← Back to homeKing's College School, Cascais

Cascais, Portugal · Private
Illustration · Cascais
A British school in Cascais belonging to the Inspired group, running the Cambridge programme from the age of one to eighteen. It sits on two sites: the early years stage and Years 1-2 at Rua Cesario Verde 395, and the primary school from Year 3 together with the secondary and senior school at Rua Doutor Manuel Antonio Costa Matos 164. The school opened its own 40,000 square metre campus in September 2025 and invested 75 million euros in it: a 25-metre competition-standard swimming pool, a full-sized football and rugby pitch, a sports pavilion with more than 400 spectator seats, two tennis courts and a basketball court, university-grade laboratories, a performance hall and music, drama and dance studios, as well as a boarding house with fifty places for pupils from thirteen to eighteen. Lessons are in English at every stage, while through Year 5 a bilingual English and Portuguese stream runs for those who want fluency in both; French and Spanish start in Years 3 and 4, and from Year 5 a pupil chooses French, Spanish or Portuguese. After IGCSE the main Sixth Form route is the International Baccalaureate Diploma, with A-Levels offered to selected pupils. The annual fee runs from 11754 euros in the Early Years groups to 21750 in Years 10 and 11 and includes lunch, snacks through Year 6, textbooks, local trips and insurance; boarding costs from 19950 to 23965 euros a year plus mandatory insurance of 1000 euros. An application costs 250 euros per family, and a place is secured by a fee of 2000 or 5000 euros depending on the stage. Entry goes through the CAT 4 cognitive test and an interview, and in the younger stages through a Stay & Play session and a conversation with the psychologist. There are the Inspired Scholarship and Nsouli Scholars programmes.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $13 655–25 267 a year
11 754–21 750 EUR
Programmes
IB · DP · Cambridge · Primary, IGCSE, A-Level
Admits from
1 year · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
English, Portuguese
Languages taught
French, Spanish
About the fees The annual fee is named by year group and is split into three termly instalments: Early Years 1-4 11754 euros (3918 a term), Years 1-2 15576 (5192), Years 3-5 17502 (5834), Years 6-9 18300 (6100), Years 10-11 21750 (7250). The fee includes a daily lunch, morning and afternoon snacks through Year 6, textbooks and educational materials, local day trips and pupil insurance; uniforms and extracurricular clubs are charged separately. Boarding costs 23965 euros a year for full boarding and 19950 for weekly boarding, plus mandatory health insurance of 1000 euros. Transport is 810 euros a month for morning and afternoon journeys and 405 euros for one direction, supervision from 17:00 to 18:00 is 100 euros a month, and English language and special educational needs support are 35 euros an hour.
Admissions The school takes children from the age of one into the Early Years groups and then through every stage up to Sixth Form. An application costs 250 euros per family and the fee is not refunded. In the Early Years groups and up to Year 2 there is no examination: the child is seen at a Stay & Play session and their wellbeing and readiness are assessed; from Year 1 to Year 6 an interview with the school psychologist is added, and from Year 3 and in the senior school the candidate takes the online CAT 4 cognitive ability test and an interview with reading comprehension and mathematics tasks - the school says outright that it looks at whether the pupil can cope with the demands of an academically ambitious school. A place is secured by the enrolment fee: 2000 euros in Early Years and Years 1-6, 5000 euros from Year 7. There are the Inspired Scholarship and Nsouli Scholars programmes. The school names no requirements as to nationality, residence or knowledge of Portuguese.
Stages and year groups Grades Early Years 1-4 (ages 1-5), Years 1-2, Years 3-6, Years 7-11, Sixth Form Years 12-13 (ages 16-18). The stages run as follows: Early Years from one to five, lower primary Years 1-2 from five to seven, upper primary Years 3-6 from seven to eleven, secondary Years 7-11 from eleven to sixteen and Sixth Form Years 12-13 from sixteen to eighteen. The programme is Cambridge: Inspired Early Years, Cambridge Primary, then IGCSE to Year 11. In Sixth Form the main route is the International Baccalaureate Diploma; the school offers A-Levels to selected pupils but does not intend to widen that subject offer. A bilingual English and Portuguese stream runs through Year 5.
Address Rua Doutor Manuel António Costa Matos 164, 2750-290 Cascais
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · DP · authorised programmeCambridge · Primary, IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programmeInspired · school is part of the networkschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: Primary (ages 5-11), IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). Primary is the primary stage, ages 5 to 11: English, mathematics and science to Cambridge syllabuses. At the end of the stage a school may run the optional Checkpoint test, which is marked in Cambridge. IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →Inspiredschool network
Inspired Education Group is a private school group founded in 2013. The group gives different figures on its own pages - 125 schools on some, "more than 100" on others - and we quote both: choosing for a group which of its own numbers is correct is not something we do. Its schools are in Europe, Latin America, Africa, the Middle East and Southeast Asia, and some of them keep their own historic names, such as King's College in Madrid and Riga. The group's site is inspirededu.com.
What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
✓Swimming pool
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
·Librarynot stated on the website
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
✓Boarding
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio
Campus: A purpose-built campus of 40 thousand square metres: a 25-metre competition-standard swimming pool, a full-sized football and rugby pitch, a sports pavilion with more than 400 spectator seats, two tennis courts, a basketball court, university-grade laboratories, a performance hall, music, drama and dance studios, a boarding house for pupils from the age of 13, green areas and outdoor learning spaces. 40,000 square metres, purpose-built, with 75 million euros invested
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)99 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)90 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data90 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country