Ranking · Poland · Bialystok
← Back to the ranking

II Liceum Ogólnokształcące im. Księżnej Anny z Sapiehów Jabłonowskiej w Białymstoku

Poland Bialystok, Poland · est. 1915 · State
Illustration · Bialystok
77.9#11 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

II Liceum Ogólnokształcące im. Księżnej Anny z Sapiehów Jabłonowskiej is a state liceum in Białystok tracing its history to the Polish Real Gymnasium of 1915; in 2019 the school celebrated its centenary. Together with Primary School no. 53 with bilingual classes it forms Zespół Szkół Ogólnokształcących nr 2, sharing the building, head and teachers. The liceum has run the IB Diploma Programme since 2012 and, since September 2022, the IB MYP, which runs for four years: grades 7-8 of the primary school and grades 1-2 of the liceum; the IB DP follows in grades 3-4. In the international class all subjects except Polish and the foreign language are taught in English. The liceum also has a bilingual medical class, where biology and history are taught in two languages, and cross-class German DSD groups preparing for the C1 certificate. The Perspektywy 2026 ranking named it the best liceum in the Podlaskie region and 25th in Poland. Graduates go on to Polish and foreign universities.

Key facts

Tuition
Free
Programmes
IB · MYP, DP · National programme
Admits from
13 years
Languages of instruction
Polish, English
Languages taught
German, French, Russian, Italian, Spanish, Chinese, Latin
School website
About the fees It is a public school run by the City of Białystok; tuition is free, including in the IB international class. The website does not mention IB exam fees.
Admissions Admission to grade 1 of the liceum is through the Białystok electronic admissions system, by points for the egzamin ósmoklasisty and grades. For the international class 1 F (IB MYP in grades 1-2 and IB DP in grades 3-4) applications are due earlier than for other classes, by 27 May in 2026, and candidates take an English language competence test (up to 25 points, out of a maximum of 225); FCE, CAE and CPE certificates and English olympiad awards exempt candidates with full points. The liceum must be the first-choice school, with the international class in first or second place on the application. In 2026 the test took place on 2 June, with a resit on 16 June and a supplementary round on 23 July. Graduates of this school's IB MYP 5 move automatically into the IB DP after signing a declaration and choosing subjects; if places remain, students from other schools are admitted to the DP: after a preparatory year, with GCSE or an equivalent, with an IB MYP certificate, or after Polish grade 2 and the school's English test. The admission policy opens the IB programmes to students from other education systems; English A was introduced for non-Polish speakers, and speakers of other languages are offered a school-supported self-taught mother tongue option. Grade 7 of bilingual Primary School no. 53 (IB MYP 2) admits by points for the grade 6 certificate: up to 7 points for a certificate with honours, up to 54 points for grades in three subjects and up to 40 points for a compulsory written language test.
Stages and year groups Grades 7-8 (szkoła podstawowa nr 53), 1-4 (liceum). Szkoła Podstawowa nr 53 z Oddziałami Dwujęzycznymi: grades 7-8 only, bilingual, with 6 hours of English a week and mathematics, history, biology, physics, chemistry and computer science in two languages; IB MYP 2-3 run here. Liceum ogólnokształcące, four years, Polish curriculum and matura: profiles A, C, D, E, the bilingual medical class 1 B and the international class 1 F; cross-class German DSD II groups (C1 certificate). Class 1 F: IB MYP 4-5 in grades 1-2, IB Diploma Programme in grades 3-4. DP subjects in the 2026-2027 profile: Polish A Literature, English A Language and Literature, English B, History, Psychology, Economics, Geography, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics Analysis and Approaches, Mathematics Applications and Interpretation, Computer Science, German, French, Russian; arts are not offered; TOK, CAS, Extended Essay.

