← Back to the rankingNord Anglia International School Rotterdam

Rotterdam, Netherlands · est. 1959 · Private
Illustration · Rotterdam
Nord Anglia International School Rotterdam (NAISR) is a private international day school for children aged 3 to 18. It opened in 1959 with 15 English-speaking students and one teacher, grew with American military and expat families, became the first school in Europe accredited by the European Council of International Schools in 1982, and moved to its current campus in 1995. Today more than 230 students from over 35 countries attend. The language of instruction is English; all students study a second language every day (Dutch as a native or foreign language, and in secondary also Spanish). Programmes: International Early Years Curriculum for ages 3-5, International Primary Curriculum for ages 5-11, International Middle Years Curriculum and the school's own Pre-IB programme for ages 11-16; at 16-18 the IB Diploma (first graduating class in 1999), from August 2025 the IB Career-related Programme with SUMAS, or the school's own NAISR High School Diploma.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $18 415–27 678 a year
16 300–24 500 EUR
Programmes
IB · DP, CP · IPC · IMYC
Admits from
3 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Dutch, Spanish
Class size
an average of 17 students per class: 10 in early years, 18 in primary, 14 in secondary
Registration fee
≈ $339
300 EUR
About the fees Fees for the 2026-2027 academic year (10 months): Foundation 1 and Foundation 2 16300 euros, Years 1-5 20650 euros, Year 6 21950 euros, Years 7-9 23600 euros, Years 10-11 24300 euros, Years 12-13 24500 euros; IB Diploma exams in Year 13 are charged separately per exam. Fees cover teaching, many extra-curricular activities and the MIT and UNICEF programmes. Fees are paid annually in advance by direct debit; new students pay everything within two weeks of accepting a place. The school offers no refunds under any circumstances. Scholarships are available for students aged 15-18.
Admissions The school admits children aged 3 to 18 all year round, with no application deadlines, but places are limited. Steps: enquiry to admissions, a school visit or virtual meeting, online application, documents (school reports in English for the last two years, for Year 13 entry the last three years, a copy of the child's passport), a recommendation from the current teacher, which the school requests itself; depending on circumstances a test, and always a short interview. The year group is confirmed after the documents are reviewed. Foundation 1 is from age 3 on 1 September (the child must be toilet trained), Foundation 2 from age 4, Year 1 from age 5. The school says everyone is welcome: it has children from more than 35 countries; children with limited English are supported by the English as an Additional Language (EAL) programme.
Stages and year groups Grades Foundation 1-2, Years 1-13. International Early Years Curriculum (IEYC) - Foundation 1-2, ages 3-5; International Primary Curriculum (IPC) - Years 1-6, ages 5-11; International Middle Years Curriculum (IMYC) - Years 7-9; the school's own NAISR Pre-IB programme - Years 10-11; in Years 12-13 a choice of the IB Diploma Programme (six subjects, three at Higher Level, TOK, Extended Essay, CAS), the IB Career-related Programme from August 2025 with the Sustainability Management School (SUMAS), or the NAISR High School Diploma in two versions: Academic (at least 24 credits, required for universities in the US and Canada) and General with vocational elements. The language of instruction is English; in the IB, Language A in the native language and Language B in Dutch or Spanish.
Address Verhulstlaan 21, 3055 WJ Rotterdam
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · DP, CP · authorised programmeCIS · accreditationNEASC · accreditationNord Anglia Education · school is part of the networkThe school is listed in the IB register and runs the Diploma and Career-related programmes. The school is accredited by CIS. The school is accredited by NEASC.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19), CP (ages 16-19, with a vocational slant). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate. CP is the final stage with a vocational slant, ages 16 to 19: some of the DP subjects plus an applied qualification. It is meant for those heading into a trade or an applied degree rather than an academic one.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →CISCouncil of International Schools
It accredits international schools and is a paying association at the same time. It examines governance and ownership, the curriculum, teaching, student wellbeing, staff and premises; a team of volunteers from other CIS accredited schools visits the school. Membership and accreditation are different things here, and schools confuse them more often than anything else.
What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →NEASCNew England Association of Schools and Colleges
An American accreditation working since 1885. For international schools it uses an approach where the visitors look first at live lessons rather than at folders of paperwork: the team works in the school for about a week. It is the only one here whose public directory honestly separates accredited schools from candidates.
What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →IPC
International Primary Curriculum: a British primary school programme for children aged 5 to 11. It teaches through themes that draw subjects together rather than through separate subjects; it is published by the International Curriculum Association, formerly Fieldwork Education.
What this means for this school. This is a programme for the primary stage, not an accreditation of the school: the organisation sells it to schools and trains their teachers, but it does not check the quality of teaching at a particular school and keeps no public register of the schools working to it. There is no outside register to check it against, so the entry comes from the school's own words or from the record of its accrediting organisation. The programme has no leaving certificate: at the end of primary school a child moves on to the middle stage, and it is that stage which decides what they finish with.
IMYC
International Middle Years Curriculum: the continuation of IPC for the middle school, ages 11 to 14. The same organisation and the same thematic frame, only for teenagers.
What this means for this school. As with IPC, this is a programme for one stage rather than an accreditation of the school, and the organisation keeps no public register of the schools working to it. The entry comes from the school's own words or from the record of its accrediting organisation. The programme has no leaving certificate of its own: after it the school takes a pupil on to a final stage - IGCSE, A-Level, IB or a national programme - and that is what to look at.
Nord Anglia Educationschool network
A group of international schools of the full cycle, day and boarding. The numbers on its site diverge: the "About Nord Anglia" page speaks of 89 schools in 37 countries, the "Our schools" and "Our global network" pages - of 90, the "All schools" page - of "90+"; pupils are more than 100,000 everywhere. Whether the group owns the schools, manages them under contract or gives its methodology under licence is not said on its pages. The year of foundation and the country of registration are not named there.
What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
Average IB score
36.9 (world average 30.88)
Exam results IB Diploma: 100% pass rate for the classes of 2021, 2022, 2023 and 2024. The 2021 average score was 36.9, 10% above the global average and the best in the school's history; in 2021 30% of students scored 40 points or more. The school says every year some students achieve 40 points or more. The school does not publish more recent average scores.
Where leavers go: Eindhoven University of Technology
The school says that all 2021 graduates were accepted by their first-choice university, including TU Eindhoven and Amsterdam, and that graduates attend top universities in the UK, the US and mainland Europe; there is no full list of universities on the website.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio · Playground · Makerspace
Clubs and activities: School orchestra · Choir · Football club · Volleyball and basketball teams · Dance club · Ballet · Yoga club · Eco club · Kindness club · Maths club · Newspaper club · Lego club (Lego) · Science Club · Stop Motion Studio · STEM Works: Robotics & Engineering Club · Model United Nations · Student Council
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
The school states a ratio of 1 teacher to 7 students (1 to 8 in early years, 1 to 9 in primary, 1 to 6 in secondary). Teachers are highly qualified with experience in international schools and stay on average 7 years; they train on the Nord Anglia University platform and in International Baccalaureate programmes.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The pastoral care team includes specially trained teachers, a nurse and safeguarding experts. Every day starts with the Core Values Programme, there is a House system, a learning support programme and an EAL team. Primary students are taught digital citizenship: how to use the internet and social media safely.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)85 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data80 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data60 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)95 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data80 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country