← Back to the rankingLiceo Statale Ettore Majorana

San Giovanni la Punta, Italy · est. 1976 · State
Illustration · San Giovanni la Punta
The Liceo Statale Ettore Majorana is a state liceo in San Giovanni la Punta at the foot of Etna, on the outskirts of Catania. It opened in 1976 as a branch of the Boggio Lera scientific liceo of Catania and became independent in 1983-1984. Today it offers seven tracks: scientific (with an experimental 'mathematics liceo' run with the University of Catania), scientific with applied sciences, scientific with sport, classical, linguistic with the Italian-French ESABAC double diploma, social sciences, and economics and social sciences. There are 1243 students in 56 classes and 118 teachers. Lessons are taught in Italian. Since 2018 the liceo has been a Cambridge International School: in the Cambridge section of the liceo classico, IGCSE courses in biology, English as a Second Language, Latin, mathematics, history and Global Perspectives are added to the Italian curriculum, with exams in grades 1-4. Students can also obtain the CertiLingua certificate for two foreign languages at B2 level.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE · National programme
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
Languages taught
French, Spanish, German, Latin
Class size
22 students per class on average
About the fees The liceo is a state school and charges no tuition; families pay a voluntary contribution.
Admissions Enrolment in grade 1 follows the state online procedure (iscrizioni online) within the dates set each year by the ministry, usually in November. For students without Italian citizenship the liceo has a reception and integration programme: Italian language lessons, cultural mediation and personalised learning plans that take prior learning into account; there are few such students.
Stages and year groups Grades 1-5 scuola secondaria di secondo grado. Italian curriculum with the esame di Stato. Tracks: Liceo Scientifico (with Liceo Matematico sections), Liceo Scientifico opzione Scienze Applicate, Liceo Scientifico Sportivo, Liceo Classico (with a Cambridge International section), Liceo Linguistico - ESABAC (French 4 hours a week from grade 3, double diploma), Liceo delle Scienze Umane, Liceo Economico Sociale. Cambridge (since 2018-2019, in the liceo classico): IGCSE Biology, English as a Second Language, Latin, Mathematics, History, Global Perspectives; exams are spread over grades 1-2 and 3-4; Global Perspectives replaces Latin and English as a Second Language, which may be taken independently. For all tracks there are English, Spanish, French and German courses for B1-C1 language certificates.
Address Via G. Motta 87, 95037 San Giovanni la Punta (CT)
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · IGCSE · authorised programmeThe Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge IGCSE. The Cambridge section of the classical liceo offers IGCSE Biology, English, Latin, Maths, History and Global Perspectives, with exams spread across years 1-4.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
✓Swimming pool
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field
Clubs and activities: Mathematics Lyceum Programme · CertiLingua · Majorana Cultural Hub · Theatre That Unites · Becoming an Actor (acting studio) · Physics Showcase - Physics Winter School · Hablamos Español (Spanish club) · Moi, je parle français (French club) · Deutschlando (German club) · Cambridge B1 Course · Erasmus+
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
✓Number of teachers118
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
The liceo has 118 teachers and 28 technical and administrative staff. Mathematics teachers working in the 'mathematics liceo' sections attend seminars at the Department of Mathematics and Computer Science of the University of Catania.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data80 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country