← Back to homeInternational School of Belgium

Aartselaar, Belgium · est. 1979 · Private
Illustration · Aartselaar
International School of Belgium (ISBe) is a private international day school in Aartselaar, south of Antwerp, founded in 1979 and part of the Indian DY Patil education group. The school runs from Early Years to Class 12: the International Early Years Curriculum with the UK Letters and Sounds and Abacus programmes in preschool, the International Primary Curriculum with Cambridge English and Cambridge Maths in primary, the Cambridge programme with Checkpoint exams in Classes 6-8, Cambridge IGCSE in Classes 9-10 and the IB Diploma Programme in Classes 11-12. "English is the main language for communication in school"; the IEYC, IPC, Cambridge and IB programmes are taught in English. Dutch is taught from Grade 1 and French from Grade 4. Class sizes are limited to 20 in preschool and 25 in Grades 1-10. According to the Head of Secondary, last year's IBDP students achieved an average of 36 points against a world average of 30.58. School runs from 8:30 to 15:30; from Class 4 every student has a Chromebook.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $15 082–27 001 a year
13 350–23 900 EUR
Programmes
IB · DP · Cambridge · Primary, Lower Secondary, IGCSE · IPC
Admits from
3 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Dutch, French
About the fees Annual tuition for the 2026-2027 academic year: Early Years 1 and 2 (full day) 13350 euros, Early Years 3 and Classes 1-3 17060, Classes 4-6 18650, Classes 7-8 20700, IGCSE (Classes 9-10) 23900, IBDP (Classes 11-12) 23900 euros. Fees can be paid in three instalments: 40% by 26 May 2026, 40% by 25 September 2026 and 20% by 25 January 2027. A 5% early bird discount applies to full payment in advance, and a 10% sibling discount applies to the second and subsequent children. The fees include a 3% indexation increase, two day trips, books and reading materials, and IGCSE exam fees.
Admissions Admission takes three steps: a campus visit arranged with the Admissions Department, an online application with documents, then class allocation and an enrolment acceptance letter, depending on availability. Students can also join during the year, with reduced fees: 40% off in January or February, 60% in March, 70% in April and 80% in May and June. IBDP students are admitted according to academic ability. Students who need English as an Additional Language (EAL) or Special Educational Needs (SEN) support receive it for an additional fee. Scholarships are offered in certain cases to high school students who excel academically, after a meeting with the Admissions team.
Stages and year groups Grades Early Years 1-3, Classes 1-12. Early Years 1-3: International Early Years Curriculum (IEYC) with the UK Letters and Sounds and Abacus Maths programmes. Classes 1-5: International Primary Curriculum (IPC) with Cambridge Primary English and Cambridge Primary Mathematics. Middle School, Classes 6-8: the Cambridge programme for Mathematics, English and Science with Checkpoint exams. Classes 9-10: Cambridge IGCSE (English Language and Literature, French or Dutch, Business Studies, Economics, Geography, Global Perspectives, History, Co-ordinated Sciences, International and Additional Mathematics, Art and Design). Classes 11-12: IB Diploma Programme with six subjects, CAS, TOK and the Extended Essay; drama students sit LAMDA exams.
Address Kontichsesteenweg 40, 2630 Aartselaar
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · DP · authorised programmeCambridge · Primary, Lower Secondary, IGCSE · authorised programmeNEASC · accreditationCOBIS · accreditationThe IB register lists the Diploma Programme at the school, and the Cambridge register names it as a Cambridge centre. It was accredited by NEASC in 2024 and is therefore an accredited member of COBIS.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: Primary (ages 5-11), Lower Secondary (ages 11-14), IGCSE (ages 14-16). Primary is the primary stage, ages 5 to 11: English, mathematics and science to Cambridge syllabuses. At the end of the stage a school may run the optional Checkpoint test, which is marked in Cambridge. Lower Secondary is the middle stage, ages 11 to 14, with the same optional Checkpoint test at the end. IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →NEASCNew England Association of Schools and Colleges
An American accreditation working since 1885. For international schools it uses an approach where the visitors look first at live lessons rather than at folders of paperwork: the team works in the school for about a week. It is the only one here whose public directory honestly separates accredited schools from candidates.
What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →COBISCouncil of British International Schools
An association of British schools abroad with a quality inspection of its own. It has nine membership categories, and the word "accredited" appears in seven of them, although COBIS does its own inspection in one: in the rest it recognises an accreditation granted by somebody else.
What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →IPC
International Primary Curriculum: a British primary school programme for children aged 5 to 11. It teaches through themes that draw subjects together rather than through separate subjects; it is published by the International Curriculum Association, formerly Fieldwork Education.
What this means for this school. This is a programme for the primary stage, not an accreditation of the school: the organisation sells it to schools and trains their teachers, but it does not check the quality of teaching at a particular school and keeps no public register of the schools working to it. There is no outside register to check it against, so the entry comes from the school's own words or from the record of its accrediting organisation. The programme has no leaving certificate: at the end of primary school a child moves on to the middle stage, and it is that stage which decides what they finish with.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
Average IB score
36 (world average 30.88)
Exam results According to the Head of Secondary in a newsletter at the end of the 2025-2026 academic year, last year's IBDP students achieved an average of 36 points against a world average of 30.58. The school does not publish IGCSE results.
Facilities from the school's official website
✓Swimming pool
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Playground
Clubs and activities: Basketball · Swimming · Baseball · Gymnastics · Dance · Cricket · Volleyball · Hockey · Badminton · Football · Drama Club · Choir · Coding · Model United Nations · The Duke of Edinburgh's International Award · Student Council · House System · LAMDA
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
Class sizes are limited to 20 in preschool and 25 in Grades 1-10. Preschool has fully qualified English speaking staff with PE and Music specialists; primary has specialist teachers for Dutch, French, music, sport and drama, and a teacher librarian. The school does not state the number of teachers.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
✓CCTV
·Security staffnot stated on the website
✓Access control
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
✓Staff training
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school has a Designated Safeguarding Team: the Head of Primary, the Head of Secondary and a PE teacher. Staff receive regular training and many hold a basic first aid qualification; the school has an arrangement with the UZA hospital for emergencies and works with the CHS centres in Antwerp and Brussels. Access to the site is monitored with video cameras recording 24 hours a day, adults are checked under Safer Recruitment guidelines, including police checks for all countries of residence. Emergency evacuation and lockdown processes are in place, along with PSHE lessons and mindfulness.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)84 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data80 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data85 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)100 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data85 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country