Ranking · Italy · Maglie
← Back to the ranking

Liceo Classico Statale «Francesca Capece»

Italy Maglie, Italy · est. 1843 · State
Illustration · Maglie
71.5#166 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Liceo Classico Statale «Francesca Capece» in Maglie (province of Lecce) traces its history to 1843, when Duchess Francesca Capece donated her property to the Jesuits to promote the study of letters; later it became a municipal gymnasium with a boarding house and from 1888-1889 a liceo. Today it is a state liceo with 933 students in 47 classes and several courses: classical and scientific liceo (both with a Cambridge option), a sports scientific liceo, an EsaBac language liceo with the Italian-French double diploma and since 1995 an international language liceo with Spanish under an agreement between Italy and Spain, which also awards the Spanish Bachillerato. Lessons are in Italian; in the international liceo geography and history are partly taught in Spanish, in EsaBac history in French. Since 2020 the school has been a Cambridge International School: in Cambridge classes of the classical and scientific liceo 2 hours a week of Mathematics and Biology in English with a native speaker are added in years 1-2, and IGCSE exams are taken in years 3-4. The school is an exam centre for language certificates in English, French, Spanish, German and Chinese and takes part in Erasmus+ and eTwinning.

Key facts

Tuition
Free
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE · National programme
Admits from
14 years
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
Languages taught
Spanish, French, German, Chinese, Latin
School website
Students
933
About the fees Tuition at the state liceo is free. A significant part of the school's funds comes from voluntary parental contributions, whose amount the school gives without a figure; the Cambridge course pages and the PTOF say nothing about a surcharge for the course.
Admissions Students are admitted to the first year after completing lower secondary school (scuola secondaria di primo grado) through the state online enrolment procedure; the Cambridge course is chosen within the classical and scientific liceo, and parents of enrolled students are invited to a meeting at the start of the year. The website does not describe a separate selection for Cambridge classes. The PTOF mentions programmes for integrating foreign students and activities for students without Italian citizenship or with another first language.
Stages and year groups 47 classes. Italian state curriculum, 5 years, ending with the esame di Stato. Courses: liceo classico and liceo classico with the Cambridge option; liceo scientifico and liceo scientifico with the Cambridge option; liceo scientifico sportivo (since 2023-2024); liceo linguistico EsaBac (French language and literature 4 hours and history in French 2 hours in years 3-5, Italian diploma and French baccalauréat); experimental liceo linguistico internazionale with Spanish (Spanish 7 hours a week with native speakers, geography in year 2 and history in years 3-5 in Spanish, Italian diploma and Spanish Bachillerato; English and a third language, German or French). All courses offer a biomedical strand and CLIL. Cambridge International (since 2020-2021, in Cambridge option classes of the classical and scientific liceo): IGCSE Mathematics and Biology, in years 1-2 33 hours a year each, together 2 hours a week on top of 27 hours, taught by the subject teacher and a native English speaker; IGCSE exams in years 3-4, sessions in June and November. In 2024-2025 the course ran in classes 1BC, 1AS, 1BS, 2BC, 2BS, 3AC, 3BC, 3AS, 4BC, 4BS. Separately, Cambridge English and Trinity courses, which are language exams.

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · IGCSE · authorised programme
The Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge IGCSE. In the Cambridge-option classes of the classical and science licei, maths and biology are taught in English with a native speaker in years 1-2, with IGCSE exams in years 3-4.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field
Clubs and activities: Erasmus+ · eTwinning · Debate · School Band · Repubblica@Scuola · Confucius Institute Partnership · High-Level Student-Athlete Programme

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The Cambridge course is taught by subject teachers together with a native English speaker. The language courses use visiting native speakers of Spanish, English, French and Chinese; according to the PTOF two thirds of teachers have worked at the school for more than five years. The school does not give teacher numbers or qualifications on its website.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
A psychologist and a doctor work at the school, together with an autonomy and communication assistant and a socio-educational professional for students with special needs. There is a protocol for preventing bullying and cyberbullying, gym rules and a safety teaching plan for each class.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
72
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
75
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
70
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
95
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Istituto del Sacro CuoreFlorence · 71.5Istituto di Istruzione Superiore Enrico MatteiSan Lazzaro Di Savena · 71.4Istituto di Istruzione Superiore «Via dei Papareschi»Rome · 71.4Istituto di Istruzione Lorenzo GuettiTione Di Trento · 71.4