Ranking · Italy · Marsciano
← Back to the ranking

Istituto Omnicomprensivo L. Salvatorelli - B. Moneta

Italy Marsciano, Italy · State
Illustration · Marsciano
66.5#357 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Istituto Omnicomprensivo L. Salvatorelli - B. Moneta is a state institution in Marsciano, Umbria, taking students from middle school to the final state exam: about 1100 students in 51 classes. It grew from the former Brunone Moneta middle school into a campus with several tracks: liceo scientifico, an economic-social lyceum, a technical institute for mechanics, mechatronics and energy, and a vocational institute for commercial services. Lessons are in Italian. Since 2017 one section of the scientific lyceum has run a Cambridge International course: English, physics and geography are co-taught with native speakers and end with IGCSE exams. Since 2021-2022 the middle school has also had a Cambridge course following Cambridge Lower Secondary. The middle school has run a free music course since 1979, and its orchestra has won a national competition three times.

Key facts

Tuition
Free
Programmes
Cambridge · Lower Secondary, IGCSE · National programme
Admits from
11 years
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
Languages taught
Latin
Students
1100
Class size
on average 21 students per class
About the fees This is a state school and tuition is free; the school explicitly calls the middle school music course free. The school does not mention a contribution for the Cambridge section or IGCSE exams on its website.
Admissions Enrolment in year 1 of middle and upper secondary is online via the state procedure (Iscrizioni online). The Cambridge International course runs in one lyceum section and, in middle school, as a separate course alongside the regular and music courses; the website does not mention selection for these classes. The website does not address the admission of foreign students.
Stages and year groups Grades 1-3 secondaria di primo grado, 1-5 secondaria di secondo grado, 51 classes. Italian curriculum ending in the esame di Stato. Middle school: regular course, music course (flute, violin, piano, clarinet, two hours a week, free) and a Cambridge International course following Cambridge Lower Secondary with Cambridge Checkpoint tests. Upper secondary: liceo scientifico (including the Cambridge International section), liceo delle scienze umane with the economic-social option, istituto tecnico Meccanica, Meccatronica ed Energia, istituto professionale Servizi commerciali. Cambridge in the lyceum: IGCSE Geography in years 1-2 (exam at the end of year 2), IGCSE Physics in years 1-3 (exam at the end of year 3), IGCSE English as a Second Language in years 1-3 with an extra English hour (exam at the end of year 4); lessons are co-taught by the school's teachers and native speakers.

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · Lower Secondary, IGCSE · authorised programme
The Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge Lower Secondary, Cambridge IGCSE. A liceo scientifico section takes IGCSE Geography, Physics and ESL with native speakers, examined in years 2-4; the middle school runs Cambridge Lower Secondary with Checkpoint tests.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: Lower Secondary (ages 11-14), IGCSE (ages 14-16). Lower Secondary is the middle stage, ages 11 to 14, with the same optional Checkpoint test at the end. IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Clubs and activities: Middle School Orchestra

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
In the lyceum's Cambridge section and the middle school Cambridge course, English, physics, geography and other subjects are taught by the school's teachers together with native English speakers.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school publishes the head's annual directive on safety, health and student supervision for 2026-2027 with a supervision plan.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
72
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
60
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
60
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
61
Value for money (6%)
95
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Castelli International SchoolGrottaferrata · 66.5BDC School ColognoCologno Monzese · 66.6Liceo Artistico Gaetano ChiericiReggio Emilia · 66.4Istituzione Scolastica di Istruzione Liceale, Tecnica e Professionale di Verrès (ISILTeP)Verres · 66.7