← Back to the rankingLiceo Classico Statale "Pitagora"

Crotone, Italy · est. 1926 · State
Illustration · Crotone
Liceo Pitagora is a state classical liceo (Liceo Ginnasio Statale) in Crotone and the city's oldest school: enrolment in the first class opened in 1926, and in the 1930s the liceo became a state school and received its own building on Piazza Umberto I. Besides the traditional track, it offers a scientific and biomedical track, AUREUS Digital (from 2026/2027, art history, STEAM and artificial intelligence) and Cambridge IGCSE, running since 2015/2016. In the Cambridge track English as a Second Language, Global Perspectives and mathematics (from 2026/2027 up to AS level), and previously Latin, are taught in English together with a native-speaker teacher; Cambridge exams are taken at the school. Other subjects are taught in Italian. 693 students attend in 36 classes, with 57 teachers.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · National programme
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
Class size
on average 19 students per class
About the fees A state school of the Ministry of Education (scuola statale): tuition is free. For the Cambridge track families pay an annual contribution towards the native-speaker teacher and a Cambridge exam fee set by the exam board; the school mentions this cost without figures.
Admissions Enrolment in the first year is through the state Iscrizioni online procedure. The Cambridge track has an entrance test: the school publishes past papers (2016-2025) for practice. The track is aimed at curious and motivated students ready to study and communicate in English every day. The school says nothing about admitting foreign students.
Stages and year groups Grades 1-5 (scuola secondaria di secondo grado), 36 classes. Five-year liceo classico ending with the esame di Stato (maturità); tracks: traditional, scientific and biomedical (one extra hour of science), AUREUS Digital (from 2026/2027), Cambridge IGCSE (since 2015/2016). In the Cambridge track English is 3+2 hours a week in years 1-2 and 5 and 3+1 in years 3-4 (extra hours with a native speaker), Global Perspectives 1 hour a week with a native speaker in years 1-4, mathematics plus 1 hour in years 3-5. Exams: Cambridge English PET in year 2, IGCSE English as a Second Language in year 3 (under the previous scheme in year 4), IGCSE Global Perspectives in year 4, Mathematics AS in year 5 (from 2026/2027, replacing IGCSE Latin, which remains for classes 2F and 3F for now), Cambridge English Advanced (C1) in year 5. Exams are held at the school; from year 2 there are language stays in the UK counted towards the school-work programme.
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programmeThe Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge IGCSE, AS and A Level. The Cambridge section teaches English and Global Perspectives with a native speaker for IGCSE in years 3-4, and from 2026 maths leads to AS Level in year 5.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: The main building on Piazza Umberto I was built for the liceo in the 1930s together with a covered gym; nearby there is an additional building whose students use the main building's gym and labs. Chemistry, physics, IT, language and multimedia labs and an AUREUS lab, classical and digital libraries, an assembly hall, a radio studio and a podcast lab.
Clubs and activities: Debate Championships · Pitagora Web Radio · Student Journalists (work-based learning) · Pitagora Reading Circle · Theatre · Erasmus+
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
✓Number of teachers57
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
57 teachers; Cambridge track lessons are taught by the school's teachers together with a native English-speaking teacher.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
The school has an anti-bullying protocol, discussed with students in civic education lessons; the school plan aims to counter all forms of violence, bullying and discrimination.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)85 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data65 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data75 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data76 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country