Hasseris Gymnasium & IB World School is a public upper secondary school in Hasseris, Aalborg, offering Danish STX and the IB Diploma Programme; the school says it is the only school in Northern Jutland offering the IB Diploma. The international department consists of the one-year PreIB and the two-year IB Diploma Programme (IB1 and IB2, comparable to the second and third years of STX); the school states that in PreIB and the IB Diploma the language of instruction is always English. Danish STX is taught in Danish; its pages are in Danish only. As of September 2026 the school has 929 students: 778 in the three STX years, 48 in PreIB, 54 in IB1 and 49 in IB2; the IB page mentions around 170 IB students from many countries. Since 2007 the school has been a self-governing public institution, previously run by the county. The school has no boarding facilities.
Key facts
Programmes
IB · DP · National programme
Languages of instruction
Danish, English
Languages taught
German, French, Spanish
Admissions The school welcomes applicants of all nationalities, but international applicants must hold a study and residence permit for Denmark. Applicants aged 15 to 18 are considered, and only for the full PreIB or IB Diploma programme. All apply through the Danish system optagelse.dk by 1 March, with late applicants contacting the IB coordinator; applicants from abroad also send the school's form, school documents and a personal statement. Direct entry to the IB Diploma follows PreIB or the first year of STX, MYP 5, at least five IGCSE subjects at grade C or above (Mathematics, English, History and a science) or 11 years of schooling; if IGCSE results are weak, the school may move the student to PreIB. PreIB admits students after Danish grade 9 or 10 or equivalent exams. The school may set written tests in English, Mathematics and general science and an interview. A student from abroad without parents in Denmark must have a guardian in or near Aalborg.
Stages and year groups Grades PreIB, IB1-IB2; STX 1-3. International department: the one-year PreIB (close to the first year of Danish STX, graded on the Danish scale) and the two-year IB Diploma Programme, IB1 and IB2, with IBO examinations. The core is the Extended Essay, Theory of Knowledge and CAS. The school's other programme is Danish STX leading to the studentereksamen; in 2025/2026 the school has 27 STX classes and 4 IB classes.
Address Hasserisvej 300, 9000 Aalborg
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · DP · authorised programmeThe IB register lists the Diploma Programme at the school; it is taught in English after a preparatory pre-IB year, alongside the Danish STX programme and the studentereksamen exam.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
Exam results The school publishes its graduates' average grade on the Danish scale: 8.1 in 2026, 7.4 in 2025, 7.7 in 2024, 7.6 in 2023 and 8.3 in 2022; the national average in 2025 was 7.5. The school does not publish separate IB Diploma results on its website.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: The school is on Hasserisvej in Aalborg. The library is shared by the Danish and international departments: room O13 in the orange corridor, open for self-study from 8 to 16, with a librarian, computers and materials in Danish, English and other languages. The newest wing has three well-equipped music rooms and a sound studio. Students borrow textbooks from the school free of charge, and the school has a wireless network and its own IT support. There is no boarding.
Clubs and activities: Frivillig idræt (voluntary sport: volleyball, basketball, badminton) · Strikkeklub (knitting club) · Læseklub (book club) · Filosofiklub (philosophy club) · Lektieværksted (homework help) · Kor (choir) · Musical · MGP (school song contest) · Jam Night · Open Arts Class · Talent Classes
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
✓Number of teachers84
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
In 2025/2026 the school has 84 teachers, an IT staff member and a librarian, plus 16 staff in other functions; the September 2026 summary lists 91 teachers and managers. The school says it makes sure all new teachers have sufficient English and values bilingual teachers; teachers are confident teaching in English. The IB department is led by a coordinator, with a deputy coordinator and a student advisor for well-being.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
The IB department has a Strategy to Prevent Bullying, updated in June 2026: bullying is identified with the DCUM (Danish Centre for Educational Environment) tool, prevention includes well-being talks with the student advisor and coordinator team, class mentoring, digital literacy lessons, shared social activities and fixed seats and groups in classes; when bullying occurs there is an obligation to act within 10 days. Students can have free consultations with the school psychologist, arranged through the IB student advisor. There are Rules of Conduct, an Alcohol Policy and an Access and Inclusion Policy.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)82 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data80 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data70 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data65 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 Value for money (6%) scored at the median83 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country