← Back to homeCol·legi Maristes Sants-Les Corts

Barcelona, Spain · Private
Illustration · Barcelona
Maristes Sants-Les Corts is a Barcelona school of the Maristes de Catalunya network on two sites in the same district: Infantil and Primària stand at Carrer Antoni Capmany 80 by Plaça de Sants, ESO and the baccalaureate at Carrer Vallespir 160 in Les Corts. The Marists have been teaching in the Sants quarter for more than a hundred years. The school is authorised for the IB Diploma Programme, which runs on the upper site. English runs at every stage and the school sets it out hour by hour: in Infantil an hour of language, two hours of Playtime, an hour of Arts in every class and an hour of robotics in I5; in Primària two hours of language, an hour in the Red Bus language room, an hour of Arts & Crafts, ICT from year 1 to year 3 and an hour and a half of robotics from year 4 to year 6; in ESO two hours of language plus subjects taught by the AICLE (CLIL) method. On top of lessons there are conversation assistants and exchanges. The school gives its timetable by site: Infantil from 9:00 to 13:00 and 15:15 to 17:15, Primària from 9:00 to 13:00 and 15:30 to 17:30, ESO from 8:00 to 14:20 and 15:30 to 17:30 depending on the year, the baccalaureate from 8:00 to 14:20. The Sants site opens its doors at 7:30 for families who ask for it. The main thing a parent needs to know: the IB Diploma is an upper-stage choice, the school also runs the national baccalaureate, and the lower stages are at a different address. The language of instruction is Catalan: the school's language project names it the normal language of teaching and learning, Spanish is taught as a subject, and in English, by the CLIL method, the school teaches art, physical education and digital competence in primary and part of technology in the first year of ESO.
Key facts
Programmes
IB · DP · National programme
Languages of instruction
Catalan
Admissions First-time entry to the school, including transfer from another school, goes through the general pre-registration of the Catalan Department of Education, online on the Generalitat portal and within the dates the department sets; places in the nursery, primary and ESO are allocated through it. For the bachillerato and the IB Diploma Programme enrolment is open all year, and families interested in the Diploma have a separate enquiry form. Families can get to know the school at open days and on personal visits booked all year round, separately for the junior site in Sants and the senior one in Les Corts. Children arriving from abroad are admitted under the school's own welcome plan: the plan describes a pupil who has entered the education system for the first time within the last twenty-four months, and for such pupils there is a reception class with intensive Catalan and a gradual move into ordinary classes.
Stages and year groups Grades I3 - baccalaureate. Two sites under one licence: Infantil and Primària at Antoni Capmany 80, ESO and the baccalaureate at Vallespir 160. The Infantil timetable is 9:00 to 13:00 and 15:15 to 17:15, Primària 9:00 to 13:00 and 15:30 to 17:30, ESO 8:00 to 14:20 and 15:30 to 17:30 depending on the year, the baccalaureate 8:00 to 14:20. The Sants site opens at 7:30 for families who ask for it.
Address Carrer de Vallespir, 160
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · DP · authorised programmeschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: Two buildings in the same district of Barcelona: the Sants building at Antoni de Capmany 80 and the Les Corts building at Vallespir 160. The school publishes virtual tours of both on its facilities page but gives no list of features in text.
Clubs and activities (8): Infantil extracurricular activities · Primària extracurricular activities · ESO extracurricular activities · Batxillerat extracurricular activities · Drama with Shakespeare&Friends · Sport with Esportiu Mediterrani club · Exchanges and language trips · Summer programme
Summer camp: the school runs its own camp; whether it takes children from outside is not stated on the website
In summer the school runs Casal d'Estiu, a play and sports summer camp for children from I2 to the fourth year of ESO, and at the start of September Casal de Setembre for children from I2 to the first year of ESO. Registration is through forms on the services page; the school gives no dates or prices there.
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The school does not give the total number of its teachers, but on the ESO team page it lists the team by name: five form tutors for each of the four ESO years, two guidance specialists, three educators of the intensive support service for children with special needs, a coordinator of the reception class for newly arrived pupils and the heads of seven departments - languages, mathematics, sciences, English, humanities, arts and special education. In the junior years the school names English conversation assistants. It publishes no qualifications, class sizes or pupil-teacher ratio.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)82 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data60 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 Value for money (6%) scored at the median61 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country