Istituto San Giuseppe is a Catholic paritaria school in Macerata for children aged 3 to 14: nursery, primary and middle school (scuola media). Its history begins in 1841, when the Marchesi Accorretti invited the Sisters of Saint Joseph to the city to open a charity school for girls; from the 1922-1923 school year it ran a teacher training school, a nursery and a primary school. The nursery and primary school gained paritaria status in the 2001-2002 school year; in 2015 a social cooperative was set up to open the middle school, and since the 2018-2019 school year it has run the whole school. Since the 2022-2023 school year it has been a Cambridge International School: in primary, native speakers teach Cambridge Primary English as a Second Language and Art and Design in English; in middle school, Cambridge Lower Secondary English as a Second Language and Global Perspectives, with Cambridge Checkpoint exams in these subjects. English with native speakers starts in nursery; primary and middle school also teach Spanish with a native speaker.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · Primary, Lower Secondary · National programme
Admits from
3 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
About the fees The school's payment letter (no year is given on the price list) states fees from September to June, payable by the 10th of each month: nursery 160 EUR per month, primary 205 EUR, middle school 260 EUR. On top of this, 130 EUR for activities by November and a 100 EUR heating contribution by January; after school care in primary or extended hours in nursery cost 15, 30 or 40 EUR per month for one, two or three days a week; lunches are paid by vouchers.
Admissions Enrolment is by the school's form for each level; an enrolment fee is paid with the form and is not refunded on withdrawal. Enrolment and payment for the following year are due by February. The form asks about the previous school, the child's citizenship (Italian or other) and the age of arrival in Italy if the child was born abroad; the school does not describe entrance tests. By enrolling, families accept the school's Christian character, its educational project and rules.
Stages and year groups Italian curriculum (paritaria; esame di Stato del primo ciclo at the end of middle school) with the Cambridge International programme since the 2022-2023 school year. Scuola dell'infanzia - groups for ages 3, 4 and 5, English with native speakers, Monday to Friday. Scuola primaria - Monday to Friday 8:00-12:50 plus two afternoons until 16:50; Cambridge Primary: English as a Second Language and Art and Design taught in English by native speakers, with Cambridge Primary Checkpoint exams in these subjects; Mathematics and Science partly in English. Scuola secondaria di primo grado - Monday to Friday 8:00-14:00; Cambridge Lower Secondary: English as a Second Language and Global Perspectives, with Cambridge Lower Secondary Checkpoint exams; preparation for Cambridge language certificates; Spanish with a native speaker.
Address Via Isonzo 2, 62100 Macerata (MC)
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · Primary, Lower Secondary · authorised programmeThe Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge Primary, Cambridge Lower Secondary. Primary pupils take Cambridge Primary ESL and Art and Design, middle-school pupils ESL and Global Perspectives, taught by native speakers and assessed with Checkpoint exams.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: Primary (ages 5-11), Lower Secondary (ages 11-14). Primary is the primary stage, ages 5 to 11: English, mathematics and science to Cambridge syllabuses. At the end of the stage a school may run the optional Checkpoint test, which is marked in Cambridge. Lower Secondary is the middle stage, ages 11 to 14, with the same optional Checkpoint test at the end.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Playground
Campus: A single building on Via Isonzo in Macerata, with a bus stop opposite the entrance. Classrooms with interactive whiteboards and tablets, its own kitchen and canteen, an equipped gym for lessons and afternoon activities, music rooms, rooms for workshops and after school care, a library, a performance space, a courtyard with a school garden and an outdoor classroom, an internal church, a hall for games and parties, a science (STEAM) laboratory and an infirmary. Early entry from 7:30; nursery runs until 13:00, 16:00 or 18:00, primary after school care until 16:50, and middle school has lunch from 14:00 to 15:00 and supervised study from 15:00 to 17:00.
Clubs and activities: Choir · Opera Project · Cinema Project · Theatre Workshops · STEAM Lab · Craft Workshops: Ceramics, Weaving, Basketry · Sports Festival · Christian Meditation
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The organisation chart names the head of school, her two deputies, the technical coordinator and the class coordinators of every nursery, primary and middle school class; Cambridge lessons are taught by native English speaking teachers, and Spanish by a native Spanish speaker.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The building has an infirmary; families sign an educational agreement (patto educativo di corresponsabilità), and written parental permission is required for a student to leave school alone.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data85 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 Value for money (6%) scored at the median95 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country