Ranking · Italy · Latina
← Back to the ranking

Liceo Classico Statale «Dante Alighieri»

Italy Latina, Italy · est. 1937 · State
Illustration · Latina
72.1#138 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Liceo Classico Statale «Dante Alighieri» is a state classical liceo in the centre of Latina, opened in the 1937-1938 school year; since 1976 it has been in the building on Viale Mazzini. 619 students attend in 31 classes, many coming from nearby towns. Lessons are in Italian under the liceo classico curriculum ending with the esame di Stato; besides the standard course there are legal and economic and biomedical courses. In the 2014-2015 school year the liceo became the first in the province to gain Cambridge International School status, and since 2016 it has run the Liceo Classico Cambridge course: part of the Latin, mathematics, chemistry and English lessons follow IGCSE syllabuses with a native speaker, and over five years students sit IGCSE exams in English as a Second Language, Latin, Mathematics, Chemistry and Business Studies. Foreign students are fewer than 10%, mostly second generation. The school takes part in the Eco-Schools programme, Model United Nations (IMUN, MUNER) and classical language competitions.

Key facts

Tuition
Free
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE · National programme
Admits from
14 years
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
Languages taught
Latin
School website
Students
619
About the fees Tuition at the state liceo is free. Families pay a voluntary contribution of 100 euros a year (payable in two parts; in case of difficulty at least 10 euros for insurance and the electronic register). The Cambridge course has a separate course fee: for 2024-2025 the school council set 270 euros for all classes; the school indicates a more recent amount without a figure. An IGCSE exam costs 115 euros per subject.
Admissions Enrolment in the first year follows the state online procedure via the UNICA portal, including for the Cambridge course; during enrolment the office receives families who have difficulty with the portal every morning and on Tuesday and Thursday afternoons. The website does not describe a separate selection for the Cambridge class. The liceo has foreign students, fewer than 10%: the school writes that they are mostly second generation or have completed their whole schooling in Italy.
Stages and year groups 31 classes. Italian state liceo classico curriculum, 5 years, ending with the esame di Stato; courses: standard, legal and economic «Tina Lagostena Bassi», biomedical (since 2018-2019 with the Ordine dei Medici) and Liceo Classico Cambridge. Cambridge International (since 2016, only in Cambridge course classes): Latin in years 1-3 (one hour a week with a native speaker, in year 3 one more hour for up to 25 weeks), English as a Second Language in years 1-2 (+1 hour), Mathematics in years 1-2 (one hour with a native speaker, in year 2 +1 hour), Chemistry in years 3-4 (one hour with a native speaker); 28-31 hours a week. IGCSE exams: English as a Second Language in year 2, Mathematics at the end of year 2 or start of year 3, Latin in year 3, Chemistry and Business Studies in years 4-5; students register for exams by choice for a separate fee. In its history the school mentions authorisation for IGCSE, O Level and A Level, but the website shows no AS or A Level courses.
Address Viale Mazzini s.n.c., 04100 Latina

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · IGCSE · authorised programme
The Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge IGCSE. In the Cambridge track, Latin, maths, chemistry and English follow IGCSE syllabuses with a native speaker, and optional exams in years 2-5 also include Business Studies.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Makerspace
Clubs and activities: IMUN · MUNER · European Camp Brussels · Eco-School · Classical Languages Competitions · Introduction to Sports · Debate and Talks · Donne in Luce (film club on women's rights) · EPAS - European Parliament Ambassador School

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
In the Cambridge course some lessons are taught by the subject teacher together with a native-speaker language assistant, and some subjects by teachers whose first language is not Italian. The school describes its staff as stable and close-knit. The school does not give teacher numbers.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
The gym has a first aid room. A school psychological counselling desk offers individual talks. The school has an action plan against bullying and cyberbullying, a Carriera Alias regulation and rules for hospital and home schooling.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
72
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
75
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
75
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
95
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

École française Alexandre-Dumas de NaplesNaples · 72.1Liceo Scientifico Statale Galileo GalileiAncona · 72.1Collegio Arcivescovile CastelliSaronno · 72Istituto Comprensivo Luigi SettembriniRome · 72