← Back to the rankingLiceo Classico «Bernardino Telesio»

Cosenza, Italy · est. 1861 · State
Illustration · Cosenza
Liceo Classico «Bernardino Telesio» is the historic state classical liceo of Cosenza, founded in 1861 in the old town on the site of a Jesuit college and named after the sixteenth-century philosopher. Since the 1960s it has been in a building on Piazza XV Marzo. 846 students attend in 41 classes, many commuting from across the province. Lessons are in Italian under the state curriculum ending with the esame di Stato. Besides the standard classical liceo the school runs a European liceo (since 1993, with the Italian-French EsaBac double diploma), a biomedical course, a STEM and digital technologies course, arts, music and theatre, a four-year liceo and since 2016 a Cambridge course in two versions, International and Biomedical. In the Cambridge course 4 hours a week of subjects in English are added to the three hours of English, taught by native speakers or by subject teachers together with a native speaker; students sit IGCSE exams every two years and by the end of their studies obtain up to 5 IGCSE certificates, and the International version also includes Spanish. Every year Cambridge classes go on language study trips to English-speaking countries.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE · National programme
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
Languages taught
French, Spanish, Latin
About the fees Tuition at the state liceo is free. For all courses except Cambridge the school council set a voluntary contribution of 40 euros a year for the first child of a family only; in the Cambridge course this contribution is included in the compulsory course fee, which the school indicates without a figure. Insurance for outings is 9 euros.
Admissions Enrolment in the first year follows the state online procedure via Piattaforma Unica with SPID, CIE, CNS or eIDAS; the application may name two more schools in case places run out. The office helps with enrolment in person and by phone. The website does not describe a separate selection for Cambridge classes. Students from other countries attend the liceo, in small numbers, and the school notes that their Italian is on a par with the other students.
Stages and year groups 41 classes. Italian state liceo classico curriculum ending with the esame di Stato; in all courses one non-language subject is taught in a foreign language (CLIL). Courses: standard (27-31 hours a week), Liceo Classico Europeo with English and French and the EsaBac double diploma, biomedical, STEM and digital technologies, arts, music and theatre, a four-year liceo, Cambridge International and Cambridge Biomedical. Cambridge International (31-35 hours a week): IGCSE Travel and Tourism in years 1-2, 2 hours each, English as a Second Language in years 1-3, 2 hours each, Combined Science in years 3-4, 2 hours each, ICT in years 4-5, 2 hours each, plus Spanish. Cambridge Biomedical (31-36 hours a week): English as a Second Language in years 1-3, 2 hours each, Biology and Chemistry in years 1-2, one hour each, Combined Science in year 3, one hour, Global Perspectives in years 3-5 (1-2 hours), Physics in years 4-5, 2 hours each, medical and science subjects. IGCSE exams every two years, up to 5 IGCSE certificates by the end of studies; the course is taught by native speakers and subject teachers with a native speaker; supervised self-study time is offered after lessons.
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · IGCSE · authorised programmeThe Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge IGCSE. The Cambridge International and Cambridge Biomedical tracks add 4 hours a week of subjects in English with native speakers, from Travel and Tourism and ICT to biology, chemistry and physics, for up to 5 IGCSEs by graduation.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field
Clubs and activities: Reading Groups · Citizenship Workshops · Theatre · Music · Cinema · School TV · Journalism · Robotics · Debate · Language Courses · Sports Club
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
Cambridge course subjects are taught by native English speakers and by subject teachers together with a native speaker; native speakers are selected each year through an open call. In the European liceo tutors supervise students in the afternoon. The school does not give the number or qualifications of all teachers.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
For students with disabilities, special educational needs and learning disorders the school runs an inclusion working group (GLI) together with all teachers; after lessons Cambridge students have organised time for independent study at school.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data75 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country