Ranking · Italy · Vigevano
← Back to the ranking

Istituto di Istruzione Superiore Caramuel - Roncalli

Italy Vigevano, Italy · est. 1965 · State
Illustration · Vigevano
73.8#71 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Istituto di Istruzione Superiore "Caramuel - Roncalli" is a state upper secondary school in Vigevano (province of Pavia), formed in 2015 by merging the technical institute ITIS "G. Caramuel", the vocational institute IPSIA "V. Roncalli" and the commerce and tourism vocational institute "F. Castoldi". The technical institute opened on 1 October 1965 as a branch of ITIS "Cardano" in Pavia and became independent in 1976-1977. Today it offers an istituto tecnico (electronics and automation, mechanics and mechatronics, IT, chemistry and health biotechnology), a liceo scientifico opzione scienze applicate, including a Cambridge section since 2018-2019, vocational tracks (technical maintenance, commercial services), regional vocational courses and evening courses. In the Cambridge section some science and 20th-century history lessons are taught in English by native speakers; the rest of the teaching is in Italian. There are 1116 students; about 13% were born abroad.

Key facts

Tuition
Free
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE · National programme
Admits from
14 years
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
School website
Students
1116
About the fees State school: tuition is free, as in all scuole statali.
Admissions The school is state-run: first-year enrolment is through the national Iscrizioni online system; the Cambridge section of the liceo has a separate enrolment form for the Cambridge IGCSE course. The school admits foreign students, including those arriving at the start or during the school year: dedicated coordinators in all three buildings handle their reception and support and plan help together with language mediators; there are Italian as a second language courses and study support from retired teachers for foreign students.
Stages and year groups Grades 1-5 (scuola secondaria di secondo grado). Five-year courses ending with the esame di Stato: istituto tecnico - Elettronica ed Elettrotecnica (Automazione), Meccanica Meccatronica ed Energia, Informatica e Telecomunicazioni, Chimica Materiali e Biotecnologie (Biotecnologie Sanitarie); liceo scientifico opzione scienze applicate (no Latin, with IT) and its Cambridge section; istituto professionale - Manutenzione e assistenza tecnica, Servizi commerciali; three-year regional vocational courses (photovoltaic electrician, tourist reception operator); evening courses. Cambridge section of the liceo: in years 1-4, 2 extra hours a week in English with native speakers - in year 1 language and writing, then one hour of science (chemistry, physics or earth science in rotation) and one hour of 20th-century history; a native speaker also co-teaches one hour a week with the Italian teacher. The course ends with Cambridge IGCSE exams in History and Combined Science in the summer between years 4 and 5.

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · IGCSE · authorised programme
The Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge IGCSE. The applied sciences liceo's Cambridge section adds 2 weekly hours with native speakers in years 1-4, leading to IGCSE exams in History and Combined Science after year 4.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Where leavers go: University of Pavia · University of Eastern Piedmont
According to the PTOF, more than 90% of applied sciences liceo graduates enrol at university and 70% pass the first year; most choose technical and science fields, fewer economics, statistics, humanities and health. The preferred universities are in Pavia and Milan, and in the last three years increasingly the University of Eastern Piedmont. About a third of technical institute graduates go on to university.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Makerspace
Campus: The main building on via Segantini, built by the province from 1988, and a separate building for the Castoldi vocational institute on via Matteotti. According to the PTOF 2025-2028: 26 internet-connected labs - three chemistry, six computer, six mechanical, two each for electronics, electrical engineering, technical drawing and languages, a physics lab, a hydroponic system and a robotics lab, with about 220 PCs and tablets; two libraries, an assembly hall and two gyms (the second recently built by the province). All classrooms have interactive whiteboards. The school is a Cisco academy (IT Essentials courses). It is a day school with no boarding.
Clubs and activities: Cisco Networking Academy - IT Essentials · Creative MEC.LAB · Erasmus+ · Cambridge English Preparation Centre - PET, FCE, CAE

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
✓Number of teachers172
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
According to the PTOF 2025-2028 the school has 172 teachers. In the Cambridge section lessons in English are taught by native speakers; the school encourages B2 and C1 language certification for teachers to teach with CLIL and Cambridge methods.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
The school runs an information and counselling centre with a psychologist: a drop-in service for students, also open to teachers and parents, and themed sessions with classes, including on drug prevention; it works against bullying and cyberbullying.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
72
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
70
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
65
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
70
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
75
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
70
Value for money (6%)
95
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Istituto di Istruzione Superiore A.M. de' LiguoriSant Agata de Goti · 73.8Scuola EuropaMilan · 73.8Scuola Internazionale Europea Statale "Altiero Spinelli"Turin · 73.8Liceo Scientifico «Giacomo Ulivi»Parma · 73.7