← Back to the rankingLiceo Classico Statale Sperimentale Bertrand Russell

Rome, Italy · est. 1971 · State
Illustration · Rome
Liceo Classico Statale Sperimentale Bertrand Russell is a state upper secondary school (scuola statale) in the Tuscolano district of Rome, opened in the 1971-1972 school year as an experimental continuation of the Petrocchi middle school. Despite its name, it runs three tracks: liceo classico, liceo scientifico (including a mathematics liceo with university lecturers) and liceo linguistico, with an EsaBac line (history in French and a dual Italian-French diploma) and a line with advanced German preparing for the German DSD language diploma. Since the 2015-2016 school year the school has been a Cambridge International centre: in the first two years of liceo classico and liceo scientifico there are Cambridge classes where some subjects are taught in English to IGCSE syllabuses, with exams at the start of year three. Other lessons are in Italian. In 2025-2026, 1310 students attended 56 classes.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE · National programme
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
Languages taught
French, Spanish, German, Latin
About the fees The school is state-run and tuition is free. For the Cambridge course families pay a separate participation fee and an exam fee for each IGCSE exam taken; the amounts are not given on the school pages or in the PTOF, and payments go through the national PagoPA system.
Admissions A state school: enrolment in the first year follows the national Iscrizioni online procedure, after which the school publishes admission lists for each track - classical and scientific, standard and Cambridge, scientific with the mathematics focus, and linguistic (with different language combinations, DSD and EsaBac). If there are more applicants for a Cambridge class than places (at most one class per track), the school considers the English grade in the second year of middle school and/or a KET or PET certificate, as well as residence in the school district. The PTOF sets the goal of Italian as a second language courses for students of non-Italian citizenship or language and mentions sessions for students who speak Italian as a second language.
Stages and year groups Five-year programmes ending with the esame di Stato: liceo classico, liceo scientifico (standard and with the mathematics liceo project), liceo linguistico (English, French, Spanish or English, German, Spanish; a DSD line with advanced German) and liceo linguistico EsaBac (history in French, dual Italian-French diploma). Cambridge (IGCSE) runs only in separate classes of liceo classico and liceo scientifico, one per track: in liceo classico, years 1-2 - English as a Second Language and Economics, 3 extra hours a week; in liceo scientifico, years 1-2 - Mathematics and English as a Second Language, 2 extra hours a week plus one more hour of maths with a native-speaker teacher alongside the class teacher. IGCSE exams in both subjects are taken at the start of year three (October-November session). In years 3-4, optional IGCSE English as a First Language, two hours once a week after school with native speakers, exam at the start of year five.
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · IGCSE · authorised programmeThe Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge IGCSE. Separate Cambridge classes study IGCSE English plus Economics (classical liceo) or English plus Maths (science liceo) in years 1-2, with exams at the start of year 3; IGCSE First Language English is optional later.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: Two buildings: the main one at Via Tuscolana 208 (built in 1939) and a branch at Via La Spezia 21 with 6 classes. All classrooms have interactive whiteboards. The main building has 9 laboratories - language, chemistry, physics, science, robotics, STEM, signal processing, digital humanities and a debate room; a computerised library, an assembly hall, a theatre and two gyms. The branch has no gym, so PE takes place in rented halls.
Clubs and activities: School Sports Centre · Theatre Workshop · Art and Painting Workshop · School Newspaper · Readers' Club · Italian and Philosophy Olympiads, Mathematics Competitions · IMUN/MUN · Introductory Astronomy Course · Sailing Camp
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
A school counselling service (sportello d'ascolto) operates; a welcome project for first-year students with student tutors, meetings on adolescent difficulties and risky behaviour, a project against bullying and cyberbullying, and health programmes with the local health service. Separate support is provided for high-level student athletes.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data65 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data80 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country