Ranking · Germany · Reinsdorf
← Back to the ranking

Internationales Gymnasium Reinsdorf

Germany Reinsdorf, Germany · Private
Illustration · Reinsdorf
71.8#69 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Internationales Gymnasium Reinsdorf (IGR) is a private Gymnasium in Reinsdorf near Zwickau (Saxony), a state-recognised Ersatzschule: it teaches to the Saxon curriculum and its graduates sit the same state Abitur as other Gymnasien in the state. The Gymnasium is an authorised IB school and has offered the IB Diploma since the 2015-2016 school year: after grade 10 Gymnasium students can take it alongside the Abitur, and preparation courses run in grades 9-10. The main language of instruction is German; in the IB Diploma German is the first language and English or Spanish the acquired language; some lessons in other subjects are taught in English. English and Spanish are compulsory from grade 5, and a third language can be chosen in grade 8; students take telc exams in English and Spanish. The Gymnasium emphasises economics and careers education: company placements from grade 5, practical lessons in a workshop and a life skills programme. It is a day school with supervision and clubs until 16:00 and school uniform; it runs the grade 5-6 orientation stage jointly with the neighbouring Internationale Oberschule Reinsdorf.

Key facts

Tuition
Price on request
Programmes
IB · DP · National programme
Languages of instruction
German
Languages taught
English, Spanish, French, Russian
Registration fee
≈ $169
150 EUR
About the fees The school charges a monthly Schulbeitrag but does not publish the amount and asks families to enquire by phone at the school.
Admissions Registration for grade 5 takes place in February with a Gymnasium recommendation (Bildungsempfehlung): required are the original, copies of the grade 4 mid-year report, the grade 3 report and the birth certificate, proof of measles vaccination, information on dyslexia or special needs, an admission fee of 150 EUR in cash, the signed school contract in two copies and a SEPA mandate. Places are allocated by application date and academic performance, with priority for siblings of students at the organisation's schools; a place is secured by contract. Transfers from grade 7 are possible by stating the grade and school type. The IB Diploma is open to graduates of grade 10 of an Oberschule or Gymnasium; under the admissions policy no particular grade average is required, and the process includes an interview with the leadership and the IB coordinator, trial days and a committee decision. Students whose first language is not German get extra German lessons and are temporarily exempt from grading.
Stages and year groups Grades 5-12. A Gymnasium following the Saxon curriculum leading to the Abitur after grade 12; grades 5-6 are a joint orientation stage with the Oberschule, with differentiation by school type from grade 7. IB Diploma Programme since the 2015-2016 school year: after grade 10, for Gymnasium students alongside the Abitur; six subjects (three at SL and three at HL) from the groups German Language A, language acquisition (for example English or Spanish), individuals and societies (for example history), sciences (for example biology, chemistry), mathematics and the arts (for example Visual Arts), plus the Extended Essay, TOK and CAS; written exams in April and May of grade 12. Grades 9-10 have IB preparation courses with lessons in English. There is no Cambridge or Pearson programme.

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

IB · DP · authorised programme
The school is listed in the IB register and runs the Diploma Programme. The IB track runs inside a German Gymnasium: in the upper grades students take the IB Diploma alongside the Abitur.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field
Clubs and activities: Gesellschaftsspiele (board games) · Musical · Football · Gitarre (guitar) · Imkern (beekeeping) · Keyboard/Klavier (keyboard and piano) · Kreativwerkstatt (creative workshop) · Flag Football · Eventtechnik (event technology) · Grüne Schule (green school) · Japanisch (Japanese) · Künstliche Intelligenz (artificial intelligence) · Choir · CNC-Fräsen (CNC milling) · Erste Hilfe (first aid)

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The school says native speakers from more than 30 countries teach in its bilingual programme and that teachers train regularly; there is an IB coordinator and a CAS coordinator. The website names the leadership, the trusted teachers, a counsellor and the librarian, but has no full staff list.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
Students elect trusted teachers every year, and there is a counselling teacher; house rules and the network's conflict management concept apply. The life skills programme covers anti-bullying and cyberbullying in grade 6 and violence and drug prevention in grade 7; there is a first aid club. Mobile phones are switched off during lessons.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
82
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
65
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
75
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%) scored at the median
84
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

SIS Swiss International School Stuttgart-FellbachFellbach · 71.7Felix-Klein-Gymnasium GöttingenGottingen · 71.9Städtisches Gymnasium St. Leonhard AachenAachen · 71.9Albert-Schweitzer-Gymnasium WolfsburgWolfsburg · 72