← Back to the rankingInternational School Eindhoven

Eindhoven, Netherlands · State
Illustration · Eindhoven
The International School Eindhoven (ISE) is a non-profit Dutch International School for students aged 4 to 18, partially funded by the Dutch government. It has two locations and three departments. The Primary International Department teaches in English to the core standards of the National Primary Curriculum from England in literacy and mathematics, with other subjects taught in themes; students take Dutch as a Foreign Language three times a week. The Secondary Department follows IB programmes: the Middle Years Programme for ages 11-16 and the Diploma Programme for ages 16-18, taught in English. The Primary Dutch Bilingual Department near the city centre follows the Dutch basisschool curriculum: 70% of lessons in Dutch and 30% in English; as of the 2026-2027 school year it is a candidate school for the IB PYP. The school reports over 1400 students and 200 teachers, 60 nationalities and more than 40 languages; it is accredited by CIS and the IB.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $7 558–10 694 a year
6 690–9 466 EUR
Languages of instruction
English, Dutch
Languages taught
French, Spanish
Class size
up to 22 students in Primary International, up to 24 in Primary Dutch Bilingual and Secondary
Registration fee
≈ $226
200 EUR
About the fees Annual fees for 2026-2027: Primary International 6690 EUR; Secondary: MP1-MP4 8569 EUR, MP5 8700 EUR, DP1 8951 EUR, DP2 9466 EUR. The Primary Dutch Bilingual Department charges no tuition; it asks for a voluntary parental contribution (ouderbijdrage) of 2499 EUR per year, and not paying it does not affect admission or participation. Fees can be paid at once or in ten monthly instalments from September to June; mid-year entrants pay pro rata. There are no sibling discounts and no scholarships.
Admissions Under Dutch legislation on international schools, the international departments (primary and secondary) admit: students of non-Dutch nationality with a parent temporarily employed in the Netherlands; Dutch students who have lived and attended school abroad for at least two years because a parent was stationed abroad; Dutch students whose parent will be stationed abroad within two years for at least two years (an employer statement is required). Students from the Dutch system with promotion to VWO 5 or a HAVO diploma may also apply for DP 1; sufficient fluency in English is required. Applications go through the admissions portal and an intake may be required; students can join at any time of the year if a place is available, and some year groups have a waiting list. Children who do not speak English are accepted and supported by the EAL programme. The Primary Dutch Bilingual Department serves local residents with Dutch or international backgrounds and international families planning a longer-term or permanent stay; it holds an intake with every new applicant and supports children without Dutch through a DAL programme. The school does not provide visa support.
Stages and year groups Grades Early Years, groep 2-8; MP1-MP5, DP1-DP2. Primary International (ages 4-11): Early Years from age 4 and groups 2-8, following the core standards of the National Primary Curriculum from England in literacy and mathematics, with theme-based units for other subjects. Secondary (ages 11-18): the IB Middle Years Programme, years MP1-MP5, followed by the two-year IB Diploma Programme (DP1-DP2), all in English. Primary Dutch Bilingual (ages 4-12, groups 1-8): the Dutch national curriculum (Kerndoelen Primair Onderwijs), 70% of lessons in Dutch and 30% in English, an IB PYP candidate as of the 2026-2027 school year. The school does not mention Cambridge International courses.
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · MYP, DP · authorised programmeCIS · accreditationThe school is listed in the IB register and runs the Middle Years and Diploma programmes. The international primary school follows the English National Curriculum. The school is accredited by CIS.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: MYP (ages 11-16), DP (ages 16-19). MYP is the middle stage, ages 11 to 16. There are no exams here either; at the end an optional electronic assessment of pupils' work is possible. DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →CISCouncil of International Schools
It accredits international schools and is a paying association at the same time. It examines governance and ownership, the curriculum, teaching, student wellbeing, staff and premises; a team of volunteers from other CIS accredited schools visits the school. Membership and accreditation are different things here, and schools confuse them more often than anything else.
What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field
Clubs and activities: Basketball · Volleyball · Badminton · Football · Cross Country Running · Boxing · American Kenpo · Coding · Drama · Choir
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
✓Number of teachers200
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
The school reports 200 teachers for over 1400 students. The support team includes student coaches, counsellors, coordinators, learning support teachers, school nurses, teaching assistants and year tutors in secondary; there are dedicated EAL and DAL teachers.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
·Counsellornot stated on the website
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
The school has a Child Protection and Safeguarding Policy developed under Dutch law, the regulations of its foundation and the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child; all staff must know the signs of abuse and the reporting procedures, and applicants undergo rigorous recruitment checks. There is an anti-bullying policy with support for the victim and restorative practices for the perpetrator. The student support team includes school nurses and counsellors.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)88 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data70 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)90 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data75 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country