Ranking · Italy · Lecce
← Back to the ranking

Liceo Statale Virgilio-Redi

Italy Lecce, Italy · est. 1972 · State
Illustration · Lecce
71.4#168 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Liceo Statale Virgilio-Redi is a state liceo in Lecce with a site in Squinzano. Liceo Virgilio opened in Lecce in 1972 as a liceo classico, added a language track in 2004 and since the 2011-2012 school year has run the dual Italian and French EsaBac diploma. In 2015 it merged with Liceo F. Redi of Squinzano (scientific track and scienze applicate), and since 1 September 2022 it has been a single liceo with one code and classico, linguistico, scientifico and scientifico scienze applicate tracks. Since the 2017-2018 school year it has been a Cambridge International school: Cambridge IGCSE courses run in all tracks from year 1, in dedicated classes; English as a Second Language and Mathematics in English are taught with native speakers, and IGCSE exams are taken in Lecce. The main language of instruction is Italian. Subjects include English, French, Spanish and German, Latin and Ancient Greek; optional courses cover Chinese, Japanese, Romanian, Russian, Arabic and Portuguese.

Key facts

Tuition
Free
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE · National programme
Admits from
14 years
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
Languages taught
French, Spanish, German, Latin
School website
About the fees The liceo is a state school (liceo statale): there is no tuition fee. Families pay a separate fee for the Cambridge IGCSE course, with the amount communicated via the electronic register; the school mentions this course supplement without giving an amount.
Admissions The liceo is a state school: enrolment in the first year is through the national Iscrizioni online system, and a school-family co-responsibility pact is signed on enrolment. The Cambridge IGCSE course runs in dedicated classes (sections N and O in Lecce, classes in Squinzano), for which families pay a separate fee; the site does not publish selection criteria for these classes. The liceo hosts foreign students and teachers on exchange programmes; the site does not address regular enrolment of foreign students.
Stages and year groups Italian curriculum with the esame di Stato (maturità): liceo classico, liceo linguistico (with EsaBac - Italian diploma and French Baccalauréat, an extra hour of history in French), liceo scientifico, liceo scientifico opzione scienze applicate. Cambridge International: Cambridge IGCSE courses in all tracks from year 1 in dedicated classes (in the 2025-2026 school year 1N, 2N, 3N, 2O, 3O, 4O in Lecce and IIIA, IIIB in Squinzano); subjects are English as a Second Language and Mathematics in English, one hour a week each with a native speaker (per the 2023-2024 timetable); IGCSE English as a Second Language and Mathematics exams are held in Lecce, Cambridge centre IT542.

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · IGCSE · authorised programme
The Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge IGCSE. Dedicated classes in every track from year 1 take English as a Second Language and maths in English with a native speaker, leading to IGCSE exams in both.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: Three buildings: the main one in Lecce on Via Galilei with a library, computer rooms, a science lab, a language lab and a gym; the Salesiani branch in Lecce with a main hall and a language lab; the Squinzano building with a main hall, library, drawing and art, physics and science, and computer labs, a language lab and a gym. PNRR programmes have funded innovative classrooms and digital labs.
Clubs and activities: Theatre, Music and Performance · Chinese Course · Japanese Course · Russian Course · Arabic Course · Portuguese Course · Romanian Course · Erasmus+ and eTwinning

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
Cambridge lessons are taught by native English speakers selected each year by the liceo through a public call; teachers have been trained in CLIL through a PNRR programme. There is a Cambridge course coordinator.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
✓Child protection policy
✓Staff training
✓Anti-bullying policy
The liceo has incorporated the ministry guidelines on preventing bullying and cyberbullying into its regulations, drawn up an internal code of procedures, appointed coordinators, set up an anti-bullying team and an emergency team, and trains staff; the co-responsibility pact is signed on enrolment.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
72
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
70
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
75
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
95
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Istituto di Istruzione Superiore Enrico MatteiSan Lazzaro Di Savena · 71.4Istituto di Istruzione Superiore «Via dei Papareschi»Rome · 71.4Istituto di Istruzione Lorenzo GuettiTione Di Trento · 71.4Liceo Scientifico «Guglielmo Marconi»Parma · 71.4