← Back to the rankingInternational School Breda

Breda, Netherlands · est. 2011 · State
Illustration · Breda
International School Breda (ISB) is a partially state-funded Dutch International School for ages 4 to 18, opened in August 2011 with support from the Province of Noord-Brabant, the City of Breda and local businesses. The school is intentionally small, with just over 300 students. All levels follow IB programmes: primary (PYP1-PYP7) the Primary Years Programme, secondary (ages 11-18) the Middle Years Programme and the Diploma Programme. The language of instruction is English; all students learn Dutch: in primary at least two lessons a week with specialist teachers, in secondary as language and literature or as an acquired language. The school sits on an international campus next to the Dutch Mencia de Mendoza Lyceum and calls itself a Language Friendly School that supports students' home languages.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $9 673–10 352 a year
8 562–9 163 EUR
Programmes
IB · PYP, MYP, DP
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Dutch, French, Spanish
Registration fee
≈ $452
400 EUR
About the fees Fees for 2026-2027 per child: primary PYP1-PYP7 8562 EUR (mandatory lunch included), secondary MYP 8562 EUR, Diploma Programme DP1-2 9163 EUR, DP2 exams 750 EUR extra. Payment in full by 1 August 2026, in two instalments or in six equal instalments from August 2026 to January 2027; company payments in full only. Mid-year starters pay a reduced monthly share. The school is partially state-funded and charges fees within a range agreed with the ministry.
Admissions Under Dutch law an international school admits: children from another country living in the Netherlands temporarily while their parents work here; Dutch children who have lived and gone to school abroad for at least two years because a parent worked abroad; Dutch children whose parent will be employed abroad within two years (an employer statement is required). Dutch International Schools may also offer the Diploma Programme to regular Dutch and Belgian students. Steps: registration of interest in the portal, an introductory meeting, an application with a 400 EUR fee, a passport copy, school reports and confirmation of eligibility, a decision by the admissions committee. MYP and DP applicants take English and Mathematics assessments at school, sometimes also in an additional language. Primary admits from age 4, with placement by age. Applicants resident in Belgium and those who have a place at a Dutch or Belgian school go on a waiting list and get places after others. For 2026-2027 places are confirmed in June and July, with a first-come-first-served waiting list.
Stages and year groups Grades PYP1-PYP7, MYP1-5, DP1-2. IB at all levels, in English: the Primary Years Programme in PYP1-PYP7 (from age 4 to 11, PYP1-2 may be a combined class, the PYP Exhibition in the final year), the Middle Years Programme in MYP1-5 (ages 11-16, English and Dutch for all, Spanish or French optional from MYP2, the personal project in MYP5), the Diploma Programme in DP1-2 (English, Dutch, French, Spanish, History, Environmental Systems and Societies, Economics, Business Management, Biology, Physics, Chemistry, two Mathematics courses, Visual Arts; one course can be replaced by a Pamoja online course). DP entry follows promotion criteria.
Address Mozartlaan 35, 4837 EH Breda
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · PYP, MYP, DP · authorised programmeThe school is listed in the IB register and runs the Primary Years, Middle Years and Diploma programmes.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: PYP (ages 3-12), MYP (ages 11-16), DP (ages 16-19). PYP is the primary stage, ages 3 to 12. It is not a set of subjects but a frame for the whole school: learning is built around lines of inquiry, and there are no exams at the end. MYP is the middle stage, ages 11 to 16. There are no exams here either; at the end an optional electronic assessment of pupils' work is possible. DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
✓Access control
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
The school has a safeguarding policy and an anti-bullying policy. In primary the inclusion coordinator is also the child protection officer and person of trust; there is a social and emotional counsellor. The school works with the youth nurse and doctor of the GGD West-Brabant health service and with the WIJS! Breda family support service. Building access and lockers use a school pass.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)95 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data85 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country