Ranking · Italy · Fano
← Back to the ranking

Liceo Scientifico Statale G. Torelli

Italy Fano, Italy · State
Illustration · Fano
71.4#175 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Liceo Scientifico Statale G. Torelli in Fano (Polo Scolastico 2) is a state science liceo with a traditional course and an applied sciences option, and a branch in Pergola. It has 1114 students in 49 classes. The liceo is an accredited Cambridge International School: per the PTOF the Cambridge IGCSE International course provides for some subjects, such as geography, biology and English L2, to be taught in English by native-speaker and bilingual teachers, and at the end of the fourth year students sit the IGCSE exams. The course runs in both the traditional and the applied sciences tracks, in the Fano building. Civic education in the course is taught in English using the Global Perspectives approach. The main language of instruction is Italian.

Key facts

Tuition
Free
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE · National programme
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
Languages taught
Latin
School website
Students
1114
Class size
22 pupils
About the fees Tuition at this state liceo is free, as in all Italian state schools.
Admissions Places in the applied sciences class with the Cambridge course are allocated by ranking; those not admitted may ask for a place in the traditional science liceo with the Cambridge course. The school has a reception protocol for newly arrived and foreign students, with Italian as a second language support. Admission follows completion of lower secondary school (scuola secondaria di primo grado), through online enrolment on the Ministry of Education portal within the period announced each year by circular, usually in November.
Stages and year groups Grades 1-5 (liceo scientifico). Liceo scientifico (traditional) and applied sciences option; enhancements: IGCSE International course, scientific English in applied sciences, German bilingual course (extracurricular, 2 hours a week in years 1 to 4), physics with an extra lab hour. IGCSE International course: an extra hour of biology or geography in English in years 1 to 4 within the student's study plan, English L2 and literature in English; IGCSE exams at the end of year 4. The course runs in Fano; in Pergola CLIL is used instead.

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · IGCSE · authorised programme
The Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge IGCSE.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

✓Swimming pool
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: Buildings in Fano and in Pergola. Per the PTOF: 11 internet-connected labs, including 2 chemistry, drawing, 2 physics, 3 computing, 2 science and a STEM lab; a digital library, 2 assembly halls, 2 gyms and a swimming pool.
Clubs and activities: German Bilingualism - Goethe-Zertifikat · Spanish · CinemaScuola LAB (film) · Erasmus+ · Sport and Social Growth · Intellectual and Science Challenges

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
✓Number of teachers67
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
According to the PTOF the school has 67 teachers; on average 22 students per class. The Cambridge course is taught by native-speaker and bilingual teachers.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
72
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
70
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
80
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
76
Value for money (6%)
95
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Istituto di Istruzione Superiore Enrico MatteiSan Lazzaro Di Savena · 71.4Istituto di Istruzione Superiore «Via dei Papareschi»Rome · 71.4Istituto del Sacro CuoreFlorence · 71.4Istituto di Istruzione Lorenzo GuettiTione Di Trento · 71.4