Home · UAE · Abu Dhabi
← Back to home

Horizon Private School - American Branch

ОАЭ Abu Dhabi, UAE · est. 2008 · Private
Illustration · Abu Dhabi
68.2#150 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Horizon Private School - American Branch opened in Khalifa City A in 2008 and belongs to the AlephYa group of schools. It teaches the American programme from the preparatory stage to grade 12: the Common Core State Standards for English and mathematics, the Next Generation Science Standards for science, and the Ministry of Education frameworks for Arabic, Islamic studies, UAE social studies and moral education. In the early years the programme is built on play. The school states its language aim plainly: a leaver should be bilingual in Arabic and English and competent in one further world language, and the school runs French as a separate strand. The senior stage offers AP courses. Of its facilities the school names a staffed clinic, school buses, a digital literacy lab, separate biology, chemistry and physics laboratories, a full-size sports hall with sports facilities, a library with physical and digital resources, and a school swimming pool. The main thing a parent needs to know: the school publishes no tuition fees on its site, and half the sections of that site - about the school, its accreditations, its teachers, the school day - stand empty.

Key facts

Tuition
Price on request
Programmes
AP · American programme
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Arabic, French
Admissions Admission runs in four steps: an application, an assessment and interview, submission of documents, and confirmation of enrolment.
Stages and year groups Grades preparatory stage (Pre-KG) - grade 12. The school divides its stages into three: early childhood (Pre-KG to grade 2), upper elementary (grades 3-5) and secondary (grades 6-12).
Address Khalifa City A

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cognia · accreditationCollege Board · authorised programmeAlephYa · school is part of the network
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CogniaCognia, formerly AdvancED

The widest-reaching American accreditation: some forty thousand schools in over a hundred countries. It accredits both individual schools and whole school systems. It also sells a paid membership with no inspection behind it, and that membership is often passed off as accreditation.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
College BoardCollege Board, the AP programme

An American organisation that allows a school to put the letters AP on a pupil's transcript. The permission is granted course by course and tied to a particular teacher, it has to be renewed every year, and College Board reads the course syllabus before granting it.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run advanced AP courses - not the school as a whole, but one by one: by subject and by teacher. Governance, safeguarding and the primary years are not part of that check. Which subjects are actually approved is visible in the ledger. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Authorisation here runs a year at a time: the register lists the school for the 2025-2026 school year.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
AP

Advanced Placement: American advanced courses for the senior years. The exam for a course is set and marked by the College Board, not by the school. A good result is counted by American universities as a first-year course already passed, which saves a student time and money.

What this means for this school. A school does not get to call a course AP automatically: the College Board reads the course syllabus and approves it separately for every subject and every teacher, and the permission has to be renewed each year. Every approved school in the world is listed in the open AP Course Ledger, and this school's entry there stands as a line in the accreditation block above. How many courses a school is approved for, and in which subjects, the ledger does not show in its general listing. AP has no leaving certificate of its own: it sits on top of the school's main programme rather than being a separate system.

American programme

The American school programme, with the High School Diploma at the end. It usually comes together with AP courses, which the College Board stands behind, and with an American accreditation - MSA, NEASC or Cognia.

What this means for this school. The diploma is written out by the school itself: the American programme has no common leaving exam, and the content of the senior years is set by the school. Outside checking therefore rests on two things here - the accreditation of the school, and the AP exams if the school runs them.

AlephYaschool network

AlephYa (its own site alephyaeducation.com spells it both «Alephya» and «AlephYa») is a Gulf school group whose stated mission is «to revitalize and transform neighborhood community schools». Figures disagree inside the site: the homepage counters give «15 Schools in GCC Region», «20000+» students, «2000+» staff and «55» nationalities, while the OUR SCHOOLS list prints thirteen entries in three countries - Ajyal International School at Al Falah and MBZ, Horizon Private School (the Khalifa City branch and the MOE branch in Muhaisnah), School of Modern Skills in Dubai and Virtual Charter School in Abu Dhabi; Al Tarbiyah Al Islamiyah School, Al-Majd National Schools and Futuristic Learning School in Saudi Arabia; ABQ Azzan Bin Qais in Muscat and Sohar, ABQ Seeb International and ABQ Al Imtiaz Private School in Oman. The site gives numbers school by school but sums the group only in that counter: the Khalifa City branch of Horizon «currently serves more than 1,600 students and 120 teachers, representing 44 nationalities». There is no founding year for the group and no wording about ownership, management or franchise.

What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

✓Swimming pool
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: A digital literacy lab, separate biology, chemistry and physics laboratories, a full-size sports hall with sports facilities, a library with physical and digital resources, a school swimming pool, a clinic and school buses on routes across Abu Dhabi.

Teaching staff

The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school names a staffed clinic providing first aid, wellness support and health monitoring for pupils.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
75
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
60
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
90
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
85
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%) scored at the median
68
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Jumeirah English Speaking SchoolDubai · 68.2German International School DubaiDubai · 68.2Diyafah International SchoolAbu Dhabi · 68.2The British School Al KhubairatAbu Dhabi · 68.2