← Back to the rankingLiceo Scientifico Statale Primo Levi

Rome, Italy · est. 1987 · State
Illustration · Rome
Liceo Scientifico Statale Primo Levi is a state scientific liceo (scuola statale) in the south of Rome, in Municipio VIII, opened in 1987. Besides the standard liceo scientifico, it has run a sports liceo (liceo scientifico ad indirizzo sportivo) with sports disciplines and sports law and economics since the 2013-2014 school year and Cambridge sections since 2017-2018, and in years 3-5 students can choose advanced biology with a biomedical focus. In the Cambridge sections three subjects are taught in English from year one to British syllabuses and textbooks, with IGCSE exams; other lessons are in Italian. In the 2024-2025 school year 1101 students attended 48 classes.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE · National programme
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
About the fees The school is state-run and tuition is free. Families pay a voluntary contribution (contributo volontario), which funds text alerts, garden upkeep, the counselling service, student insurance and some repairs. The school mentions the Cambridge course surcharge without an amount: exam preparation lessons are included in the Cambridge section enrolment fee, and families pay IGCSE exam fees through the office.
Admissions A state school: enrolment in the first year follows the national Iscrizioni online procedure, choosing the standard liceo, the sports liceo or one of two Cambridge options. When there are more applicants than places the school draws up a ranking: in 2023-2024 the first 27 were admitted to the Cambridge class with mathematics and physics, four more were moved to the second Cambridge option and the rest to the standard liceo; all applications for the second option (Global Perspectives and biology) were accepted. For 2026-2027 the school announced that all applications for the standard liceo and both Cambridge options had been accepted. Foreign students attend: according to the PTOF, students without Italian citizenship make up 2.9% of the student body, and the PTOF provides for measures to integrate foreign students.
Stages and year groups 48 classes. Five-year liceo scientifico programmes ending with the esame di Stato: standard (with the option of Biologia con curvatura biomedica in years 3-5), sports (liceo scientifico ad indirizzo sportivo, since 2013-2014) and Cambridge (since 2017-2018; the diploma notes the Cambridge section). Cambridge has two options in separate sections: option 1 (section G) - IGCSE English as a Second Language Extended (0510), Mathematics Extended (0580) and Physics Extended (0625); option 2 (section L) - English as a Second Language, Global Perspectives and Biology. IGCSE subjects are taught during school hours by Italian teachers together with native-speaker teachers (one hour a week team teaching), to British syllabuses and textbooks; in year one students also take the PET language exam. IGCSE exams are optional: English in spring of year 3, Mathematics or Global Perspectives in October of year 4, Physics or Biology in May of year 4; before the exams there are 12-hour after-school courses on past papers. The school is an official Cambridge exam centre for its own students.
Address Via Francesco Morandini 64, 00142 Roma
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · IGCSE · authorised programmeThe Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge IGCSE. Separate Cambridge sections teach three subjects in English: section G takes IGCSE English, Mathematics and Physics, section L English, Global Perspectives and Biology; exams are optional.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
·Librarynot stated on the website
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field
Campus: One building in Rome's Municipio VIII (near Laurentina metro station), surrounded by large grounds with a garden. A multimedia history lab, a music room, two computer labs, two physics labs, a science lab, two language labs and a drawing lab; an auditorium. Two indoor and two outdoor gyms, a certified mini athletics track built with families' voluntary contributions, and a fitness room. Interactive whiteboards and Wi-Fi in all classrooms, a canteen for students and staff; the building was upgraded under the Scuola 4.0 programme.
Clubs and activities: Primo Levi Choir · Theatre at School · Music Workshop · Arduino Workshop · Astronomy at the Levi · Sports Group · UN Project · Mathematics Olympiad, Mathematical Games · Italian Physics Championship · Philosophy Championships · Ni hao! Let's Learn Chinese · Libera Against the Mafia · Levicast (school podcast)
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
Cambridge subjects are taught by Italian teachers with a knowledge of English together with native-speaker teachers who have qualifications and experience in those subjects; Cambridge English exam courses are taught by native speakers from a partner language school.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
A counselling service (sportello d'ascolto) runs within the health education programme: a psychologist sees students by appointment, and minors need parental consent; there is also school coaching to motivate students. Students with special educational needs have individual plans and an inclusion coordinator.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data60 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data80 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country