Lund International School (LIS) is a private international school in Lund for children aged 2 to 16, an IB World School authorised since May 2009: the PYP for ages 3 to 12 (with the Early Years Programme) and the MYP for ages 11-16, plus an international daycare from age 2. The school was founded by Melani Moniharapon. Students of 52 nationalities attend, and 41 languages are spoken in their families; the school says its location suits people who work at Lund University, the hospital, MAX IV and ESS. The site and all materials for parents and students are in English only, and lessons described in the blog are in English; Swedish, French and Spanish are MYP subjects. Families, the school says, choose it for small class sizes, high academic levels and a structured yet warm atmosphere. During the 2026-2027 academic year the school is moving to a new building in Western Brunnshög with more places.
Key facts
Admits from
2 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Swedish, French, Spanish
About the fees For families living in Lund's Municipality, PYP and MYP are free. Families living outside Lund pay an IB fee from PYP1; the amount is not given on the site. The preschool costs 2.4% of the family's combined income and the international daycare 3% of combined income; no year is given for these rates.
Admissions Applications are made through the online form linked from Apply on the site; families can book a school tour. Students already enrolled keep their place in the new building; the new building has more places, and the school is accepting applications for the 2026-2027 academic year, adding applicants to a waiting list once places are filled. PYP and MYP are free for families living in Lund's Municipality; families living outside Lund pay an IB fee from PYP1. The school says students of 52 nationalities attend. The site does not describe other admission conditions (tests, documents, priorities).
Stages and year groups Grades EYP, PYP1-6, MYP1-5. IB World School since May 2009: Primary Years Programme for ages 3-12, including the play-based Early Years Programme and the PYP Exhibition in the final year; Middle Years Programme for ages 11-16 with eight subject groups: language and literature, Swedish, Spanish and French, individuals and societies, sciences (chemistry, biology, physics from MYP1), mathematics, arts, music and drama by term, design, physical education. International daycare from age 2. There is no Diploma Programme; the school ends at age 16.
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · PYP, MYP · authorised programmeThe school is listed in the IB register and runs the Primary Years and Middle Years programmes.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: PYP (ages 3-12), MYP (ages 11-16). PYP is the primary stage, ages 3 to 12. It is not a set of subjects but a frame for the whole school: learning is built around lines of inquiry, and there are no exams at the end. MYP is the middle stage, ages 11 to 16. There are no exams here either; at the end an optional electronic assessment of pupils' work is possible.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Clubs and activities: Nature Club · Literacy & Storytelling Club · Student Council · Green Flag
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data65 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data70 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country