← Back to the rankingLiceo Classico Statale Ugo Foscolo

Albano Laziale, Italy · est. 1961 · State
Illustration · Albano Laziale
Liceo Classico Statale Ugo Foscolo is a state classical liceo in the historic centre of Albano Laziale in the Castelli Romani, founded in 1961; since 2000 it has also had a second site. About 700 students attend in 32 classes, from a wide area along the Via Appia and the Via Nettunense. The school offers the five-year liceo classico following the Italian curriculum with Latin and Ancient Greek and three enrichment tracks: theatre (the school leads the national network of theatre classical licei and hosts an ancient theatre festival), the MateScienze science track and languages. Lessons are in Italian. Since 2020-2021 the school has been a Cambridge International School: since 2022-2023, in section A, students in years 1-2 study English as a Second Language and Geography following Cambridge IGCSE syllabuses, and students in years 3-4 study Literature in English and Biology, two hours a week per subject together with a native-speaker teacher, and they may take IGCSE exams at the end of each two-year cycle.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE · National programme
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
Languages taught
French, Spanish, Latin
Class size
on average 22 students per class
About the fees The school is a state school and tuition is free. For 2025-2026 the school asks for a contributo volontario of 80 euros (or an amount of the family's choice), including 10 euros of compulsory insurance; the Cambridge IGCSE course carries an extra contribution of 300 euros a year, and the science and theatre tracks 50 euros each. IGCSE exams are paid separately: Geography in 2026 cost 130 euros. The state enrolment and attendance fee for years 4-5 is 21.17 and 15.13 euros.
Admissions Admission to year 1 follows the state online procedure (Iscrizioni on line) in January; at enrolment the family chooses an enrichment track. The Cambridge IGCSE course requires at least B1 English: the school accepts an existing Cambridge certificate or holds an entrance test. Progression to the next year is confirmed by an application with receipts for the contributions. The school states that its share of foreign students is in line with the national average and that it pays close attention to students with disabilities and learning difficulties.
Stages and year groups Grades 1-5 scuola secondaria di secondo grado (liceo classico). Five-year liceo classico following the Italian curriculum with the esame di Stato: Italian, Latin, Ancient Greek, English, history, philosophy, mathematics, physics, natural sciences, art history. Enrichment tracks from year 1 to year 4, 1-2 hours a week: languages (French and Spanish; the Cambridge International course), MateScienze science (mathematics and biochemistry) and theatre (since 2016-2017). Cambridge International (section A, since 2022-2023): IGCSE English as a Second Language and Geography in years 1-2, Literature in English and Biology in years 3-4, 2 hours a week per subject together with a native-speaker teacher, 120 hours per subject over two years; IGCSE exams at the end of each two-year cycle, by registration and for a fee. The PTOF allows Business Studies instead of Literature in years 3-4; in 2025 it ran as a free 30-hour after-school course.
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · IGCSE · authorised programmeThe Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge IGCSE. In section A, with a native speaker, 2 hours a week per subject: English and geography in years 1-2, English literature and biology in years 3-4, with optional IGCSE exams.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field
Clubs and activities: Ancient Theatre Workshop · Civic Theatre Workshop · Film Workshop · Italian Sign Language Course - LIS · Ugo Foscolo Literary Prize · I Colloqui Fiorentini (literature competition) · Certamen Albanense (classical languages competition) · Classical Languages Olympiad · Philosophy Olympiad · Mathematics Olympiad · School Sports Competitions
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
IGCSE courses are taught by the school's teachers together with native English-speaking teachers and subject experts. The school stresses a stable and experienced teaching staff and support teachers for students with disabilities.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
The school has a section on preventing bullying and cyberbullying, support teachers and a specialist assistant for students with disabilities; help desks, tutoring and catch-up courses run. The school notes a growing need for psychological support and has no permanent psychologist post - help is arranged through regional programmes.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data60 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data65 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country