← Back to the rankingI.I.S.S. "Publio Virgilio Marone"

Vico del Gargano, Italy · est. 1968 · State
Illustration · Vico del Gargano
I.I.S.S. Publio Virgilio Marone (Virgilio) in Vico del Gargano is a state upper secondary school (scuola statale) in the north of the Gargano peninsula. It opened on 1 September 1968 as a branch of the M. Tondi liceo-ginnasio of San Severo, became independent in the 1975-1976 school year, has occupied its building in Contrada Maddalena since 2005-2006, and since 2016-2017 has been a multi-track institute. It now runs a liceo classico (with a biomedical section under the ministry project Biologia con curvatura biomedica), a liceo scientifico, a liceo linguistico (since the 2025-2026 school year), a vocational agriculture track (day and evening) and a vocational dental technician track. Since the 2022-2023 school year the liceo scientifico has a Cambridge course: Mathematics and Geography in English and an extra hour of English as a second language; in the first three years the content of these subjects follows Cambridge IGCSE syllabuses, and in years 4-5 it returns to the Italian programme for the esame di Stato. Other lessons are in Italian. The school is the province of Foggia lead school for inclusion.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE · National programme
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
About the fees The school is state-run and charges no tuition; no surcharge for the Cambridge course is named on the pages read.
Admissions A state school: enrolment in the first year is online via the national Unica platform within the ministry dates (for the 2026-2027 school year, from 13 January to 21 February 2026); for enrolment in the liceo scientifico, including the Cambridge course, the site advises contacting the school office. The site does not describe a separate selection for the Cambridge course.
Stages and year groups Liceo classico (with a biomedical section), liceo scientifico (traditional and Cambridge course), liceo linguistico with three foreign languages (since 2025-2026), an istituto professionale in agriculture, rural development and forestry (day and evening) and an istituto professionale for dental technicians. All five-year programmes end with the esame di Stato. Cambridge: the liceo scientifico course since 2022-2023 - Mathematics and Geography in English (co-taught with an English teacher) and an extra hour of English as a second language; in years 1-3 the content follows Cambridge IGCSE syllabuses, in years 4-5 the Italian programme. IGCSE exams are not explicitly named on the pages read. The school is also a Cambridge English Preparation Centre.
Address Contrada Maddalena snc, 71018 Vico del Gargano (FG)
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · IGCSE · authorised programmeThe Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge IGCSE. The science liceo's Cambridge course teaches Mathematics and Geography in English to IGCSE syllabuses in years 1-3, plus an extra hour of English as a Second Language.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities
The school does not describe its premises on its website.
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school is the province of Foggia lead school for inclusion and was formerly a lead school for integrating students with disabilities; the site has a section for an autism support service (sportello autismo).
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country