← Back to the rankingNorth Zealand International School

Horsholm, Denmark · Private
Illustration · Horsholm
North Zealand International School (NIS) is the international department of the private school Nordsjællands Grundskole og Gymnasium (NGG) in Hørsholm, 26 minutes by car from Copenhagen. NGG was founded in 1983 and today, by its own account, is one of Denmark's largest private schools (about 1400 students); besides NIS it has a Danish school for grades 0-10 and an STX gymnasium. NIS is a small school for ages 3 to 18: 350 learners and 40 teaching staff, with English as the language of instruction. Early Years follow the International Early Years Curriculum, primary the International Primary Curriculum (the school calls itself Denmark's only IPC-accredited school), and secondary the International Middle Years Curriculum and Cambridge programmes with IGCSE exams in Years 10-11. Since August 2025 the school has offered the IB Diploma Programme. Teachers come from many countries, and most studied in the UK or the US. The school is a member of the UNESCO Associated Schools Network.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $2 592–5 109 a year
1 715–3 380 DKK a month
The year is counted as ten payments: the school does not say how many payments it takes.
Programmes
IB · DP · Cambridge · Lower Secondary, IGCSE · IPC · IMYC
Admits from
3 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Danish, French, Spanish, German
Registration fee
≈ $511
3 380 DKK
About the fees Fees from 1 August 2026 are paid 12 months a year: Years 1-11 3380 DKK per month, IB Diploma Programme 1715 DKK per month, Early Years 3290 DKK per month including meals (morning snack, lunch and fruit). Subsidised fees apply with a CPR number and Danish address by 5 September (except Early Years); for enrolment in Years 1-11 after 5 September a surcharge of 4000 DKK per month applies until April. Fees are indexed on 1 April by the Statistics Denmark index.
Admissions Applications are made online through the school's admissions portal; for the IB Diploma Programme also via optagelse.dk or the office. Places are limited, and the school publishes class availability for 2026-2027 and 2027-2028. The IB Diploma Programme requires no recommendations: entry tests in Maths and English and a meeting with the coordinator; internal students must complete Year 11 with strong results in relevant subjects, Maths and English. The school says it welcomes families staying in Denmark short- or longer-term and offers practical tips for relocating. For subsidised fees a child in Years 1-11 must have a CPR number and a Danish address by 5 September; for enrolment after that a surcharge of 4000 DKK per month applies until April inclusive.
Stages and year groups Grades Early Years, Year 1-13. Early Years (ages 3-5) follow the International Early Years Curriculum; primary Years 1-6 the International Primary Curriculum (IPC accreditation in 2019 and 2023); Lower Secondary (ages 11-14) the International Middle Years Curriculum with Cambridge programmes; Years 10-11 Cambridge IGCSE (compulsory English Language and Literature, Mathematics, Global Perspectives, sciences, French, Spanish or German plus up to three options: History, Economics, Business Studies, Environmental Management, Design and Technology, Computer Science, Physical Education); Upper Secondary (ages 16-18) the IB Diploma Programme, first cohort from August 2025. Danish is taught from Early Years. The same NGG school has a Danish school for grades 0-10 and an STX gymnasium.
Address Christianshusvej 195, 2970 Hørsholm
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · DP · authorised programmeCambridge · Lower Secondary, IGCSE · authorised programmeThe IB register lists the Diploma Programme at the school (first cohort in August 2025), and the Cambridge register names it as its centre: Cambridge Lower Secondary in the middle years and IGCSE in Years 10-11. It is the international department of the private school and gymnasium NGG.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: Lower Secondary (ages 11-14), IGCSE (ages 14-16). Lower Secondary is the middle stage, ages 11 to 14, with the same optional Checkpoint test at the end. IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →IPC
International Primary Curriculum: a British primary school programme for children aged 5 to 11. It teaches through themes that draw subjects together rather than through separate subjects; it is published by the International Curriculum Association, formerly Fieldwork Education.
What this means for this school. This is a programme for the primary stage, not an accreditation of the school: the organisation sells it to schools and trains their teachers, but it does not check the quality of teaching at a particular school and keeps no public register of the schools working to it. There is no outside register to check it against, so the entry comes from the school's own words or from the record of its accrediting organisation. The programme has no leaving certificate: at the end of primary school a child moves on to the middle stage, and it is that stage which decides what they finish with.
IMYC
International Middle Years Curriculum: the continuation of IPC for the middle school, ages 11 to 14. The same organisation and the same thematic frame, only for teenagers.
What this means for this school. As with IPC, this is a programme for one stage rather than an accreditation of the school, and the organisation keeps no public register of the schools working to it. The entry comes from the school's own words or from the record of its accrediting organisation. The programme has no leaving certificate of its own: after it the school takes a pupil on to a final stage - IGCSE, A-Level, IB or a national programme - and that is what to look at.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
Exam results Cambridge IGCSE, from the school's chart for 2025: about 24% of grades A*, about 34% A, about 22% B and about 14% C (2025 world level about 20% A* and 21% A). The IGCSE cohort is usually 13 to 18 students. The first IB Diploma Programme cohort started in August 2025.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Playground
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
✓Teacher qualifications
✓Number of teachers40
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
What the listings show: most studied in the UK or the US
The international school has 40 teaching staff for 350 learners; the school says all are highly qualified and most studied in the UK or the US. Small classes let teachers know each student well.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
The school's policy list includes a child protection policy, an anti-bullying policy, a code of conduct, injury procedures, a screen policy and support guidelines. In Years 7-9 each day starts with a short meeting with the first-lesson teacher; the class teacher is the first point of contact, and the school has an open-door policy.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)84 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data80 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data65 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)90 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country