Home · Czech Republic · Prague
← Back to home

Österreichisches Gymnasium Prag

Czech Republic Prague, Czech Republic · est. 1991 · Private
Illustration · Prague
67.2#29 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Österreichisches Gymnasium Prag (Rakouské gymnázium v Praze, ÖGP) was founded in 1991 as a Czech private school and in 1993 was incorporated into the Czech school system. It is a six-year bilingual Gymnasium: the first two years (grades 8 and 9 in the Czech system) focus on German and English, and in the final four years most subjects are taught in German. The school says 'Only some subjects (Czech, Sports, Arts and parts of Social Sciences and History) are taught in Czech'. Besides German and English, students learn French and Spanish, with optional Latin; the school is an examination centre for the Austrian language diploma ÖSD at B2 and C1 and prepares for DELF. Classes are taught in small groups. Graduates receive both a Czech and an Austrian school-leaving certificate. The school is a faculty school of the Faculty of Education of Charles University.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $1 709–2 540 a year
37 000–55 000 CZK
Programmes
Austrian programme · National programme
Admits from
13 years
Languages of instruction
German, Czech
Languages taught
English, French, Spanish, Latin
School website
About the fees Annual tuition in the 2025-2026 school year is CZK 37000. For new first-year students in the 2026-2027 school year it will be at most CZK 55000 per year.
Admissions The school admits students after grade 7 of basic school or the matching year of a multi-year Gymnasium. Applicants take the national written Cermat exam in maths and Czech; the school runs no preparatory courses. Applications are submitted from 1 to 20 February through the DIPSY system or on paper. Competition is high: for the 2025-2026 school year there were 337 applications and 48 students were admitted. The school says nothing about admitting foreign nationals on its admissions pages.
Stages and year groups Grades 1. - 6. ročník (šestileté gymnázium). Six-year 'Bilingvní gymnázium' curriculum: in years 1 and 2 (grades 8 and 9 in the Czech system) the focus is German and English, from year 3 most subjects, including informatics, are in German. Studies end with a school-leaving exam under both the Czech and the Austrian rules: graduates receive the Czech maturita and the Austrian Matura (Reifeprüfung), and the school provides materials on the Austrian standardised Reifeprüfung and the ABA final paper. German targets: A1-A2 in years 1 and 2, B1 in year 3, B2 in year 5, C1 in year 6.
Address Na Cikorce 2166/2b, 143 00 Praha 4 - Modřany

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

BMB
The Austrian Ministry of Education lists the grammar school among Austrian schools abroad. Graduates receive both certificates, the Austrian Matura and the Czech maturita.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

BMBAustria's Federal Ministry of Education (BMB)

An Austrian school abroad: the Austrian curriculum adapted to the country, teachers sent by Austria's ministry, and leavers receive the Austrian Matura and the local certificate. Every such school is named on the list of Austria's education ministry.

What the badge means for this school. This is an Austrian school abroad, and that can be checked on the list of Austria's education ministry. The entry is not a quality inspection: a school is on the list as part of the Austrian network, not as the outcome of an assessment. What it charges and in which language the youngest pupils are taught are on the school's own website. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
Austrian programme

The Austrian school curriculum adapted to the country: leavers receive the Austrian Matura and the local certificate.

What this means for this school. The curriculum is set by Austria's education ministry, which also names the school on its list of Austrian schools abroad and sends its teachers. The Matura is the Austrian school-leaving certificate used for entry to Austrian universities; according to the ministry, the school's certificates are recognised by both countries.

National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: The school is in Modřany, Prague 4; the website has a virtual tour of the building. The library is open every day and its catalogue has over 10000 titles in Czech, German and English, with fewer in French and Spanish, plus a reading corner. The canteen, run by Primirest, serves breakfast, lunch and snacks.
Clubs and activities: Sbor a instrumentální soubor OEGP · Přípravný kurz DELF · Školní parlament
Source: oegp.cz

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
Teachers are Austrian and Czech, plus native speakers from the USA, France and Argentina. Classes are taught in small groups. ÖSD exams are conducted by five licensed examiners of the school.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school runs a free counselling service: a prevention coordinator, an educational counsellor and a careers counsellor; it works with educational-psychological counselling centres. Prevention programmes for classes take place each semester, and talks are held for parents and teachers. The website lists contacts for psychological help and family therapy.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
72
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
70
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
67
Value for money (6%)
90
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

PORG International School OstravaOstrava · 67.5PRIGO, gymnázium 6leté a 4letéOstrava · 66.9International School OlomoucOlomouc · 66.3BASIS PraguePrague · 66.2