are three specialised bilingual Junior High School classes following the eight-year gymnázium programme: STEAM, Diplomacy and International Business, and Explorers for highly gifted children. Classes are capped at 20 students in elementary and middle school and 25 in the gymnázium. There are more than 50 weekly clubs, The Duke of Edinburgh's Award, debating, MUN, expeditions and trips.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $7 897–12 547 a year
17 100–27 170 CZK a month
The year is counted as ten payments: the school does not say how many payments it takes.
Programmes
AP · National programme
Languages of instruction
Czech, English
Languages taught
French, German
Class size
At most 20 students per class in elementary and middle school and 25 in the gymnázium; in 2024-2025 the averages were 19.0 and 23.0.
Registration fee
≈ $231
5 000 CZK
About the fees Fees for the 2026-2027 school year, per month: kindergarten 17100 CZK (until 12:00, 5 days), 19550 or 20800 CZK (until 15:00, 3 or 5 days), 22250 or 23300 CZK (until 17:15, 3 or 5 days); Grades 1-5 26160 CZK, Grades 6-9 26560 CZK, gymnázium 27170 CZK. Fees are paid per half-year (5 months) by 31 May and by 15 January. The discount for the second and further children is 10 percent. Scholarships are available for gifted students.
Admissions Admission to all grades, including transfers, follows criteria in Czech, mathematics and English. Grade 1 enrolment takes place at the spring zápis under the school's criteria, with an individual interview with parents; Grades 2-9 accept transfers during the year via a registration form. Entry to the gymnázium is by entrance exams in Czech and mathematics and an English test, and one requirement is English at B2 level; transfers into the gymnázium are discussed at a personal meeting. The kindergarten admits children year-round when places are available, after a personal meeting and a registration form. Scholarships are available for gifted students.
Stages and year groups Grades MŠ, 1.-9. třída ZŠ, 1.-4. ročník gymnázia. Kindergarten following the Cesta za Sluncem programme (the Czech framework programme for preschool education plus approaches from the Canadian province of Alberta), Grades 1-5 and 6-9 of the základní škola under the school's ŠVP (in Grades 6-9 the specialised Junior High School classes STEAM, Diplomacy and International Business, Explorers follow the eight-year gymnázium programme), and a four-year general gymnázium ending with the Czech maturita. The school has been a Cambridge (CIE) member since 2014; students take Cambridge PET, KET, FCE, CAE and, in the final gymnázium year, Cambridge CPE (C2), as well as TOEFL and the French DELF. Since the 2021-2022 school year gymnázium students prepare for College Board Advanced Placement exams and choose the AP International Diploma or AP Capstone; under an MŠMT pilot an AP exam can replace a profile maturita exam. There is no Canadian provincial curriculum and no Canadian diploma. There is no IB programme.
Address Straková 522, 252 42 Jesenice - Osnice
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
College Board · authorised programmeThe school appears in the College Board AP Course Ledger for the 2025-2026 school year with 9 subjects. It is a Czech bilingual school with the Czech maturita; despite its name it does not run a Canadian curriculum.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
College BoardCollege Board, the AP programme
An American organisation that allows a school to put the letters AP on a pupil's transcript. The permission is granted course by course and tied to a particular teacher, it has to be renewed every year, and College Board reads the course syllabus before granting it.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run advanced AP courses - not the school as a whole, but one by one: by subject and by teacher. Governance, safeguarding and the primary years are not part of that check. Which subjects are actually approved is visible in the ledger. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Authorisation here runs a year at a time: the register lists the school for the 2025-2026 school year.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →AP
Advanced Placement: American advanced courses for the senior years. The exam for a course is set and marked by the College Board, not by the school. A good result is counted by American universities as a first-year course already passed, which saves a student time and money.
What this means for this school. A school does not get to call a course AP automatically: the College Board reads the course syllabus and approves it separately for every subject and every teacher, and the permission has to be renewed each year. Every approved school in the world is listed in the open AP Course Ledger, and this school's entry there stands as a line in the accreditation block above. How many courses a school is approved for, and in which subjects, the ledger does not show in its general listing. AP has no leaving certificate of its own: it sits on top of the school's main programme rather than being a separate system.
National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
AP scores of 3 and above
83.2%
Exam results In the 2024-2025 school year students sat 125 AP exams in 13 subjects, 9 of them taught at the school itself, and passed 83.2 percent of exams, 12 percent more than the year before. The first student earned both the AP International Diploma and AP Capstone for 7 passed exams. 18 gymnázium students took the Czech maturita: 89 percent passed in the spring session and the rest in the autumn.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Clubs and activities: Cena vévody z Edinburghu · Debatní liga · Evropský parlament mládeže · MUN · Žákovský parlament · KinBall · Házená · Basketball · Floorball · Fotbal · Přípravné kurzy na Cambridge PET, FCE, CAE a CPE
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
✓Teacher qualifications
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
What the listings show: More than 90 percent of teachers are fully qualified.
Teaching is by Czech teachers and native English speakers; in Grades 6-9 gymnázium teachers teach. Teachers receive regular training, including on responding to dangerous situations.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
✓Staff training
✓Anti-bullying policy
The school has a counselling centre (poradenské pracoviště) with a special educator, an educational counsellor and a prevention methodologist: support for children with special needs and gifted children, prevention of school failure and risky behaviour. There is an annual prevention programme and an anti-bullying programme, and classes cover cyberbullying, addictions and safety, including sessions with the police. Teachers completed a full-day training on protecting soft targets and responding to dangerous situations.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)63 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data80 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data75 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data80 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country