← Back to homeLycée Français International de Palma

Palma, Spain · est. 1970 · Private
Illustration · Palma
The Lycée Français International de Palma is a French school on Majorca, running since 1970, and it is operated by the Mission laïque française. Its structure is a double one, and that is its main feature: the school puts the French and the Spanish curricula together and takes a pupil to two sets of documents at once. On the French side that is the national brevet in 3e, its international variant the DNBi, and the general baccalauréat in the final year, and from 2026/27 the school is also opening the baccalauréat français international. On the Spanish side it is the título de graduado en ESO at the end of 2de and the título de bachiller, which the school issues on request to a holder of the French baccalauréat. Beyond that the school takes pupils to outside language certificates: Cambridge and IELTS from A2 to C2 and IGCSE in English, DELE B2 and C1 in Spanish, DELF Prim, DELF and DALF in French and the Certificat de Llengua Catalana in Catalan - and it offers a double diploma of the Spanish bachillerato with an American high school diploma. Children are taken from three to eighteen, and the day runs from 8:30 to 17:00. Of its services the school names university guidance and an inclusive-school strand, of its premises a canteen and the E-sidoc digital library, and of its extracurricular life a web radio and summer activities. Of itself the school writes that it is "the 7th best international school in Spain", but it does not say who ranked it so or when - that cannot be taken as a fact. The main thing a parent needs to know: the school has no school transport at all, and it says so plainly in its own financial regulations.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $8 264–10 331 a year
7 315–9 145 EUR
Programmes
French programme · National programme
Languages of instruction
French, Spanish
About the fees The school publishes its fees for the 2026-2027 academic year on its enrolment page, as an annual sum in euros: nursery and primary school - 7315 euros, ESO - 8260, the bachillerato - 9145 euros; the canteen - 1500 euros a year. Under the financial regulations the fee is split into ten monthly payments, half board is calculated by the number of school days, and the re-enrolment fee is paid in March and deducted from the September invoice. Discounts for children: half the first enrolment fee if a brother or sister is already at the school, 10% of the fee for a second child and 15% from the third; arrival or departure mid-year is recalculated month by month.
Admissions Enrolment for the 2026-2027 academic year goes in five steps: an online pre-registration, an enrolment form with a set of documents, reading the financial regulations, sending the original form with all documents and certificates to the office in person or by post, and paying the enrolment fee by bank transfer. Enrolment becomes final once the set and the fee have been received, within the places available. Before enrolment the school offers a personal visit with an explanation of its multilingual system. The school is doubly accredited - by the French Ministry of Education and by the Spanish authorities - and a leaver receives both French and Spanish qualifications. The school names no entrance tests, French requirements or rules for children from other countries on its enrolment page.
Stages and year groups Grades from age 3 to 18. The school names its stages in both systems at once: infantil from 3 to 5, primaria from 6 to 10, ESO from 11 to 14 and instituto from 15 to 18. On the French grid that is from petite section to terminale, and all fifteen levels are homologated. The school day runs Monday to Friday from 8:30 to 17:00.
Address Carrer Illes Balears 142A, 07014 Palma
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
AEFE · accreditationMission laïque française · school is part of the networkschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
AEFEAgency for French Education Abroad
It runs the network of French schools worldwide, while the accreditation itself, the homologation, is granted by the French education ministry and inspected by French state inspectors. A leaver from a homologated school moves into a school in France without an entrance examination. Homologation is granted stage by stage, so it sometimes covers only part of the year groups.
What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →French programme
The state programme of France. A school is homologated by the French ministry of education, and a leaver may move into a school in France without entrance tests. Homologation is granted stage by stage, so it sometimes covers only part of the year groups.
What this means for this school. Which year groups of this school are covered by homologation - only the primary ones, or all the way to the final year - is not stated here. The difference matters: it decides whether the school takes a child through to the French baccalaureate or hands them on to another school halfway.
National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Mission laïque françaiseschool network
Mission laïque française (MLF) is a French non-profit association founded in 1902; its school network is called Réseau mlfmonde. The network gives different figures on its own pages - 108 schools in 38 countries on some, 107 schools in 37 countries on another, with more than 61,000 students in both cases - and we quote both. In Spain the network lists 10 lycées, in Alicante, Murcia, Palma, Reus, Seville, Telde (Gran Canaria), Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Valladolid, Villanueva de la Cañada (Madrid) and Zaragoza. In a notice dated 21 September 2026, MLF writes that since 1 September 2026 the day-to-day management of its Spanish schools has been entrusted to the association AFLEC-GEE under a management mandate, refers to 9 schools, and says the legal transfer of each will be completed by 31 July 2028 at the latest. The notice does not say which of the ten schools is not among the nine. The network's site is mlfmonde.org.
What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: A building at Carrer Illes Balears 142A in Palma. Of its premises the school names a canteen with a menu published monthly and a digital library on the E-sidoc platform; separately it has a school web radio and a sustainable-school strand. There is no school transport: the financial regulations say so plainly - "PALMA n'a pas service de transport scolaire".
Summer camp: the school runs its own camp; whether it takes children from outside is not stated on the website
The school has summer activities and a summer camp - separate "Actividades de verano" and Summer Camp sections.
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school publishes a coexistence plan, the Plan de Convivencia LFiPalma, and a charter on the use of digital tools, and it runs an inclusive-school strand. It names no psychologist, no medical staff, no security and no separate child protection policy.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country