Istituto Comprensivo Statale Maglie is a state school in Maglie (province of Lecce) combining scuola dell'infanzia, scuola primaria and scuola secondaria di primo grado; about 760 children attend in 37 classes. Teaching is in Italian under the state curriculum; the school calls Italian the core competence. It describes itself as a public international school recognised by Cambridge (centre code IT796) and builds enhanced English from pre-school to middle school: in pre-school, from two and a half to three years, four hours of English a week; in primary, Global English and Science in English in all classes; in the international middle school classes, Global English and Science on Cambridge programmes with native speakers, including two afternoon sessions a week. At the end of primary and middle school students sit Cambridge Checkpoint. The middle school has a music track, and all students wear a school uniform.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · Primary, Lower Secondary · National programme
Admits from
2.5 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
Class size
on average 20 students per class
About the fees Tuition at this state school is free.
Admissions Admission follows the state procedure (Iscrizioni On Line); in the middle school the international classes are separate classes with extra afternoon lessons, scheduled in agreement with families. The pages read do not describe selection for the international classes, admission of foreigners or enrolment documents.
Stages and year groups Italian state curriculum: scuola dell'infanzia (three years), scuola primaria (normal 27-hour or full 40-hour timetable), scuola secondaria di primo grado with a music track (ending with the esame di Stato del primo ciclo). Cambridge-based course: in scuola dell'infanzia, 4 hours of English a week (one hour with an external specialist and 3 hours of art, music and movement in English); in scuola primaria, Cambridge Primary: English 2 hours in years 1-2 and 3 hours afterwards plus 50-100 extra hours a year, 3,5 hours of Global English in total, one hour of Science in English in all classes and one hour of art in English when staffing allows; in the international middle school classes, Cambridge Lower Secondary: 3 hours of Global English and one hour of Science in English in the timetable plus 2 hours of Global English and 2 hours of Science after school with native speakers (14:30-16:30, twice a week), 100 extra hours a year. Assessment: Cambridge Primary and Lower Secondary Progression Tests set in school and Cambridge Checkpoint in Global English and Science at the end of primary and middle school; also Cambridge English exams (A2 at the end of primary, B1 at the end of middle school). The school mentions preparation for a future IGCSE but does not run IGCSE itself.
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · Primary, Lower Secondary · authorised programmeThe Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge Primary, Cambridge Lower Secondary. All primary classes take Global English and Science in English on Cambridge Primary; international middle school classes continue at Lower Secondary with native speakers, with Checkpoint at the end of each stage.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: Primary (ages 5-11), Lower Secondary (ages 11-14). Primary is the primary stage, ages 5 to 11: English, mathematics and science to Cambridge syllabuses. At the end of the stage a school may run the optional Checkpoint test, which is marked in Cambridge. Lower Secondary is the middle stage, ages 11 to 14, with the same optional Checkpoint test at the end.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Makerspace
Campus: The school writes of major investment in equipped spaces for communication and debate and in makerspaces for STEAM, science, digital technology, robotics, prototyping and modelling - with 3D printers and scanners and laser cutters - and for art, woodworking, textiles and fashion; there is an AGRI-FOOD workshop with indoor and outdoor growing and essential oil production. Students wear a school uniform - a blue waistcoat with the school logo. The middle school has a music track.
Clubs and activities: Debate · Robotics · Agri-Food Workshop · Woodworking · Textiles and Fashion · Music Track · Erasmus+ (exchanges)
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
The international middle school classes are taught by native English speakers specialising in Global English and Science; in pre-school one hour of English is taught by an external specialist and the other hours by school staff, who receive language and methodology training abroad and in Italy through Erasmus+. The school writes of continuous training for the head, administration and teachers.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data65 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country