Liceo Classico Statale «Francesco Vivona» is a state classical liceo in Rome's EUR district, one of the largest schools in Rome offering only the classical course: two sites, 1110 students in 47 classes (more than 1200 according to the presentation page), more than 110 teachers and staff. Lessons are in Italian under the liceo classico curriculum ending with the esame di Stato; besides the standard plan there is a section with extra mathematics and science and three Cambridge Assessment International Education sections, where four subjects are taught in English with the support of visiting specialists: Geography, Chemistry, English as a Second Language and Classical Studies. The school names as its aims bridging humanities and sciences, methodological innovation and international openness; the ministry has recognised it as an example of best practice in teacher training.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE · National programme
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
About the fees Tuition at the state liceo is free. The pages reviewed say nothing about a voluntary contribution or a surcharge for the Cambridge sections.
Admissions After completing lower secondary school (scuola secondaria di primo grado), students enrol in the first year through the state online procedure within the dates announced by the ministry, usually in November; the CAIE sections and the extra mathematics section are options within the same liceo. The pages reviewed say nothing about selection for the Cambridge sections or about admitting foreign students.
Stages and year groups 47 classes. Italian state liceo classico curriculum, 5 years, ending with the esame di Stato. Curriculum options: standard, a section with extra mathematics and science (experimental work in the subjects) and three Cambridge Assessment International Education (CAIE) sections with four subjects taught in English - Geography, Chemistry, English as a Second Language, Classical Studies - with the support of visiting specialists. The page reviewed does not specify the stages (IGCSE, AS and A Level), the years in which these subjects are taught or whether exams are taken; the CAIE timetable is published as a file that could not be read.
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · IGCSE · authorised programmeThe Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge IGCSE. Three Cambridge sections of the classical liceo teach geography, chemistry, English as a Second Language and Classical Studies in English.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school website is partly closed to automated reading: some pages return an anti-robot check instead of content.. We have asked the school for the data directly.
Facilities
The school website is partly closed to automated reading: some pages return an anti-robot check instead of content.. We have asked the school for the data directly.
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
According to the presentation page the liceo has more than 110 teachers, administrative and support staff. Cambridge section subjects are taught with visiting specialists. The ministry has awarded the school a best practice label for teacher training.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
The school website is partly closed to automated reading: some pages return an anti-robot check instead of content.. We have asked the school for the data directly.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country