The Jan van Brabant College is a Dutch public secondary school in the centre of Helmond offering mavo, havo and vwo; it is the oldest secondary school in the city and has been on Molenstraat for more than 150 years. Regular classes are taught in Dutch. It is the only school in the Helmond region with tweetalig onderwijs (TTO) at all three levels: students work in English for about 25 lessons a week, all TTO teachers are trained to teach in English, and the school is certified by Nuffic as a senior TTO school. In TTO classes students take Cambridge International subjects and exams: Checkpoint in science, English and mathematics, Cambridge Global Perspectives, IGCSE First Language English at havo and A Level English Language at vwo. The havo and vwo departments hold the Excellente School title; the school runs exchanges with India and European countries, and upper TTO students do an international work placement.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · Lower Secondary, IGCSE, A-Level · National programme
Languages of instruction
Dutch, English
Languages taught
German, French, Spanish, Chinese
About the fees Education is free. For bilingual education the school asks for a voluntary contribution of 495 EUR per year in the lower years and 280 EUR per year in the upper years (years 4-6); it can be paid in three instalments, and not paying does not exclude a student from activities. Upper-year modules and the sports programme in years 1-2 are free.
Admissions Students enter the first year after Dutch primary school on the application days (for 2027-2028: 30 and 31 March 2027), with help from the groep 7 and 8 coordinator; with a havo/vwo recommendation a student may enter vwo. Transfers during the year or into upper years are arranged with the staff responsible for Dutch-language and bilingual years 1-3 and for years 4-6. The IGCSE First Language English and A Level English Language exams require the lower-school bilingual programme. The site has no separate rules for foreign students.
Stages and year groups Dutch secondary school: mavo, havo and vwo ending in the eindexamen; at every level students can join bilingual (TTO) classes, which also lead to the Dutch diploma. Cambridge International subjects in TTO: Cambridge Checkpoint exams in science, English and mathematics in the lower years; Cambridge Global Perspectives - at mavo with the Checkpoint exam, at havo and vwo in the upper years as social studies with a Cambridge exam and a school exam; English at havo ends with the Cambridge IGCSE First Language English exam (preparation from year 3), at vwo with Cambridge A Level English Language in years 5-6. At mavo English ends with the Cambridge English B2 First language exam, and upper TTO years prepare for Cambridge Advanced. These courses are compulsory for all TTO students. In addition, students can obtain Goethe and DELF certificates in German and French.
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · Lower Secondary, IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programmeThe Cambridge register names the school as its centre: on the bilingual track students take Cambridge Checkpoint in the lower years, Cambridge Global Perspectives, IGCSE First Language English on havo and A Level English Language in vwo Years 5-6. The main curriculum is Dutch.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: Lower Secondary (ages 11-14), IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). Lower Secondary is the middle stage, ages 11 to 14, with the same optional Checkpoint test at the end. IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
Exam results Final exams in the 2024-2025 school year: 89% passed at mavo, 89% at havo and 94% at vwo. The school says 95.3% of students progress without delay and 19% study above their primary school recommendation. For Cambridge exams it reports above-average results without figures.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Clubs and activities: SportXperience · Applied Science · Chinees (Chinese) · Spaans (Spanish) · Drama · DELF Scolaire (French) · Goethe-certificaat (German)
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
Every student has a mentor, and in the first year older student tutors also help; the school has a deputy head, a student coordinator, a support coordinator, an orthopedagogue and a careers adviser. All teachers of bilingual classes are trained to teach in English. The school does not publish teacher numbers or class sizes.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
The school has an anti-bullying plan and two anti-bullying coordinators whom students can see in building B; there are two internal and one external confidential advisers for students and staff affected by harassment, aggression, violence, bullying or discrimination. The school guide includes the procedure for domestic violence (Meldcode) and school rules.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)88 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data80 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data65 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data65 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country