Het College Weert is a Dutch secondary school in Weert (Limburg) offering vwo: atheneum and gymnasium, each also in a tweetalig version; it was founded in 1648. The school also houses Koers, a special form of lower-year education for mavo, havo and vwo based on choice and coaching. After the first orientation year of atheneum, students choose the Technasium stream (the subject Onderzoeken & Ontwerpen; the school was the first in Limburg to open a Technasium) or Kunst en Cultuur; gymnasium students learn Latin and Greek and take the research subject Onderzoeken. Tweetalig onderwijs is a separate stream in vwo years 1-3 where more than half of subjects are taught in English; in the upper years students follow the Cambridge AS and A Level English Language programme. The school is a Begaafdheidsprofielschool for gifted students and a Topsport Talentschool. About 870 students attend. The school is state-funded.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · A-Level · National programme
Languages of instruction
Dutch, English
Languages taught
French, German, Latin, Greek
About the fees Education is free; the school is state-funded and textbooks are free. The voluntary parental contribution for 2026-2027 is 50 EUR per student for all year groups of the LVO Weert schools, plus an optional 1 EUR for the solidarity fund. Tweetalig onderwijs and the subject BSM may carry a separate contribution, and trips are paid separately. Not paying does not exclude a child.
Admissions Groep 8 pupils register through an online form; there is a separate form for transfer from another secondary school. Gymnasium requires an unambiguous vwo recommendation, and so does tweetalig onderwijs, together with a feel for language and willingness to work harder. Children with a double havo-vwo recommendation are placed in the combined atheneum and gymnasium classes and taught at vwo level. At the start of the year all first-year students with a havo-vwo or vwo recommendation are screened for giftedness. The school says nothing about admitting children from abroad.
Stages and year groups Grades vwo 1-6 (atheneum, gymnasium); Koers 1-3. Dutch vwo curriculum (6 years, atheneum and gymnasium) with national exams (eindexamen) and the profiles Cultuur & Maatschappij, Economie & Maatschappij, Natuur & Gezondheid, Natuur & Techniek; gymnasium students also take an exam in Latin or Greek. Koers covers lower years of mavo, havo and vwo with choice and coaching. Tweetalig onderwijs (atheneum-TTO and gymnasium-TTO): in years 1-3 more than half of subjects in English, an Anglia exam at the end of the lower stage, and in the upper years the Cambridge AS and A Level English Language programme in English lessons. The school does not name other Cambridge International or Pearson programmes.
Address Parklaan 1A, 6006 NT Weert
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · A-Level · authorised programmeThe Cambridge register names the school as its centre: on the bilingual track senior students study English through the Cambridge AS and A Level English Language programme. The main curriculum is Dutch.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: A-Level (ages 16-18). A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
Exam results Vwo final exam pass rates by year 2016-2026: 94%, 94%, 93%, 87%, 98%, 93%, 99%, 94%, 99%, 97%, 93%; the national average in the same years ranged from 88% to 99%.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
✓Theatre or assembly hall
·Librarynot stated on the website
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field
Clubs and activities: Schaakclub (chess club) · Plustraject (enrichment modules for gifted students) · Leerlingenraad (student council)
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
All tweetalig onderwijs teachers are certified to teach in English and receive annual training; native speakers work in the stream. Every student has a mentor, and gifted students also have a tutor.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
✓CCTV
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
The mentor is the first point of contact for bullying; a designated staff member coordinates the social safety policy and the anti-bullying protocol. The school has two internal confidential advisers, external confidential advisers of the LVO foundation and a code on domestic violence and child abuse. Each year students complete an online survey on safety and wellbeing; cameras operate inside and outside the building and recordings are kept for two weeks.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)82 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data80 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data75 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data67 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country