Ranking · Denmark · Kalundborg
← Back to the ranking

International School of Kalundborg

Denmark Kalundborg, Denmark · est. 2025 · State
Illustration · Kalundborg
71.0#28 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

The International School of Kalundborg (ISK) is a municipal international school in Kalundborg in north-west Zealand, one of Denmark's first international public schools. The municipality decided to establish it in October 2024, and the school opened in August 2025 for children of foreign nationals working in Kalundborg and for internationally minded local families. It operates under the law on municipal international schools (KIG) and is growing step by step: grades 0-7 opened in 2025, grades 0-8 run in 2026-2027, and grade 9 will be added in 2027. Teaching is bilingual: English, Mathematics, Science, Global Perspectives, History and Digital Literacy are taught in English under the Cambridge curriculum, while Danish, German, PE, Music, Art and Home Economics are taught in Danish under the Ministry of Education curriculum. Some classes are mixed-age. The school is next to Herredsåsen School and shares specialist rooms with it. Tuition is free.

Key facts

Tuition
Free
Programmes
Cambridge · Primary, Lower Secondary · National programme
Admits from
5 years
Languages of instruction
English, Danish
Languages taught
German
School website
Students
about 70 at the end of the 2025-2026 school year
About the fees Tuition is free: the school's FAQ states that the school programme is free of charge. Paid extras: the SFO after-school programme for grades 0-6 (morning 909 DKK, afternoon 1154 DKK, whole day 2063 DKK) and the school cafeteria.
Admissions Under the KIG law most places go to children of foreign nationals temporarily residing in Denmark for work; if there is spare capacity, Danish and other foreign children are admitted. Order of priority: children of foreign nationals temporarily resident for work, siblings of students, children of foreign nationals with long-term residence for work, children who attended daycare or school abroad or an international school in Denmark, children living in Kalundborg Municipality, then drawing lots. To enrol, families email the school and are invited to a meeting with the school leader to discuss whether the international programme is the right fit. There are no language requirements, but studying without Danish or English may be challenging. The school holds online information meetings for parents in English.
Stages and year groups In 2026-2027 grades 0-8 run in groups 0, 1-2, 3-4, 5-6, 7 and 8; grade 9 opens in 2027. In grades 0-3 English, Mathematics, Science and Digital Literacy are taught in English under Cambridge, and Danish, PE, Music and Art in Danish. In grades 4-9 Cambridge subjects are English, Mathematics, Combined Science, Global Perspectives, History and Digital Literacy; Danish curriculum subjects are Danish, German, PE, Music, Art and Design and Home Economics. In grades 8 and 9 students take a selection of the Danish FSA leaving exams; after grade 9 they can apply to pre-IB or Danish programmes.
Address Herredsåsen 5, 4400 Kalundborg

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · Primary, Lower Secondary · authorised programme
The Cambridge register names the school as its centre: this municipal bilingual school teaches its English-language subjects on the Cambridge curriculum. It opened in 2025; in 2026-2027 it runs grades 0-8.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: Primary (ages 5-11), Lower Secondary (ages 11-14). Primary is the primary stage, ages 5 to 11: English, mathematics and science to Cambridge syllabuses. At the end of the stage a school may run the optional Checkpoint test, which is marked in Cambridge. Lower Secondary is the middle stage, ages 11 to 14, with the same optional Checkpoint test at the end.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio · Playground · Makerspace
Campus: The school has its own building in Herredsåsen, Kalundborg, next to Skolen på Herredsåsen, with which it shares specialist rooms: a library, a cafeteria (paid), science labs, arts and crafts workshops, an art studio and a makerspace. Students use sports facilities, the Spiralen movement house and a nearby public swimming pool; recess is spent in the school building and on shared playgrounds and sports fields. The SFO after-school programme for grades 0-6 is run together with Herredsåsen School.
Source: isk.aula.dk

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
✓Teacher qualifications
✓Number of teachers9
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
What the listings show: for English teachers: at least two years of experience, English mother tongue or equivalent; Cambridge experience is an advantage
According to the board minutes, in 2025-2026 the school had 7 full-time teachers and 2 part-time teachers (shared with Herredsåsen School); 3 more full-time teachers are added for 2026-2027. The school hires teachers with at least two years of experience and native-level English; as part of the municipality it requires a criminal record check.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
A school nurse looks after students' health (vision and hearing screening, height and weight, consultations). Children with special needs are supported through the municipal PPR service with psychologists and other specialists, and children with dyslexia get an individual plan. The school follows the municipal youth policy, all municipal employees are subject to criminal record checks, and there is an emergency preparedness plan.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
72
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
70
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
70
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
75
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%)
95
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Odsherreds EfterskoleFarevejle · 71Ranum Efterskole CollegeRanum · 71Viborg International SchoolViborg · 70.9Lycée Français Prins HenrikFrederiksberg · 71.3