← Back to homeKauno Jono Jablonskio gimnazija

Kaunas, Lithuania · est. 1931 · State
Illustration · Kaunas
A public gymnasium named after the linguist Jonas Jablonskis has operated in Kaunas since 1931: the first school year began on 1 September 1931, and in 1997-1998 the school gained gymnasium status in the humanities and sciences. The gymnasium only admits from gymnasium grade I, that is grade 9 in the Lithuanian system, and teaches through graduation, so the whole school serves teenagers aged 14 to 19. Teaching is in Lithuanian and English; the upper grades run the International Baccalaureate MYP and DP programmes. The school has a museum of its own history, and its traditions include a ninetieth-anniversary celebration, Lithuanian Language Days, charity Christmas evenings and international conferences.
Key facts
Languages of instruction
Lithuanian
Admissions Admission to gymnasium grades I and II, grades 9-10, and grade III, grade 11, runs on priority lists through the imokykla.kaunas.lt system in two waves: 15 March to 27 May with decisions by 5 June, and 8 June to 15 August for remaining places. The documents state no citizenship restriction. The admission page states no explicit Lithuanian-language requirement, but Lithuanian, alongside English, is the language of instruction.
Address Aušros g. 3, LT-44173 Kaunas, Lietuva
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · MYP, DP · authorised programmeschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: MYP (ages 11-16), DP (ages 16-19). MYP is the middle stage, ages 11 to 16. There are no exams here either; at the end an optional electronic assessment of pupils' work is possible. DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities
There is no data for this section yet.
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The gymnasium has a psychologist, a social pedagogue and a career counsellor. No information about security, CCTV or a dedicated anti-bullying policy was found on the site.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)88 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data60 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country