← Back to homeInternational School of Tallinn

Tallinn, Estonia · est. 2017 · Private
Illustration · Tallinn
The International School of Tallinn opened in September 2017 and runs from a new, purpose-built campus in the Ülemiste district next to the airport - part of the Ülemiste City ecosystem of the Mainor Group. Teaching is entirely in English, with a choice of German, Spanish or French as a second language, and Estonian introduces children to the local language. The school is authorised for all three IB programmes - the PYP, the MYP and the Diploma - and currently has more than 350 students from over 50 countries, with class sizes of 14 to 24. The staff numbers more than 60 teachers from over 20 countries, including holders of master's and doctoral degrees and international teaching certificates (CELTA, TESOL, PGCE). The building has a multi-sport hall for basketball, volleyball and football, separate rooms for art, chemistry, physics and biology, its own library connected to Estonia's public library system, and two dining spaces - one for the younger grades and one for the senior school. Access to the site is by an e-student card that also serves as a pass through the school gates. After lessons more than twenty clubs run by age stage - from a book club and robotics in primary school to podcasting and video production in the senior school.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $11 094–14 969 a year
9 550–12 885 EUR
Programmes
IB · PYP, MYP, DP
Admits from
3 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Estonian, French, Spanish, German
About the fees The fee for the 2026-2027 school year depends on the stage and is split into a first instalment on enrolment and ten monthly payments; the annual total is the sum of these. Kindergarten: 9550 euros a year (first instalment 1550, then 800 a month). PYP primary school (grades 1-5): 11715 euros (first instalment 2346, then 1041 a month). MYP middle school (grades 6-10): 12460 euros (first instalment 2488, then 1108 a month). The diploma stage (grades 11-12): 12885 euros (first instalment 2580, then 1145 a month). The fee excludes extracurricular activities, aftercare, ESL lessons, some trips and events outside the school's annual budget, and pupils' personal supplies. The site does not state the exact amount of the registration fee, only that it is non-refundable.
Admissions The school takes children of foreign company employees, children who previously attended international schools abroad, and anyone who wants to study in English - nationality is not a factor. The minimum age is 3 for kindergarten and 6 for grade 1 as of 31 August of the entry school year. Admission runs through an application, an interview and a trial day; grades 6 to 10 additionally sit English and maths tests and submit grades from the previous two years, and grades 11 to 12 sit English and maths tests plus an interview. The decision also depends on whether a place is free in that grade.
Stages and year groups Grades kindergarten from age 3 to grade 12 (DP), up to age 19. The stages run straight through: kindergarten from age 3, the PYP - grades 1-5, the MYP - grades 6-10, and the diploma - grades 11-12. Class size ranges from 14 to 24 students.
Address Valukoja 9, Tallinn
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · PYP, MYP, DP · authorised programmeCIS · membershipNEASC · accreditationschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: PYP (ages 3-12), MYP (ages 11-16), DP (ages 16-19). PYP is the primary stage, ages 3 to 12. It is not a set of subjects but a frame for the whole school: learning is built around lines of inquiry, and there are no exams at the end. MYP is the middle stage, ages 11 to 16. There are no exams here either; at the end an optional electronic assessment of pupils' work is possible. DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →CISCouncil of International Schools
It accredits international schools and is a paying association at the same time. It examines governance and ownership, the curriculum, teaching, student wellbeing, staff and premises; a team of volunteers from other CIS accredited schools visits the school. Membership and accreditation are different things here, and schools confuse them more often than anything else.
What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to this organisation but has not been through its accreditation. The difference matters: membership is usually paid for and has no external inspection behind it. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →NEASCNew England Association of Schools and Colleges
An American accreditation working since 1885. For international schools it uses an approach where the visitors look first at live lessons rather than at folders of paperwork: the team works in the school for about a week. It is the only one here whose public directory honestly separates accredited schools from candidates.
What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →Exams and destinations from the school's official website
Where leavers go: London Film Academy · University of Bath · University College London · University of York · Maastricht University · Tallinn University of Technology
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio · Playground
Campus: A new, purpose-built campus in the Ülemiste district (Ülemiste City) next to Tallinn Airport, easily reached by public transport. A multi-sport hall for basketball, volleyball and football, rooms for art, chemistry, physics and biology, and safe outdoor playground areas. Two dining spaces - one for the younger grades with fresh food prepared daily, and the Assembly Hall for the senior school. The library is connected to Estonia's public library system. Entry to the site is by e-student card.
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The school has more than 60 teachers from over 20 countries - roughly two-thirds women and one-third men - with more than 25 master's degrees and 5 doctoral degrees, and staff holding the international CELTA, TESOL and PGCE certificates. Class size ranges from 14 to 24 students. The school does not state the pupil-teacher ratio as a number.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
✓Access control
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
Pupils enter the school grounds with an e-student card that also serves as a pass through the school gates. The school has a staff nurse (available Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday) and a school counsellor available for any social, emotional or behavioural issue. No separate child-protection document, nor any mention of security staff or CCTV, appears on the pages read.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)95 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data70 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data75 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)90 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data80 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country