Istituto Comprensivo Perugia 11 is a state group of pre-schools, primary schools and the Giovanni Pascoli lower secondary school in Perugia for children aged 3 to 14, spread over several buildings in the Case Bruciate, Via Simpatica and Madonna Alta districts. Teaching follows the Italian national curriculum in Italian. Since the 2025-2026 school year the school has been accredited by Cambridge International and runs a bilingual Cambridge course: in primary school, from year 3, English as a Second Language, Science and Global Perspectives; in secondary school, English as a Second Language, Mathematics and Humanities, with some lessons taught by native English speakers. The secondary school also has two enhanced English sections (5 hours a week instead of French), and one pre-school follows the Montessori method. The primary schools have 229 pupils (130 at Gabelli and 99 at Pestalozzi) and the secondary school 512.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · Primary, Lower Secondary · Montessori · National programme
Admits from
3 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
Students
741 in primary and secondary school, excluding pre-schools
About the fees Tuition at this state school is free. The website and school plan say nothing about a fee for the Cambridge course; the plan only mentions voluntary family contributions.
Admissions Admission to first-year classes follows the state Iscrizioni online procedure, linked from the home page. The website does not state separate selection criteria for the Cambridge classes. The school plan states directly that some of its buildings have a high share of foreign pupils and describes Italian language support and personalised learning plans for them.
Stages and year groups Italian state first-cycle curriculum: three pre-schools at 40 hours a week (one Montessori), Gabelli primary 27 hours (29 hours in years 4-5 due to physical education), Pestalozzi full day 40 hours, Pascoli lower secondary on two sites 30 hours, with the esame di Stato at the end of year 3. Cambridge course (since the 2025-2026 school year): in primary year 3, 4 hours of English as a Second Language (one with a native speaker), 2 hours of Science in English and 1 hour of Global Perspectives with a native speaker, 28 hours a week instead of 27 with one afternoon; in secondary, 4 hours of English as a Second Language (one with a native speaker, in the afternoon), 4 hours of Mathematics (one with a native speaker) and 1 hour of Humanities (history, geography, civics) co-taught with a native speaker, 31 hours a week in total, with French kept as the second language. The website promises access to Cambridge qualifications at the end of the course but does not say whether students sit Checkpoint exams. Two secondary sections have enhanced English: 5 hours of English with no second foreign language.
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · Primary, Lower Secondary · authorised programmeThe Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge Primary, Cambridge Lower Secondary. Since 2025-2026 year 3 primary classes take ESL, Science and Global Perspectives, and the middle school course covers ESL, Mathematics and Humanities, partly with a native speaker.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: Primary (ages 5-11), Lower Secondary (ages 11-14). Primary is the primary stage, ages 5 to 11: English, mathematics and science to Cambridge syllabuses. At the end of the stage a school may run the optional Checkpoint test, which is marked in Cambridge. Lower Secondary is the middle stage, ages 11 to 14, with the same optional Checkpoint test at the end.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →Montessori
The pedagogy of Maria Montessori: a child chooses the activity, works at their own pace with special materials, and mixed-age groups are arranged so that older children teach the younger ones. It is used most often in the nursery and primary stages.
What this means for this school. The name Montessori belongs to nobody: any school may call itself a Montessori school, and there is no single body that checks this. There are associations that train teachers and recognise schools, but membership of them is voluntary, and our entry means exactly that the school describes itself this way. This pedagogy has no leaving certificate, so what to look at is what the school finishes with.
National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: Sites in three districts of Perugia: Case Bruciate (Gabelli pre-school and primary), Via Simpatica (Montessori pre-school and Pestalozzi primary, building under complete renovation) and Madonna Alta (two sites of the Pascoli lower secondary school in a park next to the minimetro station). The school's inventory lists 5 internet-connected labs, 2 computer rooms, a science lab, 2 libraries including a historic one, 4 gyms, a canteen and an assembly hall; every secondary classroom has an interactive board. Pre-school runs 8:00 to 16:00, Gabelli primary 8:05 to 13:30, Pestalozzi has a full day to 16:00 with lunch, and secondary school runs 8:00 to 14:00.
Clubs and activities: Athletes of the Future · Rackets in Class Kids · Dance at School · Theatre Workshop · Reading Champions · Mathematics at Play · Cambridge Key for Schools · DELF A1 Certification · Corriere Umbria Project (school journalism)
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
In the Cambridge course some English, Mathematics, Global Perspectives and Humanities lessons are taught by native English-speaking teachers, co-teaching with the regular teacher in Humanities. In primary years 4-5 physical education is taught by a specialist teacher.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
The school has an inclusion plan (PAI), an anti-bullying and anti-cyberbullying project, Scacco al bullo, and a hospital and home schooling programme for children unable to attend school.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data65 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data80 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country