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

IB · MYP, DP · authorised programmePASCH · takes part in the programme
The school is listed in the IB register and runs the Middle Years and Diploma programmes. The IB track runs across the school complex: the Middle Years in grades 7-8 of Primary School No. 53 and grades 1-2 of the liceum, the Diploma in grades 3-4; alongside, the liceum follows the Polish curriculum leading to the matura. The school is part of the PASCH network.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: MYP (ages 11-16), DP (ages 16-19). MYP is the middle stage, ages 11 to 16. There are no exams here either; at the end an optional electronic assessment of pupils' work is possible. DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
PASCHSchools: Partners for the Future, an initiative of the German foreign ministry

More than two thousand schools in about 120 countries. A school cannot apply for itself: participants are chosen by German agencies in agreement with the embassy. Very different schools sit under one mark - full German schools abroad, and ordinary national schools that simply teach German well.

What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to a German support programme. By itself the mark means neither a German curriculum nor the right to award a German certificate: of the two thousand PASCH schools, about seventeen hundred hold no such right. Look for a ZfA status next to it - that is the one that is about this. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Exam results Matura 2026: 100% of graduates sat it. School average versus national average: Polish basic 62% and 59%, extended 46% and 39%; English basic 82% and 81%, extended 73% and 71%, bilingual 75% and 74%; German basic 77% and 83%, extended 63% and 64%; mathematics basic 63% and 65%, extended 43% and 44%; physics 47% and 49%, chemistry 42% and 47%, biology 43% and 46%, geography 45% and 41%, history 49% and 52%, civics 44% and 43%. The school does not publish IB Diploma results.
Where leavers go: University of Warsaw · Jagiellonian University · Warsaw University of Technology · Wrocław University of Science and Technology · SGH Warsaw School of Economics (SGH) · Medical University of Białystok · Medical University of Warsaw · Medical University of Gdańsk · AGH University of Krakow (AGH) · Oxford University · The University of Edinburgh · University of Glasgow and others, 26 universities in the school's list in all
The IB alumni page lists universities that programme graduates entered in 2020-2025; the school description also names Yale University and universities in Germany.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field
Campus: The liceum and Primary School no. 53 share one building at ul. Narewska 11, built in 1971 and extended with a new wing in 2014. In the 2024/2025 school year a multi-purpose assembly hall with 209 seats and a canteen opened. There are computer, language, chemistry, biology and physics rooms, some classrooms are air-conditioned, and all have computers, projectors, interactive boards and monitors; a library with an online catalogue, a coworking room and a multimedia information centre. For sport there is a full-size gym, indoor and outdoor fitness rooms, an exercise room and a multi-purpose pitch. Every student has a textbook locker; there is a nurse's office, a contracted dentist, offices of the pedagogue, psychologist and careers adviser, and a school café. Lunch in the canteen costs 9 zloty a day. It is a day school with no boarding.
Clubs and activities: Architecture Classes · Robotics · Chess Club · Ballroom Dance · Journalism Club · Photography Club · 2 LO TV · Wi-Fi School Newspaper · IB Times · Volunteering Club · Philosophy Club · Olympiad Clubs · Italian, Spanish and Chinese Language Courses · Volleyball · Basketball · Table Tennis · Futsal · Athletics · Sport Shooting · Speed Skating · Karate · Swimming · Badminton · Handball

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
✓Teacher qualifications
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
What the listings show: The school says many teachers hold doctorates, are qualified to teach in bilingual and international classes and hold certificates of proficiency in English.
The staff page lists by name the head, deputies, IB DP and IB MYP coordinators, pedagogues, psychologists and subject teachers, including a native German teacher.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school has two psychologists, two pedagogues, a special education pedagogue and a careers adviser; the psychologists offer confidential individual consultations and group sessions on stress, preventing self-destructive behaviour, communication and learning. There is a permanent nurse's office and a contracted dentist for students up to 18.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
88
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
65
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
80
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
95
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

II Liceum Ogólnokształcące im. Mieszka I w SzczecinieSzczecin · 77.9Międzynarodowe Liceum Ogólnokształcące we WrocławiuWroclaw · 77.9International School of PoznanPoznan · 77.6Szczecin International SchoolSzczecin · 77.6